We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Alfresco Historic Villas

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alfresco Historic Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
Reefton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Stayed in a 1970s style budget flat, very poorly maintained and with no attention to detail at all Booked this online for my family (my husband and I plus our 3 children)Curtains did not close properly, Bedside lamps not working, No sugar for coffee. Cupboards were a mess. and not enough cutlery for our family.The only positive was it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia4040
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

I can give it 3 stars only because very friendly staff . I would not stay here if I knew before. My personal opinion it is better to find another 50 $ and rent a nice room in a more expensive hotel or just save the money and camp with a tent, than pay 90$ for a room like that.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dmitry-vgr
St Albans
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

Myself and a friend returned home on Monday after one month touring New Zealand. This was the only accommodation we were disappointed with. The rooms were tired looking. Although the bathroom was clean, the kitchen was not a place you would want to prepare food in, and the cupboards full of cobwebs. Although our sheets were clean the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnieStAlbans
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

When booking accommodations with this business, be careful and aware that you may have to share the kitchen and bathroom. Sounds like they have had problems with other guests that day being unhappy with room arrangement and advertising information. Check before booking. Otherwise clean accommodation.

Helpful?
Thank oraline
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your imput. I will try to make it clearer for intending customers to understand our variety of accommodation, stand alone villas, B&B type rooms with ensuite ,and classic rooms with private or shared bathroom and common kitchen. We try to price accordingly, with our top rooms ensuite at 125.00 -95.00 (for 2 people)and our classic rooms 95.00-80.00.... More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

Great place rooms great but in need of basic house keeping dust everywhere especially kitchen no house keeping ? but despite this good place to stay, staff who showed us around not very informative, seemed like she did not know what to say ? There are no locks on rear door found people using washing machine though? Who are these... More 

Helpful?
Thank robertmusk
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

We'd just ridden 500km that day on a motorcycle rally and was looking forward to some comfort and coziness for sore bodies..and a hot shower. ..alas the water was not hot when we arrived and wouldn't be for a few hours.. the manager found us a hot shower at another accommodation they ran...grateful...the room, no.2 classic was quaint and cosy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

Please refer to the comments to your other review. Your feedback has been acted on immediately. Have to say two harsh reviews when we felt we had done what we could for you in a timely manner has shaken our small business. More 

Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

We arrived in the afternoon after a day and a half on the bike to find no hot water and was told "nothing we can do and this happens often". After quite a bit of pressure we were taken around the road to an empty house for a shower. When we went to get into bed it had NO support... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripyvizor
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

My apologies for the water issue and your discomfort with the bed. As soon as we were aware we did the only thing we could to help , and ferried you to our holiday flat. A booster switch enabling the water to be continually heated had been accidentally turned off when we needed it most. Let me assure you we... More 

hunter valley
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

We turned up enquiring for a room quite late in the day, practically on dark. The girls were very accommodating and showed us to a room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in two weeks- including the pillows. Big fluffy doona and good linen. Out the back of the Alfresco Eatery so close to food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess-C01
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

Thank you and I have passed your comments onto our staff. Paula More 

Greymouth
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great value for money. Clean and tidy and nicely appointed room and bathroom. Super comfy bed. Wonderfully friendly owners and very helpful. Also ate at cafe which is a must - great pizzas and flat bread to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Jedsmom
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and I have passed them onto our staff. Glad you were comfortable. We are proud of our pizzas! Paula More 

Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We stayed the night in a lovely room, had our own bathroom which was fun as the floor piles were on a slope, no soap for shower was provided though. Bed was large and comfortable, pillows were hard, room very pretty and the house was nicely decorated, owner was very friendly. Needed a hood spring clean to get rid of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie W
pf60, Owner at Alfresco Historic Villas, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. Cobwebs are a constant and we have remedied this. Floor piles are on the list but glad you had fun with them Paula More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Reefton
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Court Motel
Lantern Court Motel
#1 of 1 in Reefton
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose from large heritage ensuite rooms,villa style classic rooms or sole occupancy villas for family and friends. BBq areas and plenty of space, the accommodation is adjacent to Alfresco Eatery.The restaurant boasts a cosy bar,candlelit verandah dining and alfresco garden tables. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alfresco Historic Villas

Address: 16 Broadway, Reefton 7830, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfresco Historic Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alfresco Historic Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay