We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat

Save
Share
Avenida Las Cabanas 13, San Patricio 48980 Mexico
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (63)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (17)

About

#1 of 6 hotels in San Patricio
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.5
In the picturesque seaside town of Melaque, the beauty and serenity of old Mexico lives on. Here at La Paloma, an intimate resort, culture and traditional hospitality combine with modern technology and the singular artistic vision of its owners. Conveniently located a couple of blocks from the town square and shopping, yet when you step through the gate, you're miles away from the world outside in a safe, secure, garden paradise. Each of the 14 different rooms have their own uniqueness with wonderful views and amenities designed for your comfort. We are not your average hotel... We are your Home away from Home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Couples massage
BBQ facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
89Reviews6Q+A36Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 65
  • 13
  • 4
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Don E wrote a review May 2022
Kamloops, Canada1 contribution
Finding La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat isn't all that easy. You will walk down an unpaved road and search for a small sign located beside a large wooden gate. Ring the bell, wait for the buzz, and open the gate to a small garden paradise. You'll first be impressed by the manicured gardens which lead to the resort office. Kyla, your manager, is friendly and efficient. There are only 16 rooms in the whole resort and each room is different. Some rooms overlook the pool and the ocean, others face the interior gardens. Some rooms are quite large, with full kitchen facilities, while others are smaller. Everything is clean and tidy. The pool is a great place too meet other guests. However, the best time and place to meet other guests is at breakfast. People gather around outdoor tables to enjoy a bowl of fresh fruit, toast, juice, pancakes or eggs. Finish the meal off with a cup of coffee and discuss the upcoming day. We love the atmosphere that Kyla and her staff have created. We have visited La Paloma twice and have already booked our return visit for 2023.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Each room is different. Check to see what your room includes.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anne154943 wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, Canada26 contributions22 helpful votes
We've stayed at La Paloma a number of times and plan to return again next winter. It's small, friendly, and the staff is always helpful. The location right on the beach is perfect. They are away from the noise and busyness of downtown Melaque, but close enough to walk to all the shopping and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Every room is unique. La Paloma's website has great pictures and descriptions of each.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Beachnut53 wrote a review Apr 2022
Edmonton, Canada33 contributions13 helpful votes
After a two year travel hiatus due to the world wide pandemic, this was our first visit during Santa Semana. The hotel allows children during the month of April and there were times when it was filled with Mexican families with small children enjoying the pool with games. Other days, the hotel was deserted as the same families travelled to check out other beaches. The beach activity was interesting to watch and the umbrellas spanned the entire bay filled with families. Our room (#14) offered an excellent viewing point to take in all of the beach activities and the vendors selling their wares. Kyla and her staff attended to all of our requests ranging from massage and pedicure appointments to ordering shrimp to be delivered and restaurant directions…ALL delivered with a smile. Kyla also arranged our private transportation to Puerto Vallarta for our flight home. If you are looking for a family “base” for Easter activities or just a get away to experience a different time in Mexico, I would highly recommend LaPaloma as the best hotel choice in Melaque.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms # 1, 2, 3 and 14 provide the best locations to watch beach activities. The evening skim...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Janice M wrote a review Apr 2022
Vashon, Washington8 contributions1 helpful vote
From the moment you walk in through the gate into the gorgeous and well kept gardens you know that you have arrived someplace special. The view from the pool and common areas is magnificent! Some of the units have ocean views too! Pelicans and frigate birds soar above and if you are lucky you just may see the iguana sunning himself on the wall. The rooms are cleaned everyday and we were so happy with the added efforts to keep us safe from Covid. When we were there for 3 weeks in January and February 2022 all the staff wore masks which demonstrated their commitment to safety. I would have to say that the staff is friendly and helpful, if you needed something they would drop what they were doing and give you their full attention. Kyla, the Hotel Manager answered our many questions with kindness and patience. She recommended good restaurants and helped us find take out food, called for a doctor's appointment several times when I needed to be seen, called cabs and the list goes on. In the mornings, people gather in the common areas adjacent to the pool for coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit and the best ever smoothies/juices made by Kyla. What a treat! If you don't want to cook breakfast they offer a number of options that were delicious and reasonably priced. This was our fourth year at La Paloma and we have so enjoyed the experience and are already looking forward to next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Tell Kyla what you are looking for. We liked #12, #1, #2
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Denise D wrote a review Apr 2022
Sun Peaks, Canada19 contributions41 helpful votes
We spent ten weeks at the lovely La Paloma and enjoyed every minute. From the moment you enter the gate and are greeter by the staff, you will be treated like with the upmost respect. The staff is always there to assist with questions about food, restaurants, swimming, and activities. This resort is very quiet and has a true retreat feel to it. The property is well maintained and clean. We were very impressed with the extra measures put in place to ensure that your rooms and the common areas were sanitized on a regular basis. The view is amazing! You can sit on 'The Wall' or on a lounger by the pool, gaze out to the ocean, take a deep breath and relax. Please note that some of the Units do have a significant number of stairs so best to check out the photographs of each room and clarify with the manager if you have concerns about stairs. There are so many lovely rooms to choose from...one will be perfect for your stay! All rooms are equipped with A/C. There is a minimal charge should you choose to use the A/C.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hubert F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Absolutely terrible experience. Made to feel as if they were doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there. Every time we saw the Proprietor we were given the hairy eyeball and made to feel unwelcome to say the least. The “complementary breakfast” was inedible and the coffee tasted days old. We certainly were not made to feel like paying guests. Will not return, and would not recommend at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat, General Manager at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Thank you for your review. We always try our best to make guests feel welcome, however, we might not be perfect in everyone´s eyes. Not all guests appreciate what La Paloma or the Melaque/San Patrico area have to offer as they soon find out it might not fit their lifestyle. It saddens us to hear anyone would think we would go out of our way to rolls eyes or treat anyone bad and in this particular case we do not recall having any personal conversation with this particular guest. Our coffee is made fresh where the guests have access to it (can check its freshness in the machine at any time by opening the lid). It is put out for the guests at 7-7:15am every single morning to percolate for about 20 minutes. Usually we end up making more fresh coffee as the clients drink the first servings and have always told us they love that it is fresh and strong. If the breakfast was inedible, then why would all other guests participate in it every day? Our fruit is cut fresh and our juice is made fresh every single morning with the wonderful produce sold locally in our village. Our menu items are made fresh as any client can see their food being made as the kitchen is right there infront of the seating area. Many guests chat with us while we are making their breakfast :D We apologize if anyone has every felt anything other than fantastic when visiting our establishment. So many are appreciative of what we offer as seen by all other reviews and those are the clients we strive for. We hope all guests understand we are a casual place but maybe not for everyone and their expectations.
Read more
Deb S wrote a review Dec 2021
Draper, Utah13 contributions
It's hard for me to believe that I would be the first one to write a review in 2021 but if you go to the other reviews of excellence everybody else has said it as good as I could say it. Exceptional staff great location lovely room with that we stayed in which was 14
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The restaurant across the street was exceptionally good on a pasta night highly highly...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sharon wrote a review Apr 2020
Woodstock, New Hampshire183 contributions63 helpful votes
We were at La Paloma 3 weeks and stayed at 3 different casas. Each was decorated differently. The one that was on the third floor was 40 stairs up (and down :) a bit much for us, very small shower and toilet room. The other two were on ground floors and quite large with full kitchens. Housekeeping very good. Continental breakfast, fresh squeeze o.j. three kinds of fresh fruit, great coffee and toast with jams and pnut butter. For little money you could order fresh eggs cooked a variety of ways. Pool very clean, as well as the area. Great views of the ocean, a bit difficult to swim in due to surf, but a 20 minute walk would bring you to a swim-able place. Enjoyed watching young men (one gal) boogie boarding every evening. Next door is a beach bar with music until ten p.m. Only one night was it loud and ran overtime. The plantings and flowers were well cared for, I believe the original owner (still lives there) is an artist, so much art work in the casas and beautiful murals on the outside walls.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nomayo325 wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
The good stuff: Cleanliness: great! Rooms are spotless, grounds are well-maintained. Staff: great! Kyla and her staff are all wonderful. Very helpful and pleasant. Location: great! Right on the beach-easy access to everything. The not-so-good stuff: Rooms: Some of the rooms are quite nice, some are barely habitable. The first room (#12) we had an all glass facade that faced south and had no screens on the windows. It was basically a solar oven unless we kept the doors closed and the curtains drawn and the bedspread over the curtains. This kept it ok if we used three A/C in the hottest part of the day. The second room (#1) faced the ocean, had a nice breeze and was very comfortable. Personality: There was a large group of guests there who return every year, know each other well, and seem to want to spend a lot of time together enjoy each other's company. They start early in the morning and end late in the evening (with breaks). They are nice folks but we found ourselves wishing that there was an "off" switch that we could push to end the party. If you don't mind noisy socializing, then it won't be a problem for you. But, if you want a quiet romantic setting or are interested in sitting by the pool and working on your thesis, this isn't the place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from kyla poirier, General Manager at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Responded Nov 24, 2020
Thank you for your comments. Yes some rooms (such as room 12) do face the rising sun and most do enjoy that they are not in a cold location :) Please do let us know if that may be an issue for your stay. With regards to other guests, the hotel can not reject people just because they make friends with other guests over the years. We do not control who is friends with who. We do ask that all guests respect everyone and because this is such a small place, you will find guests that tend to make friends with each other. That is what we hope for. Making friends and creating great memories. Maybe a hotel might not be the concept for everyone (especially in the middle of the busiest tourist season) as they are shared spaces such as the pool and lounge area. Maybe in this case a house rental would have be more ideal especially if a guest is wanting a romantic location for only 2. We are a shared space. We only hope everyone leaves happy and we do our best to provide that. If other guests bothered you during your stay, we do apologise. kind regards.
Read more
Paradox98 wrote a review Mar 2019
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada266 contributions162 helpful votes
+1
We just returned from 2 weeks at La Paloma and it more than lived up to our expectations. The hotel itself is beautiful - from the garden you see when you first open the entrance door, to the colours of the walls, the murals by the pool, the pool itself, and the beach and bay you walk down to from the pool area. Our room, #11, was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The owner, Nancy (and her wonderful dogs), the Managing Director Kyla for whom nothing was too much trouble, Rolando the Assistant Manager who was equally helpful; and all the staff, including: Isobel, who set up the complementary continental breakfast in the morning and cooked great (and very reasonably priced) items from the breakfast menu; Paco the barman, who made great margaritas; and our housekeeper who kept our room immaculately clean were all great and made us feel like family. La Paloma is a truly fantastical place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la paloma oceanfront retreat hotel san patricio
LOCATION
MexicoJaliscoSan Patricio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Melaque (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vainilla Pimienta Bistrodeli, La Taza Negra, and Restaurant de Maria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is La Paloma Oceanfront Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.