We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

453 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 385: English reviews
Start your review of Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to Bunga Raya Resort, we previously went in September 2015. However this time it was a terrible experience. We arrived at the airport to no one from the hotel being there to pick us up, as was arranged by confirmation email by the hotel. So we took a taxi to the jetty and the scheduled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathie1981
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathie1981, Everything and anything that could have gone wrong went wrong when you visited early March, we are truly sorry. A thorough investigation shall be undertaken and more training given. You claim of bed bugs, we had an exterminator visit and they said no bed bugs, but plenty of sandflies. I know this does not make you feel any...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a 4 night stay at Bunga Raya Resort - over 12 months in advance - as a rest and recovery from a 16 night ocean cruise. When booking and paying in full and at a (now we see) premium price we EXPECTED a 5 star resort experience. The resort is STILL promoted as 5 star today. So I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tony L, Thank you for your candid review and pictures. Some things we can change some things we cannot. As I have stated before our resorts can get hit by rubbish during the North East monsoon (Nov-March). Between Gayana and Bungaraya we collect approximately 4000 bags of rubbish a year. We also receive a lot of driftwood which we...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying in a beach villa with plunge pool. On the positive side the island and room were both beautiful. However although plenty of people have mentioned the mosquitos in previous reviews no one has mentioned why..... The whole resort is a mass of stagnant streams and ponds. Our villa was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michele B, we truly appreciate your feedback which I shall share with the team. When things don't go to plan its often due to lack of communication. As long as we ask the right questions, we can pretty much do whatever is required whether it being creating unique menus for guest or be specific with spices etc. In your...

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

One of the best hotels I've stayed in for service, food and location. It's completely hidden, the resort does not detract from the beauty of the island. Lovely pool area and plenty of space for all guests. I was particularly impressed by the service which continued right until we were in our taxi at Jessleton Point, even from staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMS570
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

每天有兩趟免費的船,可以回市區逛街或採買. 每天會來打掃房間兩次,冰箱裡面有免費的soft drink & beer,很貼心~ staffs are friendly and helpful. 我們入住的是Deluxe Suite, 2 Bedrooms,房間款敞,陽台舒服,但是沒有浴缸也沒有浴袍~ 有一隻猴子到陽台來給了他一點蘋果,後來就來了好幾隻猴子,還搶了我們的飲料~ 我們入住的季節,沙灘非常多寶特瓶,塑膠垃圾,還有海草,對沙灘非常失望.The beach had a lot garbage in this season and nowhere can do snorkeling. 我們的房間villa 18,完全沒有網路. SPA不便宜,但是過的效果很好~ SPA的價位很高,環境應該要更豪華一些.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Constance C
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort should have been a 5 but there were too many inconsistencies in food, service and outside influences that affected the overall positive experience. From first contact with Bunga Raya staff, they were very nice and efficient in organising private car and boat transfers, this continued with our airport pick up and arrival at Jesselton Point to be greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clairer23
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Clairer23, Thank you for your feedback on your stay in Bungaraya last month. We truly appreciate your comments, only through sincere feedback can we better ourselves. I am sorry nobody took time to explain why we have the rubbish issues we have. From December to Late March the general wind blows from the North East. This will from time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent room in the jungle, love the animals which surrounded us at the hotel. Concierge staff Kate was awesome in serving us and we had a great time. Stand up paddle was also so much fun and it was free!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JC-relax
Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are only a handful of places that I would take my family back to in a heartbeat but this is one of them. Bunga Raya sits on a remote island about a 20min boat ride from Kota Kinabalu, depending on your transfers I would recommend a private boat as the sooner you arrive the better. From the minute we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dlane766
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a family of 4, the kids are 9 and 11. We stayed 5 days at this resort...it was booked 2 weeks before the trip..our favourite resorts were full...so we thought we would try this one. We arrived at Jesselton pPoint after 8pm...they kept one of the resturants open for us so that we could have a meal...THANK YOU....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FlyingKiwiFraser
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed February 5, 2017

I don't like going back to hotels - the world is such a big wide place, why not try somewhere new each time? But, quite honestly, I'd be back to Bunga Raya in a heartbeat if only it were closer and I had more annual leave. What could make for a more perfect day than waking up and having a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SusanY784
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

914 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (504)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (96)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (351)
Viewed
Amenities (123)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Plunge Pool Villa (71)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
2.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
428 reviews
12.5 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,263 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,976 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As sensual and exotic as the hibiscus flower that bears its name, Bunga Raya Island Resort is a luxurious jewel set on a coral reef island just off the coast of Borneo. A secluded island hideaway of 47 timbered villas, the resort is framed by white sand beach and virgin jungle. Hillside villas reflect the simplicity of the Borneo architectural style. A hilltop spa blends the finest Traditional Asian and Western treatments using restorative powers of indigenous plants and oils. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

Address: Polish Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: $217 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa
Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa Malaysia/Pulau Gaya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“plunge pool villa”
 of 5 bubbles cathie1981, 2 days ago | Read review
“All rooms are accessible by golf carts which are readily available. For convenience and easy access though, select a villa on the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles LMS570, 1 week ago | Read review
“go for a higher room for the best views. You can always get a buggy if you don't feel like walking up the steep hills!”
 of 5 bubbles 675susiet, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
“The best room are the cottages with dipping pool located just in front of the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Pasyalero, Nov 18, 2016 | Read review
“The island is quite far removed from the mainland so be prepared to relax and spend some time on a boat”
 of 5 bubbles ARobertson88, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question