We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Choppington

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Choppington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Choppington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 18, 2015

We went out for our lunch at the swan .The food was lovely the service was good and a nice atmosphere Two of us had the chilli salmon which was lovely.A nice place to have a meal will go back again for the lovely food and service.

Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Myself and 5 friends plus 2 husband's came here for lunch today. We put the guys on a table by themselves as they had just "tagged along". None of us ladies are big eaters so we opted for the small roast of the day. One friend had been really poorly and couldn't eat a lot so I enquired if she...

1Thank Mary B
KirstyStevens1, Owner at The Swan at Choppington, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I am pleased to see that you and your friends enjoyed your food. I will try to address the other matters identified in your review. With regard to the coffees, you had made a 12.30pm booking, so we did advise you at 1.15pm that it might be an idea...

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Had a lunch here recently with some colleagues. The food was pretty awful, but nothing compared with the hosting. The "gentleman" behind the bar was rude and unpleasant, the waitress was surly, inefficient and just generally obnoxious. None of us expected anything more than basic "pub grub"..... but it wasn't even that. If in the area, I can only urge...

3Thank georgegoestoo
Cannington, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Stayed here for one night on our way home from Scotland to Somerset and I must say what a lovely big room we had. We had a double and single bungalow which was en suite, a decent size tv to watch if we so wished and the added bonus of the pub/restaurant next door. Would certainly stay here again if...

Thank Kym W
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Accommodation comprises six terraced bungalows next to the pub. Very spacious, with one twin and one single bed, sofa, TV, and ensuite with bath.VERY comfortable and more like a holiday chalet than a hotel room. The English Breakfast was substantial and tasty, and the evening meal we tried was delicious. Staff friendly and helpful. No hesitation in recommending, especially at...

Thank Lee C
Northumberland, England
Reviewed October 12, 2015

Totally lifeless in the restaurant and received very poor customer service. Only 2 other people in the bar and they couldn't do simple egg and chips because didn't know how to bill it!! Wouldn't have asked if full, but a simple task in an empty restaurant you would have thought. Waitress very unhelpful and quite abrupt. Would not return nor...

Thank LandS21
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Staying in hotels all week every week, I have to say this has some the best accommodation I have used. The rooms are enormous with excellent facilities. The restaurant in the adjacent pub provided a good menu and quality and service very good. The proprietor was very welcoming, and I have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone

Thank Alison N
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Great place to stay, ideal for touring the coast and alnwick area, rooms are 6 chalet style next to the pub with plenty of space in them large bathroom and comfortable beds, tasty food served in the pub bar or conservatory, friendly staff ,car can be parked outside your room which is handy.

Thank maddadCumbria
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

Cosy warm room and excellent food and drink. Landlord adjusted heating as I arrived cold. Try steak pie. Staff friendly and efficient. You can tell they enjoy working there. It's very popular with locals so if you book a room also book your preferred time for meal.

Thank Frank1384
Reviewed September 16, 2015

Kirsty, Chris and the staff do everything to make you welcome. We were given the key to room 5 and given directions of how to find it, just go outside and turn left and there the rooms are. We really liked the room with the big comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and T.V. too. Just unpacked a few...

Thank Strongbow110
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (19)
Room/Suite (9)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (7)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choppington
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
520 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
351 reviews
15.7 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan at Choppington is a quality assessed 3 star Inn offering great food, excellent service and comfortable en suite accommodation from a family with over 35 years experience in the hospitality trade. We are passionate about delivering a warm and personal welcome to all our guests. Our location provides excellent transport links to Newcastle, Gateshead, Alnwick and the Scottish borders, as we are less than 4 miles from the A1. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Choppington

Address: Station Bank, Choppington NE62 5TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Choppington
Price Range: $70 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Choppington 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan at Choppington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Choppington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Have no idea regarding rooms never stayed no need to. All ground floor rooms that I do know as it is more of a Motel.”
sarahms2015, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“I would think they are all the same.”
audreyesther, Aug 31, 2016 | Read review
“All at the rear of the building and seem much the same.”
Strongbow110, Sep 16, 2015 | Read review
“rooms very spacious, quiet and very good value for money”
857paulv, Aug 7, 2015 | Read review
“Take eye mask if you are a light sleeper”
nataliec602, Jul 26, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
$67* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates