We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa

Save
Share
Camino de los Bueyes, Nimboja #2 Masaya, Masatepe 42600 Nicaragua
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$136
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$159
Priceline
eDreams$136
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (483)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (58)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Updated 04/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
GreenLeaders Silver level
Discover a green mountainside paradise in beautiful, sun-kissed Nicaragua. "Hacienda Puerta del Cielo Ecolodge & Spa" borders a protected national rainforest, teeming with colorful flora and fauna. Imagine yourself relaxing in a tropical pool overlooking a peaceful lagoon or meditating in a breezy hammock on your own private veranda. Explore the natural environment of our exclusive -adults only- boutique hotel and enjoy Ecotourism in luxury!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
437Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 397
  • 24
  • 7
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
kzilbauer wrote a review Jan 2021
Managua, Nicaragua160 contributions54 helpful votes
We went over New Year weekend and had a perfect time. Stayed in Casa Linda, which has the best view, I think. Service was excellent. The food was a read surprise -- more variety than I thought they might have, given the remote location, but fantastically prepared! Not a place for adventure, but perfect for relaxing and unwinding. One word of caution, use the map provided on the website to get there. Both Google and Waze have an "optimistic" view of the various routes you can take to get to the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Carlos Espinoza, Director General at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Thank you very much for visiting the Hacienda! We are glad you had a good time! Our whole team thanks you for coming!
Read more
Virginia S wrote a review Jan 2020
Genoa, Italy2 contributions
This place slows your heart beat right down and fills it with beautiful vistas, good (and abundant!) food and comfort. On top of that we were welcomed by the kindest people. Carlos and the other guys went above and beyond to make our stay special, including rescuing us when we got our car stuck on a difficult road (make sure you ask for the best way to go to and from the hacienda by car!). The owner Don Juan is the most charismatic host, he really makes you feel at home and welcomed, has a ton of life experience to share, great hospitality and warmth. We were sad to go away and hope to be back, hopefully with friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sally M wrote a review Jan 2020
43 contributions61 helpful votes
There's a lot to like about this place, but I think it might do better to market itself differently in order to meet expectations. First the good: the setting is quite nice, and unlike many spots in Nicaragua it was clearly built for the view, which encompasses Masaya volcano and the lagoon that's below. Service was attentive and friendly the entire time - they were certainly paying attention and doing what they could to make sure we had a good time. Everything was clean and pleasant. The staff really is bilingual, and it's overall a nice place to spend a quiet evening. That said, it seems as though it markets itself as an upscale, private, once-in-a-lifetime destination. It's possible that it was closer to this before the crisis began, but now it seems more suited for midrange family fun for one night than a boutique, multi-day experience. The website says no children allowed outside a short summer season; there were children of all ages everywhere when we went in January. I like kids just fine, but it's different soaking in an infinity pool meditating on the views vs getting splashed as a bunch of kids cannon balling and chasing each other and frolicking through the small pool. The website says it's open to guests only, but now they (understandably. given the economic situation, but still should be updated) solicit day guests to come use the pool and facilities alongside the overnighters. I hate to harp on the pool, but it's really the only activity, and it's advertised as having a swim up bar but the bar is totally abandoned. The cabins are fine and comfortable, but they're more rustic than upscale. Views are blocked by foliage and architecture, and they're all very close to one another so if you happen to have a neighbor, you'll hear all the doors opening and closing and comings and goings. The food was fine given that it was included in the price, but I would much rather cook for myself - steak was much tougher than what you'd find at any decent roadside stop, coffee was instant and cold, and overall it was worse than what you'd receive in an average Nicaraguan restaurant. I do want to point out that my review would be much different if the place were significantly cheaper and marketed itself as a rustic getaway, vs. a $300/night, once-in-a-lifetime experience (again, it does seem as though the service was more targeted towards the upscale audience, just not the facilities). I really like going to places like this and they and absolutely have their place; they just need to be honest with their clientele about what to expect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Alexander P wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom931 contributions299 helpful votes
The place is small and beautiful, built very well out of good natural materials. The food is simple (chicken, etc) but done very well, tamales at lunch on Saturday were amazing. The attitude of staff was curios. Getting hot water to work required multiple reminders and 40 minutes to solve. You need to specifically ask for it every time you want to use it. The first day the staff refused to clean our room, remarkable as we were the only guests staying. A scorpion climbed into un unmade bed and bit one of us in the middle of the night, which was unpleasant. It took us a while to find the offending creature, hidden in a blanket. Later during the stay a sensible English-speaking manager arrived and things worked better. When driving from airport you need to go to Masatepe and all the way until the end of the road, ignore google maps.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Valery wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
I stayed here with my friends and we all loved this place, amazing view, excellent facilities and the staff was very gentle and very helpful, im planning to come back for my next vacations, amazing!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HdaMgmnt, Gerente at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Thank you for your kind words and we are Happy you had a great time at the Hacienda! Hope to see you again .
Read more
Dpolla wrote a review Dec 2019
New York City, New York2 contributions
We traveled in Nicaragua for two weeks and decided to end our trip in a luxurious resort. The Hacienda was everything we imagined and more. Even before we arrived, the owner JC called and messaged to confirm our flight information and make sure we had everything we needed for our arrival. We were picked up from the airport by Oscar right on time and we arrived to the beautiful Hacienda grounds. We were welcomed by Carlos with a DELICIOUS drink and our room - the Linda honeymoon suite - was perfect. We also took a tour with Oscar to the nearby artisan market in Masaya and then to the active Masaya volcano. Oscar was great and he took care of everything. In the Hacienda, Carlos took care of all our needs and beyond. Carlos is one of the nicest people we met on our trip in a country of incredibly kind people. We stayed in many locations around Nicaragua and the Hacienda was simply the best. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HdaMgmnt, Gerente at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Thank you Dan! We really appreciate your comments regarding the service, food, drinks and our exclusive Casitas! We would like to thank you for coming to the Hacienda and enjoy the need of the year party! It was great to talk to you!
Read more
ShellElizabeth1 wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
Me and my husband have been to Puerta Del Cielo twice and both times have been absolutely perfect. Everything has been incredible, the view, the staff, the pool, the food. It is so peaceful here and it feels like you have your own little piece of paradise. The staff are so friendly and accommodating and have gone out of their way to make sure we are comfortable and have everything we need. The property is beautiful and everything is clean and well taken care of. This place is amazing and we definitely recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HdaMgmnt, Gerente at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Dec 24, 2019
Thank you Michelle for coming once more to the Hacienda! We are glad you have enjoyed your stay on both occasions! The whole team appreciates your kind words!
Read more
Marie G wrote a review Jul 2019
Land O Lakes, Florida14 contributions
+1
I don't know where to begin because our stay at Hacienda Puerta del Cielo far exceeded our expectations. We arrived at night and in the morning I woke up to a Vista of beautiful mountains surrounding us. I loved the fact that the Hacienda is remote providing peaceful and quiet enjoyment. We traveled with our two kids who also enjoyed the pool and "Tommy" the resident dog. Our Casita was clean and extremely comfortable. So often I am disappointed by the quality of bedding and pillows so I was pleasantly surprised to find soft fluffy pillows and sheets and blankets of high quality. The staff was amazing and made sure all of our needs were being met. They also cooked homemade meals three times per day at no extra cost. The Hacienda itself is beautiful with a pool and hammocks. Although the owner, JC, was not on the premises during the time of our visit, he called and/or texted me every day to make sure we were being taken care of. Honestly, the level of care we received far exceeded our expectations. We look forward to returning to the Hacienda soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from jcespinosa, Manager at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Oct 29, 2019
Dear Marie: I had posted a response to your review but somehow it did not get published! Again, thank you very much for visiting our little piece of Paradise and for your kind words! Hope to see your family again if you return to Nicaragua in the future!
Read more
William G wrote a review Jun 2019
Grand Rapids, Michigan44 contributions51 helpful votes
This place defies description, and I don't know where to start! The absolute only drawback was getting through the dirt road that leads to the entrance. Thankfully it was not mud when I went, so my small rental car made it, but I would think in the rainy season one may need a bigger car or SUV to access the hotel, which is set back way off the main road (a huge plus!). Once inside the "Puerto del Cielo", you really will think you've been welcomed by San Pedro himself! Unbelievably beautiful views of the Masaya Lake and Masaya Volcano in the distance, this hotel is an all-inclusive, with three excellent meals provided per day. The room I had was gorgeous, with a breath-taking view looking out at the above-mentioned natural parks. All pictures I'm including are taken from the room, which has large, ceiling length windows on three sides. The huge king bed was very comfortable, and the shower gave excellent hot water. The shower is rustic in the sense that its walls are of stone, but this just adds to the charm. Everything about this place is spotlessly clean, and the security is very good. I felt safe at all times. Awakened by the chorus of birds and monkeys outside was a special treat. The manager on duty and his helpers, as well as the kitchen staff, were very friendly and gave us good advice as to where to go sight-seeing. I actually was in Nicaragua on business with a colleague, but we are already making plans to return with my family, since the hotel has a beautiful pool, pool bar, and scenery that will make you not want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the lake and volcano.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HdaMgmnt, Gerente at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Jun 28, 2019
Dear William: Thank you for visiting Hacienda Puerta del Cielo and your kind words. I am glad that the team took good care of you and hope that you will visit us again with your family! Please contact me directly if you decide to visit us again!
Read more
Aideline A wrote a review Jun 2019
Miami, Florida48 contributions6 helpful votes
This Hotel didn’t exist, we drive for more than one hour for an deadly road with no access in the middle of nowhere, our car was stuck on the road with tree roots and no access, we try to call the hotel nobody answered the phone, please be very carful before waste your time and money with this place that doesn’t exit. All pictures are fase.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HdaMgmnt, Manager at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Responded Jun 26, 2019
Dear Guest: We are sorry that you got lost trying to get to our Hotel. As you know, I made every effort to contact you and the other couple on your group the next morning. You had made reservations on April 10th, 2019. On April 11th, we sent you and your fiends, a welcome letter with information about our Hotel and we did not get an answer. In that letter, we ask you to please contact us before arrival for detail information about how to get to our Hacienda. Although we are located off the beaten pass, our road (1km of all weather un paved road) is transitable year round, used everyday by delivery people and guest alike. The road the night of your arrival was transitable since our vehicles came a went all day long with guest and staff in our vehicles. The staff waited until 1:00 am for you and you friends and we did not get any calls from you. You did tell me on your first note that you did not call because you did not had a signal on your cel phones. I personally check the phones listed on our web site and Expedia and there were not calls from anyone. I first found out that you had a problem when I received you comment from Expedia where you said that we (our Hotel) do not exist! We have been opened for almost 10 years and received Tripadvisor’s Traveler Choice Award for the last 7 years in a row. When you finally answer my messages, I offered to add the night you lost at no extra cost to you and you friends. You told me that you have already made other plans. It is obvious that you were still upset given that you got lost. I then offered you to send a vehicle to bring you to the Hacienda and you did not respond. Finally I asked you to please reconsider and to come to the Hacienda since I know that you would have enjoyed your stay. You did not answered. We are a small boutique Hotel with only a capacity for 10 couples at the time. The reservation you made was not refundable and I stated that fact to you. Your reaction was to let me know that you will be posting that you will bad reviews (such as this one). I will not even ask Tripadvisor to remove your comments (even though I have proof of all of our conversations) so that everyone can read it and read my explanations of the facts. Since you are going back to the US maybe you could give your friends in Nicaragua a gift... the nights that you did not used. We will be glad to attend to them since we did not had the opportunity to wait on you and your friends. If incline to do so, please contact me.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hacienda puerta del cielo eco hotel masatepe
LOCATION
NicaraguaMasaya DepartmentMasatepe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Nearby attractions include Masaya Volcano National Park (3.9 miles), Laguna de Apoyo (4.5 miles), and Mirador de Catarina (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Nani Cafe, La Cazuela de Don Nacho, and Kaffe Cafe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting El Coyotepe Fortress (4.1 miles) and Mercado de Artesanías de Masaya (2.9 miles).
Does Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.