We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Noreste de Centro de la Fortuna de San Carlos 13 Km, La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$400
Hotels.com$346
Travelocity$346
Trip.com$394
Tabacon Grand Spa$400
Orbitz.com$346
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4156)
360
Panoramas (28)
Room & Suite (613)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 10 hotels in La Fortuna
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Gold level
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is located The Spa, which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Seating area
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
5648Reviews163Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,067
  • 1,023
  • 350
  • 123
  • 87
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daune600 wrote a review Yesterday
Lomita, California1 contribution
My family and I stayed at the Tabacon for about half of our vacation. I wish we would have stayed longer. The hotel and staff were excellent. Everyone was welcoming and friendly and we were happy that everyone spoke excellent English (as we do not speak Spanish). The rooms were spacious and very pristine. The bed was extremely comfortable. The thermal springs were wonderful and plenty of room to be by yourself, relaxing in the warm waters. The grounds were lush with flowers and greenery making this the PERFECT tropical paradise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jonStan22 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Only draw back was we did not realize you have to take a 5 min shuttle to the hot springs from the hotel. Not a big deal, just not what we were expecting. We thought we would go back and forth from the room to the hot springs several times a day, but due to the need to shuttle, this didn't work out. The hot springs are amazing and well worth the visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
me12se22 wrote a review Aug 16
El Paso, Texas
Everything was just perfect , service by the staff to cleaning service are excellent. Hotel facilities are clean and very beautiful and can’t say enough about the hot springs . You have access to the hot springs from 8 am to 10 pm and they have a shuttle that takes you it’s only about a minute drive or you can also walk it just takes you about 7 minutes
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear me12se22, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know you had the opportunity to our enjoy 100% natural hot springs and the service provided. We would love to have you back soon! Best Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
priyak008 wrote a review Aug 15
1 contribution
Loved everything about Tabacon. It is such a beautiful place, loved that the shuttles to hot springs were non stop and you didnt have to wait long for them. The hot springs are out of this world beautiful and the shangri-la gardens are a must !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear priyak008, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our natural hot springs, and Shangri-La Gardens, our exclusive area. We look forward to your next visit! Kind Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahaft2153 wrote a review Aug 14
Ann Arbor, Michigan1 contribution
We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and I cannot recommend it enough. The property and rooms are beautiful and the staff treated us like kings. We absolutely loved our stay. Our room had a view of the volcano out of our back door and it was lovely to wake up to. The included breakfast buffet was delicious, the gym fulfilled its purposes, and we loved going to the hot springs whenever we had down time. We also loved being able to explore more Costa Rican culture with the resort’s close proximity to downtown! My only complaint would be that the food at the hotel restaurants is pretty overpriced compared to surrounding restaurants in Costa Rica. It was very yummy, but maybe not worth the steep cost. We really enjoyed eating at local sodas!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear sarahaft2153, Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Tabacon as part of your honeymoon, it was an honor to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are more than happy to know you had the opportunity to enjoy the majestic views of the Arenal Volcano, and the delicious breakfast from Tucanes Restaurant. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room and got a chance to visit our fitness center. We would love to host you soon again! Best Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rnauceder wrote a review Aug 14
+1
It was a beautiful resort.. we stayed in the 700 section and had a sloth in the tree right outside our room.. saw Tucans, Crested Guans, and other tropical birds on our walks around the resort every day.. the hot springs were amazing.. we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and it was very unexpected when we came back to our room on Monday and had a Happy Anniversary sign on our door and chocolate covered strawberries in our room! Delicious! Everyone was so professional and welcoming.. couldn’t ask for a better place to stay! Thank you so much for the great time!!! Cindy and Russ
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Cindy and Russ, Congratulations on your anniversary, it was an honor to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are pleased to know you had the opportunity to enjoy our natural hot springs, the fantastic wildlife hidden in the Costa Rican rainforest, and our amenities. It's great to hear that you found our staff helpful and welcoming. We would love to host you again soon! Kind Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandra0077 wrote a review Aug 11
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The minute your arrive at this property, your jaw will drop! I am a world traveler, always looking for the best hotels and experiences. This was my first trip to Costa Rica. The property is surrounded by gorgeous tropical forest. The rooms are very updated, smart technology with beautiful well kept tropical forest views. You can bring your family or do a romantic trip with your partner. The staff is super accommodating and friendly. Food and cocktails are of the highest quality. Great healthy options. Their thermal water park, is absolutely stunning!! Many private areas for you to enjoy time alone with your significant other. Many ponds and waterfalls to choose from surrounded by this incredible colorful tropical forest. Water is super warm and hot at some ponds. Feels so good! They have swim up bars too! Lots of cascades and waterfalls. Shallow ponds also for children! You will see wild life! Our favorite Shangri gardens (for adults) had gorgeous cabanas with food and beverage service by ringing a button in the cabanas. Open till 10pm. You can enjoy the in the evening. The scenery is just magical! Cant wait to come back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sandra0077, Thank you for sharing your great experience at our resort! We're happy that we were able to deliver on your expectations, our goal is to stand out and ensure each guest has a wonderful experience. We are more than glad to know you had the opportunity to enjoy our 100% natural hot springs, especially Shangri-La Gardens, our exclusive area, the delicious cocktails from our bars, and exquisite gastronomy from our restaurants. We're delighted that you enjoyed the service that was provided as well as your room. We hope your next trip to Costa Rica will be soon so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again! Best Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coveredinclay wrote a review Aug 11
Rockville, Maryland21 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Our stay at this resort was our 3rd and 4th night in La Fortuna area. When we booked a stay at the resort, I was on the fence between extending our stay at the Royal Corin for 2 more nights and just buying a day pass to Tabacon Hot Springs (approx $110 a person and incl. Lunch) or paying the $500 (double the cost of the Royal Corin) a night fee to stay. My husband insisted we stay. The room was lovely, very large and overlooking the jungle. The reminder of the resort was not worth the cost of the stay, IMHO. The gym was nice. The breakfast was ok, but the servers were not attentive as one would expect at an upscale resort. Over all the service across the resort was meh. The thermal rivers are actually about 1/2 km from the rooms. There is a shuttle available or you can just walk. It is downhill so the return walk could be challenging for some. Those are amazing and totally worth a day pass, which gives you at least 12 hrs access. I had a spa treatment as well, which the treatment itself was nice but the spa facilities were nothing spectacular. There were no towels in the locker rooms and no steam or sauna to use, only a hot tub in the relaxation area, which was a co-ed area. I had also had a massage at the Royal Corin, whose facilities were exquisite and the cost was about 25% less. Finally, I was planning on eating at the in-house restaurant, but another guest told me she was disappointed by the quality and portion size, so we ate at a place down the road from the resort . So overall, it was a lovely stay at a lovely hotel, but I feel that the overall experience and service did not meet up to all the hype.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear coveredinclay, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to know you had the opportunity to enjoy the views of the rainforest and the amazing experience of our Spa treatments. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed your room and got a chance to visit our fitness center. We are so sorry that we were not able to perfect your entire experience as we strive to offer an ideal vacation for our guests. Please know your concerns have been passed on to our management team. We hope to better serve you in the future. Kind Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnAir28047804773 wrote a review Aug 11
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had the most wonderful few days here at Tabacon. The staff is exceptional. The rooms are clean, good size and well appointed, ours even had a gorgeous view of the Volcano. The breakfast buffet is truly amazing...fresh juice, a station for omelets, fresh fruit, eggs - they offer it all and it's delicious. The Spa is the best experience I have ever had in my life so don't miss the opportunity to book a massage here and enjoy The Thermal waters - they are magical and the shuttle to them is 2 minutes and they do shuttle back and forth constantly so you are not left waiting, but you can also walk...it's a 5-10 min walk down the hill. Easy. Sunning resort - Pura Vida!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OnAir28047804773, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our natural hot springs, the majestic views of the Arenal Volcano, and the delicious breakfast from Tucanes Restaurant. It is also great you found our staff helpful, and relaxed with the amazing experience our spa offers. We would love to host you soon again! Best Regards, Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin A wrote a review Aug 11
1 contribution
We went with a group of 45 family and friends. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, we felt that we were truly valued there. All of the amenities, the property, the hot springs, restaurants were impeccable. The staff was incredibly friendly and quick to serve. We can't say enough about how happy we were with this beautiful place in a beautiful location. Pura Vida!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community M, Promocionar at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kevin A, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback and for choosing us for this special vacation with your family and friends. We are more than happy to know you had the opportunity to enjoy our natural hot springs, the delicious gastronomy from our restaurants, and the service provided. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future. ¡Pura Vida! Tabacon Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$328 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tabacon grand spa thermal hotel la fortuna de san carlos, tabacon grand hotel thermal, tabacon grand resort thermal, tabacon resort, tabacon hot springs
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkLa Fortuna de San CarlosLa Fortuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Arenal Oasis Wildlife Refuge (4.6 miles), Ecotermales Fortuna (3.2 miles), and La Fortuna Waterfall (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Ventanita, Restaurante Los Rodríguez, and Restaurante El Coloso Arenal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.