We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lantern Court Motel

TripAdvisor$77*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$77*
Great Deal
$78*
$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Lantern Court Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lantern Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed January 22, 2017

The Lantern Court Motel is delightfully homey, comfy and full of warm hospitality. The accommodation is older, but it's charm shines through the rooms beautifully presented, clean and warm and well appointed. The hospitality and warmth from our host Kerry was second to none! And given we were 'displaced' due to the Transalpine Train cancellation - to arrive to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltrewin
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Very authentic hotel in a beautiful authentic old mining town. Service is very friendly with always a broad smile from the team. Rooms are very clean. Family rooms. A great place for a family. I recommend this place very highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XMOS69
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you XMOS679 for a lovely review. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the ladies on our house keeping staff. Kind regards Bronwyn, Frank and Kerry

New Zealand
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight, twice. It was a very handy location for our travel, a half way point. We opted for the budget 2 star rooms and they were great. Clean & tidy. All the supplies you need for an overnight stay. Kitchen & Bathrooms are older style. Reminded me of a holiday bach from times gone by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5666ZCemmab
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi X5666ZCemmab, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review, glad we were able to make you smile and bring back some happy memories for you. Hope we get to catch up again if you are ever back this way. Best wishes from Kerry

Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Great accommodation with different types of unit to meet all budgets. Very clean and comfy we had a wonderful king bed 😃. Very friendly and helpful reception staff who focus on customer satisfaction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalex010
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello dalex010, Thank you for a lovely review. Its the great people we get to meet that make our job so enjoyable. It is a pleasure to see folk out and about enjoying them selves. Take care and hope to catch up again some time, best wishes Kerry

Amberley, New Zealand
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

We booked the three bedroom apartment here and it was fantastic. If you're looking for super modern then maybe this isn't for you but if you're up for blending into the feel of the town then you'll love this place. Beds are comfy! Lantern Court is central in Reefton but only minutes walk from the gorgeous Inangahua River. It's next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hospo_Lyf
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi Hospo_Lyf, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Really pleased that we met your expectations. Some of our units are of the older style which blend in with the historic town. We do try to keep them to a good standard and have a lovely group of local ladies on our house...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed January 10, 2017

We stayed in a three bedroom unit on our stopover, on our way to Queenstown. It was very tidy and homely. But what really made our stay was the beautiful host who waited around for us for our arrival at 9pm after some car issues. She greeted us so kindly and pointed us to somewhere where we would be able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LDDartsworth
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello LDDartsworth, I am so pleased you you enjoyed your stop over here with us at Lantern Court. I felt so sorry for you as it had been a long day and with car problems you didn't need. Hope we get to see you back our way again at some stage. Best wishes from Bronwyn and Frank

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We stayed one night at the Lantern Court on our way to Motueka. Good location as it's right next door to the supermarket. Frank upgraded us to a larger apt (since we had travel delays) and the apt was very clean and spacious. We received excellent recommendations for a 6 mile loop hike and where to eat - the Pub....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank workingmom919
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi De Hi workingmom919, Thank you for posting a great review and so pleased you enjoyed getting out and about while you were here. There are some great walks around this region depending on your fitness level there is something for everyone. Great for the kids as well - we don't here too many of them complaining :) All the...

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Stayed for two nights at the Lantern Cout Motels.Whilst exploring four wheel roads with other motorcyclists.The management at Lantern Cout Motels made us feel very welcome. Helped us store our motorcycles in the hugh storage shed on the property and dry our wet clothing. Gave us advice . Comfortable rooms. Friendly welcoming team. Recommend ++++.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robhambrook63
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hello robhambrook63, It was a pleasure to be able to assist you were a great bunch and it was good to see you all enjoying yourselves. Thank you for a great review, hope we get to see you all again some time. Best wishes from Bronwyn and Frank

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Comfortable bed, good wifi, kitchen ok. Friendly lady on reception who gave us advice on the condition of the roads for our trip the following day. Room was old but furnishings looked newer and in good condition and clean. Unfortunately we were woken in the early hours of the morning by the smoke alarm beeping every thirty seconds. I thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilaBear87
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi LilaBear87, Thank you for posting your review. I was genuinely upset you did not get to enjoy a full nights sleep while you were here. My sincere apology, I was so concerned that your safety may have been compromised that I over looked the fact a discount was considered appropriate in this instance. I know it is a little...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Four of us friends stayed one night in a 3bedroom unit - huge amount of room, full kitchen including plunger coffee, linen and great views. Very close to all food outlets and shops. The manageress shifted her own car so that we could park both our cars right beside our unit. And stored our valuable gear for 3 days. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShonaAs1
LanternCourt, Manager at Lantern Court Motel, responded to this review

Hi ShonaAs1, Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you all had a great weekend even though it was a tad chilly. Hope you get back our way again to do some more of the tracks. Take care and best wishes for plenty more great rides. Kind regards Kerry

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reefton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Nurses Home Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Alfresco Historic Villas
0.0 mi away
Reef Cottage B&B
Reef Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Reefton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Lantern Court Motel

Address: 63 Broadway Street, Reefton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Reefton
Price Range: $79 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lantern Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lantern Court Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upstairs they have terrific balconies”
michaelhA6897NQ, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Staff are happy for you to view rooms to choose the type that suites you”
dalex010, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“ask for 2nd floor apts”
workingmom919, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“We thought we would like a first floor room as the view to the hills would have been good but none were available, ground floor was great.”
SoniaI574, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Go for the top floor, great views”
PieterS90, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$77* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$78
Travelocity$78
Expedia.com$78
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates