We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Penzance

Traveler (69)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
182Restaurantswithin 5 miles
87Attractionswithin 5 miles
230Reviews
0Q+A
31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 60
  • 20
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Family of 4 adults and needed a good value stopover before catching ferry next morning. Room was large and facilities excellent. 20 mins walk into Penzance for fish and chips on Prom. Friendly reception. YHA ticked all the right boxes
Read more
Have been away for over two years, it was re-assurring that some things remain the same and familiar friendly faces were there to greet me. The YHA Penzance has become my home away from home, and manager Paul is always in good humour, along with Ulla as professional as ever. It was good to see caretaker Matt keeping things running smoothly. The facillities were clean, services excellent and I the price was great value for money. The dorm rooms can always be touch and go as far as snorers and room mates, so always a good idea to bring ear plugs. Highly recommended in a beautiful location. Keep up the good work folks.
Read more
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your great review. I will pass you comments on to the team. the snorers we can do nothing about but if there is another room to move to we will try our best to accommodate you. Everyone needs a good night sleep.
Read more
The problem with a hostel is others in the room; another snored very loudly and could be heard through ear plugs, in the end took bedding and slept in games room. Hostel itself is nice, albeit a little dated in places. Reception doesn’t open until 17:00, so don’t expect to be able to check-in prior to that. I arrived on a bike, cycle storage was medium at best. Nice location, and good that YHA is looking after this old building. In the end, the hostel is cheap accommodation, and one gets what one pays for, a snorer is merely a risk
Read more
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance
Responded 5 days ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sadly there is not too much we can do with the snorers. If we can move guest then we will but this is not always possible. I trust you had a better night in the games room! I am sorry that you were driven to such extreme actions. Reception times are advertised on our website. If possible we will open a few minutes earlier but if this is not possible we do have a beautiful lounge to wait in. Thank you. Paul
Read more
The hostel itself was in a beautiful location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It definitely caters more to families. My complaint was that the wifi barely worked, which as an international traveler made my trip much more stressful than it needed to be. I had to find cafes just to have decent wifi to talk to my family. I understand not having it in the rooms in such a big house but having it in the lounge would've really helped. The hostel is also a fair walk from town which is a bit much without a car. Just a heads up.
Read more
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Global, Thank you for the comments regarding the staff. Yes the Wi-Fi is not the best. Unfortunately when people start to live stream TV then sadly this takes all the signal away. The granite walls don't help either. But the good news is that there are great cafes in Penzance.
Read more
+1
It is about 1 mile from Penzance so at the end of a long days walk it was pretty tiring to get there. I paid £29 for a room with hand basin and bunk beds. Heater worked well, view to fire escapes only. The self catering section is downstairs in the coldest part of the massive building. I'm not really a "hostellier" so take this review on that basis but it is not really for me! One night stay only.
Read more
Response from Paul K, Manager at YHA Penzance
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you Albywon. The main thing is that you gave us a try. Thanks for that.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$32 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
penzance youth hotel castle horneck
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCastle Horneck
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing