We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Burley Manor

Save
Share
Ringwood Road, Burley, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 4BS England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (599)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (283)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Burley Manor
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Burley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Burley Manor offers something truly unique, with spectacular views of the neighbouring deer sanctuary, it really is set in the heart of the New Forest. Recently fully refurbished it is somewhere you can come to enjoy a tranquil, grown-ups only stay (13 + only), stunning food with Mediterranean influences and most importantly great service. Our individually designed boutique bedrooms are made to feel like home. A sanctuary. Strong, nature inspired colours, antique furniture, eccentric artwork and fascinating fabrics. Power showers, deep baths and warm panelling create a relaxing tone. You can enjoy the perfect night's sleep in our royally approved Hypnos beds, providing pure comfort and relaxation. Our chef's follow the seasons, allowing nature to play a leading role in our menu. It's about a handful of the best ingredients, sourced well, prepared simply, with the help of our wood fired oven, to make the most of their flavours. In the picturesque village of Burley, that is just 10 minutes off the A31 to Bournemouth, you will find this village that is untouched by time, where wild ponies and cattle roam free. With miles of ancient walking paths, there's lots to explore.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
796Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 486
  • 204
  • 56
  • 30
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
frappe-uk wrote a review Jun 14
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom110 contributions47 helpful votes
We visited for 1 night between Sunday-Monday, One doesn't except luxury for £199 per night however the basics were missing. Room was tired, paint was chipping of the walls, windows didn't open properly, no air conditioning, no mini bar and bed was really a single but they call it a small double. Perhaps it wouldn't be an issue if the view was nice but it was directly overlooking a fire exit and parking. The hotel was not full in which case they could have placed us in something less worn down. Swimming pool is only open until 7pm and has 4 lounging chairs... odd considering there is space for more than 10 and during summer it would be nice to have access for longer. Dinner was ok but nowhere near as nice as website photos imply, £68.00 for steak which wasn't charcoaled is too much. I also wasn't a fan of a passionfruit martini that tasted and looked like cosmopolitan for £12. They also add automatic service charge to the bill without asking, I only saw the bill after it was emailed to me. Sure I can call back and complain but it's not the point. Breakfast had very basic selection and they run out of bread to make sourdough toast.. Be aware that if you drive electric there is only 1 charging station and hotel doesn't support with managing it meaning we couldn't use it as there was another guest car already connected. We arrived at 5:30pm and the same car was connected to it when we left at 10:30am next day. Ridiculous. Overall impression is that hotel and its services don't match up to a glossy website promise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid Room number 8
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Cropwell wrote a review Jun 13
Nottinghamshire, England90 contributions38 helpful votes
A very disappointing experience. We came as a group to celebrate two birthdays. The rooms were dreadful for the price. Had they been a travel lodge we would have been entitled to a full refund. The rooms were described as garden suites, they are not suites. We were greeted with the sight of dirty bedroom windows with condensation as three of the four panes has ‘blown ‘and needed replacing. The decor were dreadful , chipped paintwork (see photos), never been decorated for years. Rooms were extremely dingy due to dark paint scheme. There was no privacy in the rooms as the rooms were on a ground floor annex wiry guests walking by on the way to the pool and breakfast lounge. This could have been sorted by blinds. The walls were paper thin and the TV next door was audible through the wall. No room service or attempt to clean the room during our stay usual ‘ covid’excuse. Towels never changed unless you went to reception and asked for towels, same for toiletries and tea and coffee etc. The only positive thing was that the food was good, the experienced staff were let down by junior inexperienced and untrained staff who had to be reminded to clear plates between courses. The hotel was very run down and dirty, eg dirty roof on the conservatory and dirty glass screen in the reception (not a good way to create a good first impression. The hotel pool had a large amount of debris and dirt in the water and had no cleaning system. Clearly there has been no investment in this hotel for many years. The check in and check out experience were poor. One of our party who arrived earlier on the first day complained as they had a similar experience and received no response so I did not bother complaining until I checked out. For a hotel charging these prices I would have expected that I would be asked if we had a good stay to identify any issues to the hotel management. The girl on reception said nothing and simply printed off the bill. I explained that we were not happy the the accommodation and outlined the reasons why we would not be returning. She scribbled a few notes and that was it, of course we did not get a response. During the stay at the hotel I never saw any evidence of any management control, the staff appear to be left to their own devices. Whilst that I appreciate that presently hotels are in a strong position due to the limited supply of hotel rooms this is not going to last. The hotels that will survive are those that attract return business. Few people are going to return to experience the ‘hospitality’ on offer at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Terry W wrote a review Jun 12
Ferndown, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
Having met friends residing at the hotel for a walk in the Forest we returned for sundowners. The staff within the hotel informed us a waiter would be along to take our order and it was fine for us to take a seat outside. We were alone and not with our friends but live in Burley Village and are infact regulars to the Burley Manor. This however was not to be as a gentleman informing us he was the manager and had been working since 7am that morning would not serve us drinks and asked us to leave as a Wedding function needed all the outside area. I actually appreciate a Wedding Function being a priority but having been present at previous weddings fail to see why being so inhospitable was necessary. There were two other couples and us at the time seated outside. The area outside being quite substantial and there are other guests at the hotel. The manager directed us to note his little A4 sign he had put on a board outside the hotel entrance. This sign was also missed by a gentleman next to me looking to take drinks outside with his family. I recommend as manager you enjoy and make the most of this busy period as all of us look to break free from lockdown. Its great to see all hospitality recouperating following the tough times experienced. However winter will reappear and we certainly wont be bothering to bring our custom or our friends anywhere near The Burley Manor. Sadly Zero stars to match the managers personality was not an option.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
The Honest Reviewer wrote a review Jun 7
New York City, New York14 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel grounds are pretty, but very misleading as the interior of the hotel isn’t anywhere near as nice and is very underwhelming. Inside the hotel is quite dark and poky, the interior decor doesn’t match the grounds at all. My room was ok, although quite stuffy, it had nice views and the bed was comfy, but again, I didn’t love the decor. The furniture didn’t feel clean, the room also had lots of nicks and scuffs, in general the hotel and my room felt very tired and unwelcoming. I stayed at the beginning of summer, so it was warm outside, not too hot outside, but the room was still incredibly hot and stuffy. I had difficulty sleeping because of this, I can’t imagine what it would be like on hotter days or during a heatwave. I was also very unhappy with poor service from the staff. Some friends and I were in Burley Park for an event, we had arranged to meet for dinner after the event, on the hotel terrace. 2 of my friends arrived first and were seated. 10 minutes later, the general manager approached and asked if they were ok, my friend asked for menus, the manager asked if they were staying at the hotel, my friend politely explained their friends were, the manager said only hotel guests were allowed on the premises and my 2 friends would have to leave as they were fully booked. My friend said again that she had friends staying and we were having dinner together, the manager then told them, abruptly, that he had decided that only hotel guests were allowed this weekend, that he was the general manager and his decision was final, and he then went back inside the hotel. Phone reception at the hotel, and area in general, is very sporadic, so my friends were unable to call me. They sat for a minute or so trying to call us, as they knew we were arriving shortly, but the manager kept coming back out and circling them, so my friends, feeling very uncomfortable, left. Unaware of what had happened, I arrived shortly after, with the rest of our party, most of whom were also not staying at the hotel. At absolutely no point was there any mention of them not being allowed on the premises, we sat down and I called to see where our 2 friends were as they had told me they’d already arrived but we couldn’t see them. I was disgusted and felt awful when I heard what had happened, especially as there were lots of empty seating and tables, around 80% of the tables on the terrace were completely empty. I told them to come back as we were all sitting for drinks & dinner and I would talk to the manager, but they were incredibly embarrassed and felt uncomfortable at the way the general manager had spoken to them and had insisted they leave, they said this conversation happened in front of the handful of other people that had been sitting at tables and they were understandably very embarrassed at being told to leave and by the managers behaviour. My 2 friends did not feel comfortable coming back and so they decided to eat elsewhere, which ruined our evening, after what had been an otherwise great day in Burley Park and was meant to be a nice reunion meal after a long lockdown without all of us seeing each other. I mentioned what had happened to the staff, who just shrugged it off & didn’t seem to care. I don’t think it’s right for staff members to speak to anyone this way, let alone the general manager. My friends were guests of mine and they had politely explained that. I would not stay at this hotel again, I don’t think it’s right for anyone to speak to people this way. The setting is beautiful, but the food is not. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. The Tapas isn’t great. The hotel is very expensive, and whilst I am happy to pay higher prices for nice hotels, Burley Manor just isn’t anywhere near worth the high prices it charges. The next time I am in Burley I will look for somewhere else to stay, I do not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
KLP wrote a review Jun 6
Poole, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
Love this venue. But I do have to comment that it is crying out for a Sunday roast on the menu. I booked for us having mis read the website, thinking Sunday roast was an option, both my partner and I were so pleased finally Burley Manor does a roast! But not yet! Whilst the tapas themed menu was ok, it’s not in keeping to the venue in our opinion. Also the telephone service is poor, I couldn’t speak to anyone e to say we were two not four diners, concerned that the needed to know at these difficult times, I did however leave a message on their phone. Didn’t receive acknowledgment but they were not bothered when we got there as were not fully booked ( I feel menu choices could be the cause??!) Such a shame, as we have visited for many years, albeit for a beverage and dine elsewhere as we are local residents. However the waiting staff are very good. So thank you for that.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Adam Wilson, General Manager at Burley Manor
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Kalingp66 Thanks for sharing your love of the Manor, we love it to! We will certainly be moving back to our Sunday roasts, however have taken this time as we open up to focus on our much loved lunch wood-fired kitchen menu. We are sorry that you were unable to speak to a member of our team regarding your booking change, however we are very grateful for letting us know. We do have the ability to change this via our online booking system and will look at making this an easier; currently occupancy of our restaurants are limited owing to the pandemic where a safe environment for our guests and team remain our highest priority. We will certainly drop you a message when the Sunday feasts return to the manor. Look forward to welcoming you at the manor in the future Adam and the Manor team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
burley manor new forest, hotel burley manor
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireRingwoodBurley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Burley Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Burley Manor?
Nearby attractions include Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum (4.6 miles), Burley Fudge (0.2 miles), and Bagnum Equestrian Centre Ltd (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Burley Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Burley Manor?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Burley Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Burley Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cellar, The London Tavern, and Lovitaly.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Burley Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Burley Manor located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Burley.
Are pets allowed at Burley Manor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Burley Manor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Burley Manor?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Christchurch Priory Church (7.6 miles), Red House Museum & Gardens (7.5 miles), and Highcliffe Castle (6.4 miles).
Does Burley Manor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.