TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel

TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel

Traveler (3596)
Panorama at the AlSol Tiara Collection Cap Cana
360
Panoramas (21)
TRS Cap Cana Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, Jun 2
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$373
Fully refundable before Fri, Jun 7
Breakfast included
$304
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 10 hotels in Cap Cana
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Aerobics
Free shuttle or taxi services
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

Boulevard Fishing Lodge, Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Punta Cana Airport
La Romana Airport
34.9 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,481 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel offers a vibrant atmosphere that is a hit with guests looking for lively music and entertainment, although a few yearn for a more serene experience. While the resort's cleanliness generally receives high marks, some guests have pointed out room for improvement. Opinions on service are divided; accolades are given for attentiveness, yet there are mentions of occasional slow response times. The amenities, including the popular swim-up rooms, are well-liked, but not without noted service inconsistencies. The hotel's secluded location is cherished by many, despite some transportation challenges, and while the rooms are often seen as comfortable and tidy, inconsistencies are reported. However, several travelers feel the resort does not provide value for money, pointing to steep prices that do not always align with the level of service and amenities provided.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,481Reviews629Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,741
  • 372
  • 161
  • 106
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff M wrote a review Sep 2023
Springfield, Missouri107 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Short Summary:
We just made our third visit in a row in three years. This is an amazing small resort with staff that will treat you like family. You will have a butler who is there to make sure you maximize your enjoyment, so don’t be shy about telling them exactly what you want or need. They are there to deliver and will. While there isn’t much of a beach on property, Juanillo beach is a 10-minute free shuttle away. The pools in the DR close around 6PM. Get a swim up room so you can swim any time you want 24/7.

Detailed Summary:
We had a wonderful time at TRS Cap Cana again this year! There is so much great, but as a TripAdvisor reviewer, I do have to share the not so great as well, so let me start with a few "cons", which are far outweighed by the Pros, and why we’ve gone three years in a row!

CONS:
As noted, there is not really a beach that you might expect, however, Jaunillo Beach (free) will scratch that itch and is amazing, so I wouldn't let this be a huge negative. TRS Cap Cana shuttles guests and a butler there free along with sunscreen, towels, beverages, chairs and umbrellas. There are a few restaurants, typically with two open a night. We really loved the food, though. And the poolside grill is amazing! There is no lunch or dinner buffet, which is nice to have if you want to try a little of this and that. This is a very relaxed resort. At breakfast there is a buffet along with menu options. There are activities if you choose to participate, and there is music and such all day at the pool, but this is not a constant party atmosphere. We see that as a positive, others see that as a negative. One last thing, the free wi-fi leaves a lot to be desired, but it does work. It was not good enough to stream this year, if that’s your thing.

PROS:
Now for all the greatness! You'll have a personal butler assigned to you, ours was Maria this year. You will want to have WhatsApp (they can help set it up) and your butler will get you anything you want or need. Don’t be shy and do get your Whatsapp set up right away so you can get any questions answered quickly. Maria set us up with a special Birthday dinner for my wife and decorated our room for us on our last night. She also arranged an amazing anniversary dinner as well. Ramon was our server that night, and it was amazing. We’ve known him for 3 years now. More on Ramon later.
For our room, we liked to meet our fridge stocker, this year it was Wilson. We would leave a note with that we wanted to drink and snacks with a daily tip, and he took great care of us.

I can't even begin to tell you how much the Animation Team (activities) made this trip incredible every day and night. They added a Saturday foam party this year, which was very engaging for all! Everyone had a blast! Charly and Francisco are the best and can almost always be found by the pool during the day, and in the lobby area at night! John the DJ just LOVES making people happy. They are so fun, full of energy and attentive to making sure you are having a great time. Get to know them and ask about the activities! (Hint, there are alcohol prizes) When they are playing music, don't be afraid to request music, and when you do, there's a good chance they will remember it and play those songs when they see you! Haha Thank you Charly, Francisco and John, you guys have become friends, and we miss you!

Herick and Bilmary really took great care of everyone at the pool bar. They were constantly engaging everyone and keeping the spirits coming! Must keep people hydrated!

The food was very good, and while there are only a few physical restaurants, they do rotate the menu. They are very allergy conscious as well and will ask before each meal. The servers were always attentive and just want to make sure you’re well taken care of. We have grown to know Juan Luis over our three years, and we were so thrilled to see him. He made sure to take special care of us every time we saw him. Gregory and Braily were amazing as well! Edwin never served us, but I had to mention that he was always smiling and welcoming, even if we were not one of his tables. He’s going places. Domingo was such a great guy and made my wife’s birthday a very special night. Luis Paralta did a great job taking care of us when we decided to just get room service! Alexander grills up the best food poolside, don't skip it, it's very, very good!

Now back to Ramon. We have also grown to know Ramon over our last 3 years. He took care of our anniversary dinner the last two years. This year, Ramon asked if he could do something special for us on our last night. He created a very romantic secluded setting and served us a very delicious meal!

Luis Paralta did a great job taking care of us when we decided to just get room service! Anabelis was our lovely coffee shop server and made us wonderful lemonade teas almost every day! Alexander was our guy at the grill! He not only makes great food, but he learned what my wife liked, and offered it up whenever he saw us at the pool! Yudelka and Joanna took great care of us at the Aurum bar.

The people made TRS Cap Cana amazing, we can't thank them enough. We tried to consistently tip everyone who was serving us, because they work hard to make sure we were doing great. The size of the resort really plays into this. It's not a big resort, so there aren't TONS of guests, so you will get to know all the staff, and benefit from their increased ability to be attentive.

Bonus Tips:
--Determine what soda and snacks you like and ask for that in your room daily.
--If your room is freezing, make sure you check to see if the thermostat is on auto instead of on, you can easily control room temp if you take a moment to figure it out.
--In the Bars part of your app, you can find drink menus, which will help you communicate what you are wanting.
--They may try to clean the rooms with you in them, don't forget to put your sign out and request it when you're out of the room.
--The pool closes at 7PM, if you want to swim at night, get a swim up!
--Ask about Jaunillo beach if it’s not explained to you, you’ll want to hit that up to enjoy a nice ocean view day!
--If you're new to all inclusive, make sure and read up on what is included so you can make sure you get the full experience! Always ask for anything you want or need, they may not proactively do it, but they provided everything we asked for!
--People always ask about excursions. We’ve gone on the same excursion four times because it’s a blast, the food is awesome, the staff is amazing and it’s just a great value. We snorkel, get a great meal, get great views on the ocean, stop on the shore to get a coconut cut open into a rum drink, and then to a natural pool for drinks or more snorkeling. They take pictures of it all and post on Facebook for free! Hispaniola Aquatic Adventures – Semi-Private Tour.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: See bonus tips in my review!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Héctor De León, Guest Services / Front Office at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Sep 24, 2023
Dear Guest!!! Thank you very much for sharing your experience at TRS Cap Cana, hoping you had an excellent trip back home for our team it has been an absolute pleasure to take care of you. We are very pleased to have exceeded your expectations and truly appreciate the opportunity you have given us to host your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and providing you with the best experience as you deserve, we really appreciate your visit. Cordially.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon K wrote a review Mar 2020
North Bay, Canada9 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to the Dominican and we were not disappointed! We found this property online and based on the reviews had our travel agent Jane, at Laking & Rhoades set us up with Air Transat. Flight was good and pretty close to being on schedule despite the weather out of Toronto. We had shuttle from the airport, about a 10 minute ride, they offered cold beer, but it was not free....with a smile it was 4.00 after opening it! From the airport to the resort we only experienced super friendly, helpful people all with a great sense of humour! Mariano was our butler, due to the fact we really didn’t need much, we didn’t have a lot of contact, but when we needed an extra chair and water it was in our room in minutes! This is a large property for 115 rooms, tons of chairs and pool space, never felt crowded or busy. Room service for breakfast was great, would suggest going out for supper though as menu selection is small for room service dinner. A very relaxed atmosphere, no makeup or fancy outfits required, unless you want to! Food was excellent, servers serve like a high end restaurant but their personality makes you feel like you are in a neighborhood pub. Entertainment crew are fun high energy, we didn’t participate but it was fun to watch. Room has steamer, shampoo, conditioner and body wash. We did not have any sunscreen or toothpaste, which we normally have at Secrets Resorts. We used bottled water to brush our teeth and didn’t experience any stomach problems the whole week. We were here Feb 27th to March 5th, they say this is their slow season but it was perfect for us. There is a nice pier to walk down to the town square, not much open without a cruise ship docked, but is a really nice walk as the beach here is small, but we prefer having our swim out room, just want to be able to see the water! As others have mentioned they will take you to a great beach, but we were very content to hang at the resort. We were in block 1 away from the pools but liked the quiet and did have a server come around through the day. We had sun from about 10 am to sundown. Maid service is a different time every day! Some days in the morning, today not till 4:30, Ana took good care of us, and Mariano came down to our room yesterday just to make sure we were happy! Highly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing holiday with a fun caring staff great food, and no kids! We will be back, thanks for the great memories!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRSCapCanaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Sharon, Receive warm greetings from Punta Cana. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your host during your recent stay in our beautiful country and for your fabulous review. We are happy to know that you had a great time, and that we could exceed your expectations, especially with our friendly & helpful service. Again we thank you for your pleasant opinion of our hotel and hope that we will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future. Sunny regards, Nessatiel Moreno Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
dplewis1990 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros - smaller size resort, close to the airport (10 minutes), very friendly staff, especially servers at the restaurants. Grounds are clean and well kept up compared to the bigger resorts, music at the pool just loud enough, cabanas poolside are a nice touch if you can reserve one early enough (bring your own towels to put down in the am to reserve, their towels don't come out until later am), food quality was great, especially the steak house and the japanese restaurant. Pool excersize was different every day. Room amenities were par with other resorts, shower was nice with the rain shower head. We have vacationed DR before and would definately recommend this resort

Cons - Houskeeping service in building 1 was always after 5-6 pm and on one day they never came. Suggest they rotate where they start their service so one building isn't always last. No beach to speak of, and we rarely saw our butler, except when we tried to find him to get some housekeeping service. Building 1 is out of the way and even with the swim up option you have no view. Dont do the breakfast buffet, not a good selection, choose the a la carte option where you order from the menu.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Avoid building 1 if you can, other buildings had better views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRSCapCanaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Feb 15, 2020
Dear dplewis1990, We would like to thank you very much for your particularly pleasant and helpful review of your recent stay with us. Of course, we will also gladly investigate the areas of concern you raise in your review as it is through constant dialogue with our guests we can always be made aware of their particular wishes and preferences and thus ensure their well-being and satisfaction whilst staying at our hotel in the future. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel and we will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Best Regards, Nessatiel Moreno Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexa H wrote a review Mar 2020
Coplay3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we first got there it was beautiful it was a long wait to get in our room. They told us check in was 3 PM and we got there at about 215 and had to wait until 305 to get into our room.They have no beach available and only one pool guy working the pool guy rissel had a phenomenal service but he was overworked. The one day we were there the pool guy to work the bar Rissel had about 20 to 25 people waiting for drinks and he was the only one working it was about 430 and mind you it closes at six they cut off the music and claimed it was going to rain went to dinner and actually told people to go to the room to shower and get ready for some show they wanted us to see. Instead of providing music for their guests who are having a good time they just cut it off. Overall service was about a four. This was in no fault of the workers because they can only help so many people. If you are looking for a nice beach do not stay here they actually shuttle you to another beach. You would think they would have multiple people working at the pool bar since they have no beach but they did not they were not prepared. Also the food was terrible we ate chicken fingers and cheeseburgers they had no real authentic Dominican food. When we checked out it was a real issue and when we checked out the gentleman at the front desk Alex actually said to us That we only spent $170 there and most hotels we will spend a lot more even though it is an all inclusive. We actually spent over $100 in tips for the workers and 300 hundred on excursion so in all reality we spent well over $500 on everything. For him to say we only spent $170 because we didn’t fall for the massages the pictures and everything else they try to upsell you on it was very rude. I would not recommend his hotel if I had to do it over I would’ve chose secrets or Majestic. The best part about this hotel was the pool bar guy Rissel Because he was very accommodating and helpful and had the best service out of everyone there. Also if your looking for nightlife there is nothing here and only two bars open until 11 this place is for people over 70.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRSCapCanaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear 936alexah, Thanks for your review. We thank you for choosing TRS Cap Cana as your holiday destination and letting us know about your experience. I would like to clarify that check-in time is announced at 3:00pm but it is always subject to availability as the late check-out procedure. However, guests can enjoy the facilities and services from the property since the first minute. I regret to learn that you perceived our front desk services as rude. Actually, we are trying to comply with our guests’ wishes to receive a fast check-in, however we will take good note of your observation. We can assure you that we have taken note of those points that were not of your complete pleasure. We remain at your disposal. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity to welcome you and change your perception of our resort offering you the outstanding experience you expect and deserve. Best regards, Nessatiel Moreno Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antonio E wrote a review May 2021
12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to this resort and it was very very nice the treatment was amazing people were very polite and friendly Javier our Butler have yet was exceptional always on point 24/7 I give him a lot of props because I do not know when he has a chance to rest the place is really nice Jose the bag keeper very friendly person very friendly guy easy to talk to in general everybody was amazing in regards to the place the place is very nice very neat it lacks on some drinks and bars and the beach is not something that you will enjoy much as it is very small but they do take you to a nicer Beach for free they give you vouchers to eat beware they are not free they will charge you at the end $15 per voucher in the menu is very limited for the voucher you will be able to order more stuff on the restaurant menu.
I guess there was so much algae the smell of all you was overwhelmed all over the resort only we had a great time it's very quiet it's very relaxing FYI this is not a party resort you will not come here to go crazy and have crazy parties where you will not remember stuff. Overall I give this resort personally five stars for the staff but only 4 for lacking. .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luis Torre, General Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded May 18, 2021
First of all, we would like to thank you by choosing us as your holidays destination. We strive to create memorable experiences and we are so glad bear out that through an excellent service provided by our staff, we have surpassed all your expectations. Thank you one more time and we hope to have the pleasure in hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosa wrote a review Apr 2021
Clifton, New Jersey13 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just got back from staying at the TRS Cap Cana for 7 nights and I have to say that the service was AMAZING. Bayron was our butler and he really made our stay run smooth and perfect. He was always available and provided us with everything that we needed and requested. Upon arriving Joel gave us a warm welcome giving us the details of our suite and stay. He was so helpful in getting us transportation to go out of the resort for cash and other unexpected needs that we had. Hands down on the hostess and servers that honestly go above and beyond to make you feel special, like family by greeting you by your name, and paying attention to details on personal preferences for drinks, seating, etc. The bartender Francis was awesome with his hospitality and expertise in making coffee and alcoholics drinks! Adonis, Sandy, Jairo, and Jamsy were great! Sabrina was such a sweet and attentive hostess . The resort was beautiful and perfect for a getaway from the city noise and kids!! The phone app helped us stay informed of daily activities, restaurant information, and much more. My husband and I had a 1-hour massage at Zentropia and their facility (sauna, hot/cold tubs, and pool) was so relaxing and renewing. Due to its location we had to get transported to the TRS Turquesa resort and another resort to enjoy the beach because their beach is really small, but their pools and pool area are nice with a good amount of comfortable seating and lounging. I really appreciate their flexibility in providing the transportation to other beaches. The resort and suite was very clean (I'm so meticulous with this!!) They strictly follow the CDC guidelines with sanitizing, temperature taking, and etc. Bayron set up our Covid test 3 days prior to our departure, which was beautiful because we didn't have to worry about that either. ¡GRACIAS AMIGOS! I hope to return in the near future!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Look out for the resort email a few days prior to your stay to reserve your transportation to and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luis Torre, General Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Apr 28, 2021
Thank you for your positive review and score and we are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our hospitality. We would like to express our gratitude to you for mentioning "how we care" our latest health and hygiene measures that we have implemented in all of our establishments to keep everyone safe and at the same time doing our utmost to guarantee that our guests enjoy their well deserved holiday, we are thrilled that this was the case for you. Again we thank you for sharing this wonderful review of our hotel and we hope that we will be able to serve you again in the not too distant future and wish you all the best. Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela V wrote a review Mar 2020
Coconut Creek, Florida88 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently wrote a review which I deleted about this hotel. After being here for 6 days now, what was lacking in a true 4-5 star hotel for me was the ambiance of other hotels I have stayed at.

From our butler to the management of this hotel including the restaurant staff they go over and above to make sure your stay is memorable.

This a small boutique hotel and at first I was not sure what to expect, however as the week went on my husband and I decided we loved the quiet, the idea that you get to know everyone from the workers to the guests.

Th food has far exceeded my expectations, Helio’s, El Gaucho and Izakaya have all been great.

If you do decide to come here it is a small hotel with only 3 restaurants and I believe only 112 rooms. It is not in the heart of Punta Cana it is about 15 minutes from the airport. It is right next door to a fishing village which had some very nice restaurants that you can walk to.

They take you by bus for only $40.00 per couple to their other hotel which has a cabaret and a restaurant called Chic Cabaret. It is a MUST, the show was fabulous.

If you are looking for marble floors and a fancy lobby bar this is not the place for you. But, if you are looking for great service, I would recommend this hotel very much.

I have been to this country 37 times and I was very impressed after 6 nights. I was here for rest and relaxation and it was perfect for me.

Please make this your next destination.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRSCapCanaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear Angela, Allow us to thank you for the time you spent writing this wonderful review of TRS Cap Cana. It warms our hearts to read that we have surpassed your expectations and that you went home more than satisfied with your experience. Comments like yours motivate us to continue the hard work in order to obtain great results. We look forward to having you back soon. Best regards, Nessatiel Moreno Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're under 50 years old do not go here this is an anniversary resort for older people who stay in their room the entire time. The second you get out of the car the seaweed, salt water smell hits you in the face and its absolutely disgusting. Because of the hurricane there one of the restaurants isn't open (the one on the beach). Pools close at 7pm and bar is open until 1am. If you don't speak Spanish you wont be able to communicate with anyone. The "beach" is the size of your room and is extremely dirty and does not get cleaned. The beach advertised is not the one that is at this hotel. I did not see anyone go into the beach once in my entire 9 day stay. The food is hit or miss, sometimes its inedible and other times its amazing. DO NOT go to Tex-Mex it was disgusting. Portion sizes are extremely small which is fine but when you order multiple plates to try different things you're told you are ordering "excessively". The staff is extremely unprofessional and are almost never at their post. Room service gets mad when you order at 2am-3am even though they offer 24h room service. The women that clean the rooms come in without even knocking at 9am even after being repeatedly told to come after 1pm to clean. Booked a club night for $125 CA with transfer to and from and did not receive either. After complaining multiple times and being told they're "not paying for anything" they finally returned the money for the transfer. You can't order more than a 6 pack of beer to your room and they give you the small mini cans. It seems they have one speaker for the entire hotel because they take the music from the pool and put it in the restaurants every day. Everything is extremely overpriced especially if you're coming from Canada since the currency that they use for all excursions is in American. The only good this in this hotel was our butler Maria, the entertainer Francisco, and Miguel at the bar. Other than that everything else was horrible. Overall, DO NOT GO HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Héctor De León, Guest Services / Front Office at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Nov 7, 2022
Dear Lauren, Our TRS family is always working diligently to meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests, within the services, the personalized treatment of our teams and full access to our hotel. On behalf of the TRS Cap Cana family we apologize for the inconveniences that occurred with your recent stay, we also ask you to give us the opportunity to give a better and privileged treatment in a next visit, demonstrating how committed we are to your safety and satisfaction with a friendly and personalized treatment. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abigail Fenner wrote a review Jan 2022
Liverpool3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived TRS and were impressed with the grounds as soon as we hit the cap cana gates.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating on our arrival.
We were assigned Shadai as our butler and he was amazing at booking all of our restaurant reservations and sorting our night at chic cabaret. Shadai went above and beyond during our trip and checked in with us everyday. Thank you Shadai!
During the day there is always activities going on from spin classes in the pool to darts, golf, pool etc. Fransisco and John are just entertainment themselves, always happy and always dancing away. The happiness of the staff is genuinely lovely to see l and is infectious on the guests.
We must say a huge thank you to Miguel who always knew our drink order everyday and brought it to us without us having to ask. It is the little touches like that which make the hotel a 5 star.
There is a variety of restaurants you can visit during your stay, we never got fed up of the food and enjoyed everything that we ate. So many reviews stating the food was just ‘ok’ or ‘bad’ we never understood this as the food is really high quality and better than any other all inclusive hotel we have stayed at. Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Mediterranean, Dominican etc. None of the repetitive buffets. All a la carte, even breakfast has the a la carte option. Order as much as you like from the menu! The option to also have food at the snack bar during the day is a nice touch! Burgers, sausage, chicken wings etc. Nice if you do not fancy a sit down lunch and want to get back to your lounger.
The hotel waiters were all so polite and went out of there way to ensure you are happy. Jose specifically always served us and made us feel very at home. Also a huge thanks to Joanna and the staff at the aurum bar. There is to many people to thank as all of the staff have been amazing! Making our honeymoon even more special. So thank you to you all!
The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and very clean, they keep everyone safe with simple covid rules such as gloves when using the buffet breakfast option, sanitise on entering, masks on indoor areas. Room was lovely and really clean, always fresh towels, minibar restocked everyday and all complementary.

We have no complaints about our stay and would 100% return in the future, this was our first time in the Dominican and it has left a lasting impression because of our stay at TRS Cap Cana.
If we are to recommend anything it would 100% be the trip to Chic Cabaret $35 per person but the show is incredible as well as the food. So many high quality courses and all drinks/ shots included throughout the show which is from 8-11pm. The hotel take you to the sister hotel and pick you back up, all really smooth and our best night here by far!

Thank you to everyone at TRS Cap Cana. We had an amazing honeymoon with you all!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Napoleon Luzardo, Other at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded Jan 17, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience at TRS Cap Cana Hotel and contributing to the constant improvement of our service. We are pleased to confirm that your stay with us has been completely satisfactory and that you have taken home a beautiful memory. We work every day to turn customers into fans. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at TRS Cap Cana Hotel. Warmest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M M wrote a review May 2021
Winter Springs, Florida2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited for our honeymoon. We were promised a room upgrade, fruit basket, champagne and resort credit being honeymooners but none of that happened, as well as the hotel attempted to board us in a room with two double beds. We were nearly daily asked to do something extra/pay more for "special" dinners when we had already spent thousands to be there. We were disappointed by the restaurants not all being open daily and being essentially forced to eat where they had open. Also the cabaret is not even at this location and we were told it was permanently closed.. we were not wowed by much/any of the food. We were disappointed by lack of service while at the pool, vs someone coming around to ask if you needed another drink or food. We attempted giving extra tips to see if this altered the service we received, it did not. We were confused by items being different day to day depending on who you order it from. The beach was much smaller than we thought, maybe half a football field. The pools were nice, large and clean. There are ample day beds and longer chairs available. The facility was clean. Service was very friendly, but often time slow. This trip did not feel special at all for us and we are disappointed we spent over what we were wanting to, thinking this place really was worth the reviews it received. I hope my review helps others to be more cautious. Also be wary of them wanting you to visit their other hotel, it is a sales pitch for a vacation package. We thankfully didn't spend the entire day of them selling but others did and I felt really terrible for those who wasted so much of their vacation on people trying to sell more vacations. We won't be return visitors and it makes me really sad that we could have spent the same money to have better service at/near our home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Luis Torre, General Manager at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Responded May 10, 2021
Dear Michelle, We are grateful for the length of your review, thank you for taking part of your valuable time to send us your thoughts. We have carefully read each line of written text and we want you to know that both the positive and negative aspects are taken into account by our management team, since the positive ones help us to motivate ourselves and keep them under control and thanks to the negatives we can feed our short and medium term action plans aimed at improving our product and our people's performance overall, thus contributing with the experiences of our guests. We sincerely regret that we did not exceed your expectations as we often do with TRS visitors. We dream of the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in our beloved Punta Cana aiming to go beyond your expectations. I remain at your disposal, Luis Torre General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bbgamer asked a question Mar 2024
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania7,503 contributions257 helpful votes
I heard that lobster is no longer included unless you upgrade. 4 visits and always had lobster included
Answer from annoncapecod
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina16,456 contributions99 helpful votes
There is a surf & turf on the Helios menu that does not indicate a charge.
SimpleJo asked a question Feb 2024
Ottawa, Canada115 contributions76 helpful votes
Being by a marina, do you get the smell of gasoline from the boats?
Answer from sharonjrussum
Wilmington, Delaware1 contribution
I don’t recall smelling gas or exhaust.
Answer from DMDMaryland
Maryland42 contributions76 helpful votes
Lunch is served at 12:30 at Helios. There is a grill that serves burgers, wings, fries, nachos and there is a small bbq grill behind that area. That changes daily serving paella, lamb chops, chicken, pork etc. Don’t miss that…the chef is a grill master.
Answer from Rob T
New York City, New York4 contributions1 helpful vote
You can but it's quite far, I don't recall if they provide a shuttle... Chic show is approx $75 pp but I suggest you eat before you go because IMO the food is not all that good.
Answer from annoncapecod
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina16,456 contributions99 helpful votes
You might want to ask on the TRS Cap Cana Fans Facebook page. There are a lot of room descriptions there.
jeandinville wrote a tip Yesterday
Punta Gorda, Belize49 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need a cozy, relaxing and enjoyable vacation, TRS Cap Cana is the place to be."
Read full review
n long wrote a tip May 22
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay the The Level at Melia in Punta Cana instead. "
Read full review
Bren Da wrote a tip May 7
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Calm relaxing atmosphere, the food at times was a hit or miss."
Read full review
Sperringfamily wrote a tip May 7
Bristol, United Kingdom21 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mostique repellant- do take. Walk to marina approx 10 mins good to stretch your legs."
Read full review
Pat L wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hard pillows "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cap Cana area.
PRICE RANGE
$320 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta CanaCap Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRS CAP CANA WATERFRONT & MARINA HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Marina Cap Cana (0.2 miles), Casino Dominic Cap Cana (0.4 miles), and Versus Marina Cap Cana (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Yola Restaurant, Api Beach House, and Bohemian Tapas & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at TRS Cap Cana Waterfront & Marina Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Cap Cana HotelsCap Cana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cap Cana
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars