We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
22488 W Glenn Hwy Milepost 109.7 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8111
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (25)
Dining (10)
Family and Play Areas (2)

About

#4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Glacier View
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.6
We're a family owned and operated RV park, campground and full service restaurant located at the closest point between the Talkeetna and Chugach Mountain ranges and the base of the Sheep Mountain Dall Sheep Reserve. The Matanuska Glacier Area is a destination to include in your travel plans. Local activities include visiting the Matanuska Glacier (one of the only glaciers with easy access by car and foot), glacier treks, ice climbing, river rafting, wildlife viewing, bird watching, and simply enjoying the natural beauty of the surrounding mountains and glaciers. The location truly lives up to it's name. Looking for an adventure or that experience you'll never forget? Let us share our slice of heaven with you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese

Location

Full view
43Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 12
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Annabell O wrote a review Aug 3
California324 contributions52 helpful votes
This well-maintained RV park was a great overnight stopping point for us before going hiking on the Matanuska Glacier the next morning. Nice hiking trail with beautiful views right out of the RV park. The (clean) shower rooms could use some benches and/or hooks to set down clothes and toiletries. Sadly, the cafe was closed the night we stayed, or we would have loved to try it out. We enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jen P wrote a review Jul 2022
Lewisville, North Carolina12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We planned on staying one night but our truck broke down. Mark, the owner I believe, was so gracious to find us a spot to stay as he was booked up. It’s quiet and the views are gorgeous. They staff is wonderful as well. All so kind. They invited us to a bonfire and we made new friends. There are nice trails behind the park to hike too. I highly recommend this RV site.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mary W wrote a review Jul 2021
Denver, Colorado224 contributions125 helpful votes
This is a well maintained RV park with spacious sites. Friendly folks, a simple cafe. It was a pleasure to stay here out in the middle of this majestic scenery with few services. Our site had water and electricity. Dump station at the end of the property
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jen L wrote a review Jul 2020
Anchorage, Alaska23 contributions6 helpful votes
This was a nice, clean, quiet RV Park. Not a lot of activities, but there is a short, easy walk to see Matunuska glacier from afar, and that connects to a moderate trail that takes you above the park and great views of sheep filled mountains. I highly recommend this park as a place to stay if you there to go on some of the more advanced hikes to the glacier, or as a 1-2 nite stay on your way to Valdez or McCarthy. The staff are great, and the restaurant has great sandwiches and breakfast. We didn’t try the pizza, but heard from other campers it’s really good. Not every site has a fire ring, so if that’s important, pay for a deluxe spot. Not every site has full hookups but there is free dumping for guests.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: This is not a hotel. It’s an RV park. There is highway noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve S wrote a review Sep 2019
62 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent three nighte here in our RV. Very nice, clean little RV park. Spent the eveings watching the Dall Sheep on the ridgelines with ur frienbds, and hit their pizza restaurant, which was very good as well. highly recommend this little place....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Room Tip: RV park so no comment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nancy H wrote a review Sep 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota44 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed here on our way to and from Valdez. It is a very well kept rv park and it was a treat to have a cafe right on the premises as there aren’t many options in this remote location. It has beautiful mountain views. They offered all the amenities you could ask for......clean showers, laundry, hook ups, dump station and potable water......the employees and owners were very friendly and helpful. I’m not sure what some of these reviewers were looking for, but you couldn’t ask for a nicer rv park in a remote location like this. The restaurant offers dinners and breakfasts (not sure about lunch) and even coffee and chai lattes. I highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lisa W wrote a review Jul 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada98 contributions33 helpful votes
Great location, fantastic views. Staff is helpful, professional and friendly. I have a mixed review because, well, the food was miex. Great fresh salads, but the core of main courses were lacking. Its pretty clear the burgers are pre-made, frozen. We saw a fabulous pizza on a neighboring table, and decided to order the gluten fee option. Wow - don't order it, it is not at all fresh or similiar to the regular pizza - its as if you get punished for being gluten free, and really it was worse than a frozen toni's pizza. I make much better at home. Laundry - this is the height of the season yet two of the three washing machines in the laundry were out of order; glad I don't have much laundry to do. This has the potential of being a 5 star RV park & Cafe - but needs some elevation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen D, Owner at Grand View Cafe & RV Park
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Hello Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I am happy to see you liked the overall experience as far as our location, staff and level of friendliness and professionalism. We do our very best to provide what we feel are quality ingredients in our cafe, but please take into account that at our rural location, we must freeze food items because of our distance from a food supplier. We are known for our pizzas and like to provide a Gluten Free option, but the issue is that our kitchen is not Gluten Free. For that reason, we purchase Udi Brand GF Crusts. If you make a GF Crust from scratch, it must be used right away because of the alternative flours used, and so that is not an option in our situation. I am GF and like that they are thin crust and our servers say we get compliments on them from those happy to have an option and they thank us for providing that. Re: The washing machines...mechanical things break. We would be thrilled if they never broke, but they just do. We are located 2 hours from any parts supplier, and often we have to have parts shipped out to us that takes several days. They have been repaired since your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ackjac wrote a review Jun 2019
Nantucket46 contributions6 helpful votes
Well maintained, great views and super staff. Cafe pizza was good. Orville, Joe & Katida were an exceptional wait staff and very friendly. Sitting at the outside picnic table watching Dall Sheep on the mountain was a thill!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen D, Owner at Grand View Cafe & RV Park
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Thank you for your review. We hope if you are ever in the area again, you will stop by for a visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BRLKNV wrote a review Aug 2018
Incline Village, Nevada29 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed one night here before hiking the Matanuska Glacier the following day. Quiet, very clean and tidy throughout the camp, nice views, access to some easy hiking to the bluff, staff was friendly and they have great pizza 👍 pic is a view of the campground looking down from our hike above.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen D, Owner at Grand View Cafe & RV Park
Responded Aug 13, 2019
Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
922ravii wrote a review Jul 2018
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Unfortunately had very bad experience. The caretaker, owner perhaps, had little concern about what site they reserved and what they are actually allotting. We booked two sites No. 23 and 24 two days ago. and when we arrived, they say that the 23 is already given to someone else. They gave us 24 and 25. We chose our site very carefully and was confirmed to us. And then the occupant of the 23 is using our fire pit (which is 24), and the owner of the campground is totally unconcerned. Extremely irritating. We were planning our bonfire and thus everything ruined. The place is up for sale and thus explains the service levels. Extremely bad.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Colleen D, Owner at Grand View Cafe & RV Park
Responded Aug 13, 2019
We are sorry that you had a bad experience, as we work very hard to make sure that our guests have a memorable stay. It seems as though you may have selected your site preference online when booking, however we clearly state that no sites are guaranteed until the day of arrival. The reason for that is that the guests in site #23 checked in for a multi night stay, and we don't ask guests to move to accommodate a one night stay coming in. You were still given two sites together, and if there was an issue with the fire pit, we would not have been "unconcerned", but would have sent someone out to ask them to move. I would question if you were a late arrival and the other party assumed the site was empty for the evening. Please understand that there are many moving parts and pieces involved in operating our park and we do the best we can.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaGlacier View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand View Cafe & RV Park
What food & drink options are available at Grand View Cafe & RV Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Grand View Cafe & RV Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sheep Mountain Lodge, Grand View Cafe, and Grand View Cafe Campground & Cottages.
Is Grand View Cafe & RV Park located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Glacier View.
Are pets allowed at Grand View Cafe & RV Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand View Cafe & RV Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.