We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dormy House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dormy House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided last minute to get away late in the day. We usually camp but all campsites and b&bs were booked up understandably. I saw a double room available and called the hotel direct. They were really helpful and gave us a discount as on the day last minute booking. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on... More 

Helpful?
Thank NVisick
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit the area yearly and always go to Dormy House for the carvery at least once during our stay. Disappointed then to find that this year, the midweek carvery has been replaced by an 'all you can eat' buffet. It was awful. The strangest selection of dishes none of which looked particularly appetising and tasted little better. I suppose... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura121
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Just for your information, the All you can eat Servery is only on Tuesday's and Thursday's. And on those day's we also offer our full Menu, so if you didn't like what you saw, you should have ordered from that. However we do get very good feed back from our regular customers. Guess we can't please everyone. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited restaurant with a group of six friends. Carvery meal was very good, as was the steak and vegetarian lasagne. Restaurant was spacious and clean, and the service was good. Very good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank 833helensp
Lncs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel room was clean, comfortable and well light. Food was good, standard hotel fare, but given the quality and quantity we felt it represented good value. (Though my wife thought her mango roulade was superb.) Breakfast however was excellent; good array of cereals and yogurts with a wonderful full English, cooked to order, and also an equally good smoked salmon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spacious restuarant comfortable table Excellent Carvery good selection of meats and veg Only used the restuarant but if accomadation is as good as the dining this is definatly the place to stay if you choose North Norfolk

Helpful?
Thank Mick B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We booked in for the carvery on a Sunday evening and chose to have the gammon and turkey options. Both meats were very nicely cooked, still moist and not dried out. There was a good choice of vegetables and all were in good condition - not dried out by being kept warm. We had a good choice of deserts as... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeterL40
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We first visited Dormy House Hotel 25 to 30 years ago when it was under the personal supervision of John and Jean Jarvis, and there were only a few rooms. Since that time it has gradually been enlarged, and – although it is still owned by the Jarvis family – the ‘personal touch’ has gone and it is now has... More 

Helpful?
Thank OllyLowestoft
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Visited for the carvery on a Saturday evening for the first time. Was very quiet and as such not many staff about. Restaurant was quiet for a Saturday, not much atmosphere. Opted for the carvery, though would like to try something from the main menu in future as it looked a good menu. Food was very good, though not exceptional.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

This was an overnight stay for us and my elderly mother, on a Sunday, so maybe not 100% representative, or we were unlucky. Rooms here are clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. As in much of Norfolk, don't visit on the expectation of the latest creature comforts, modernist decor or trappings of 21st century life. So... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Just a few miles from Cromer, easy to find with large car park. Comfortable well equipped room. Friendly helpful staff. Food in the restuarant was excellent. Easy to walk to the cliffs and beach through footpath almost next door to the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank PEH529
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Runton
1.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the pretty village of West Runton discover the natural beauty of the small coastal Norfolk village of West Runton, it is in an ideal place to stay for playing Golf, Horse-riding, Fishing, or enjoying beautiful country and coastal walks with nearby bird watching facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Cromer Road, West Runton, Cromer NR27 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > West Runton
Price Range: $140 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy House Hotel West Runton, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay