We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Gran Hostal Tintorera

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gran Hostal Tintorera
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Wyoming
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Of the three hotels we stayed in during our tour of the Galapagos Islands, this was by far my least favorite. My husband and I were assigned a room on the top floor with four twin beds. I felt as if we were hosting a slumber party. The room itself was clean but the grounds were dirty and littered with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wyogaltoday
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week on our trip to Isabella at the recommendation of a tour guide. It is simple, yet very comfortable and cool. On the islands, you will not find "resorts" so don't expect that type of accommodation. Carla the manager was terrific and took very good care of us, even knocking on our door... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
KarlaReal1501, Director de Recepción at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review

Hello Mrs Tracy. We hope that you and your husband are very good. Was a pleasure for us to have you one night in the hostel. We will be glad to see you again!! I remember that you went to the Tunneles, definitely it is the best in Isabela however there are other beatuful places that you have to visit.... More 

Jakarta Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

This hostal was not 1 of our choosing as it was part of a package tour. So our expectations were not high. Our stay however was a very pleasant surprise. The location is strategically close to many areas of interest (but then again, it's a small area anyway). It's cute and cozy with a few hammocks strung on a post... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
KarlaReal1501, Director de Recepción at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review

Hello Maura! How are you? We hope that your friends and you are very very good. Thank you so much for your comment, was nice to meet you. it is impossible not to be kind with a nice person like you. We feel very hapy because you had a great time with us. We are working hard to make that... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

I spent one night here on my visit to the Isabella island and it is a very calm hostel! Perfect if you want to relax after a whole days walk to the vulcano for example... But you can still walk in to the center of the village in a couple of minutes. Recommendable!

Helpful?
Thank JoannaLML
Cecilia A, Gerente at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola querida amiga muchas gracias por recomendar nuestro hostal y emitir tu comentario, nosotros nos esforzamos día a día para... More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

Stayed here for two nights, and got a room right at the top of the hostel. It was clean, spacious and had an excellent Air Conditioning Unit. The room itself was clean and well maintained. The bathroom was a fair size too. Breakfast was adequate and there was wifi in the communal area. Drinks (Coke, Beer) could be purchased from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pidge335
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

we did a three day trip at isla isabella. the hostel tintorera is a perfect hostel for every visitor. very friendly stuff, clean and nice rooms with a/c, a tasty breakfast with fresh fruits and jugo :-) in 5min walk we were at the downtown and got a good recomodation for dinner and additional activities price - performance is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank ackrol
KarlaReal1501, Director de Recepción at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review

Dear Friend: We hope that everything is good with you and your girlfriend. Thank you so much for your comment, was a pleasure having you in the hostel. Thank you for everything as well, you were very friendly with us. To be honest one of the best guest that we have had. Very patient and optimistic and willing to have... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Our room was cleaned every day and had much needed air conditioning, however it also had a constant stream of tiny ants, in the bed too!! Staff were ok but we often felt like we were a nuisance. Breakfast was ridiculously early. Rooms were pretty expensive but we got a discount for staying 5 nights. Wouldn't stay again to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah1185
KarlaReal1501, Director de Recepción at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review

Hi guys! How are you? I hope that you are very good. I am very sad to read yor comment, and see your rate. So, It is necessary to clarify some issues. We didn´t make a discount, we did a big discount for you because you stayed 5 nigths. Almost half price. You were not a nuisance in any way,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

The room is clean and comfortable. Close to the beach. Has wifi in the common areas and air conditioning. I stayed here with a tour group and breakfast wasn't included in our stay. But the breakfast they offer is good, with fresh fruit, eggs, cheese and yogurt.

Helpful?
Thank j m
Cecilia A, Gerente at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

Mi querida amiga gracias por hacer un comentario de muestro hostal, nuestro personal se esfuerza día a día para que... More 

Piura, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016

I joined a package tour expecting a $ 100 plus hotel, but this is just an average hotel. Clean ladies are excellent. Receptionist is a very capable young man who can do anything from being a receptionist to repairing an electric appliance... And every evening before dinner, he would hold a meeting informing guests the next day’ schedule with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank aceceleste
Cecilia A, Gerente at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review
Google Translation

Mi querido amigo muy agradecida por escribir su comentario, en realidad en el hostal tintorera tenemos un equipo de trabajo... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, free breakfast. The ac was working fine. The staff was very nice but spoke little english, good time to practice your spanish.You won't find better for the price. Only the wifi was not great but, I can live without wifi for a few days.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
KarlaReal1501, Director de Recepción at Gran Hostal Tintorera, responded to this review

Hi Friend! Thank you for your comment, we are working hard to improve our services, now we have a person that speak in English. We would like that you can go back and feel better with someone who speaks your same language, or at least understand if you need something. We understand you, the problem with internet is in general,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Villamil
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
#13 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Albemarle
Hotel Albemarle
#3 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
Hotel San Vicente Galapagos
#6 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Gran Tortuga
La Gran Tortuga
#1 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sula Sula
Hotel Sula Sula
#3 of 22 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Gran Hostal Tintorera

Address: Calle Escalecia, Puerto Villamil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela > Puerto Villamil
Price Range: $78 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Hostal Tintorera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hostal Tintorera Galapagos Islands/Isabela, Ecuador
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay