We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 146: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My BFF and I decided to get away from Bangkok to explore nature so we found this cute little retreat in Chiang Mai. The staff was so sweet and kind to both of us who spoke litterally the worst Thai ever. We checked in pretty late but they were still so accomodating. Our first night there was a gecko in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mai L
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Away from the city we expect the odd gecko in the rooms, they make excellent insect eaters. I am so happy that the staff looked after you well. You are correct, for city lovers we are not well placed but Chiang Mai has so much more to offer than just the city. Thank you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights whilst we where travelling around Thailand. The hotel is in a very beautiful area, close to most mae rim has to offer with a nice swimming pool but unfortunately that's about as good as it gets. The resort really is in need of renovation, looking very old and tired. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank GixxerBoyBenny 8
Peter B, Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I have read both nearly identical reviews by yourself and your girlfriend. I am sorry you felt the service was poor in the resort. I do not understand why my front desk staff were not apologetic regarding your key card malfunction. We have had a very recent problem with the teak wood windows and doors shrinking in some rooms in... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Nice garden,beautiful lake but poor service that I have ever seen. Bad food (breakfast) , the food was like two days ago and make it warm again but not even warm at all. Breakfast was really cold. Make my boyfriend have a very serious stomachache. This is how the staff cook breakfast for customers? That is REALLY BAD. Key card... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miki S
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

This is a repeat review for the same room and the same problems. I aplogise to you similarly to your boyfriend More 

Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
435 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

After two months jockeying around south east Asia I knew I'd need a break before continuing on. This was just right. Perfect accommodations. I've never seen a pillow selection chart anywhere else. Every part of the resort I used was good. Two shower heads! Water pressure was outstanding. Unfortunately the hot water was never around when I needed it but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iratdog
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am p;leased that you enjoyed the pillow menu, water pressure and breakfasts. If there was a hot water problem it would have been specific to your room because each room has its own hot water system which makes life a lot more fragile because we have so many hot water systems to look after.... More 

Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

We booked last minute twee two bedrooms and bathrooms villas in this resort. A big part of this resort is specially reserved as a nursing facility for elderly europeans in need of rest and friendly staff. Prices are good and welcoming is up to date. The small pools are more than enough as we were only the ones in it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fredsnac
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

I've been here for a meditation retreat, and we were in a large group of people from different parts of the world. We were greeted with authentic Thai care, with attention to detail of our needs and a big YES to everything we need. Receive and take care of a group of about 100 people is really a delicate task... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siyana_C
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to have such a wonderful group staying with us. I often say that pleasant guests find the most helpful staff and everybody in your group was extremely pleasant to deal with, it was enough for us to consider the benefits of meditation! Something works! Yours was the biggest group for the longest period that we have... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

Brought my mother for a birthday Spa treat in January and was very disappointed. I has stayed many times before and loved it. This time was much different. first off, we rented the family suite at twice the price , specifically for the Jacuzzi tub. first off the Jacuzzi was moldy and I had to clean the tub before I... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4aroras
Peter B, Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It hurts me more than usual when a previously happy customer has been let down. If you can contact me I will try to find a method to recompense you for your stay. I apologise for the problems. More 

Nes Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016

If You are travelling north of Chiang Mai.....and are longing for a peaceful resort but still with luxury and moderate prices....this is the stay for You!!...... Sunsawan Resort lies just 30 min. outside the city.....and here are many roomtypes/villaoptions to choose between; standardrooms, suites, deluxsuites..If You want to feel like a queen/king for some nights;...I really recommend to book Delux... More 

Helpful?
Thank meritengstrom
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It is difficult to know what to say having read your extremely kind review. It makes the work of the staff worthwhile just to get at least one response like this. We do try hard to makes things as best we can, we are after all a family business with limited funds and when we read a bad review it... More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

Suansawan is a quiet and beautiful resort hotel set in an area with many attractions. The service is very good, staff always helpful to all kinds of requests. Rooms are nice and spacious, many are placed by a small lake. There is a nice garden with trees, palms and ornamentals which is well maintained. The hotel also has two nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vibhoda
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and always grateful when a happy guest takes the trouble to write a review Peter More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with a group of 150 people for a meditation retreat. It was so nice to come to the hotel and out of the city after spending some days there.It was very quiet and tranquil here.The room I had was cool all day without the AC on. There is a lot to explore around the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kumud H
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.WE enjoyed having your group here Peter More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

180 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
0.2 mi away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#9 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jirung Health Village
Jirung Health Village
#6 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#15 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
7.0 mi away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#7 of 19 in Mae Rim
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range: $32 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
#6 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay