We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Oxwich Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxwich
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oxwich Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

748 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 746: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recommended this hotel by a friend and so we booked a 2 night special offer for my Birthday. The main hotel was booked up due to a wedding party and so we were offered a room in the Old School House. The room was very small but clean and adequate for a 2 night stay. As part of the package... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill A
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped here for a pint after a charity walk, and was a bit surprised a £4.50 a pint for the local brew, Gower Gold. It was a nice ale though:) Didn't eat here this visit to Oxwich, but have done many times in the past. Good food but again top end for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Starnurse2
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Oxwich Bay and for stopping by for a drink after your charity walk. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the ale and we do hope to see you again soon. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Happy to accommodate our spaniel in the 'snug' section of the restaurant on a Friday lunchtime. Wide choice on the menu from sandwiches through to full lunch. Service with a smile and friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank SJandMJ
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We're pleased you found a nice dry spot with us in our snug with your spaniel and enjoyed the atmosphere and service over lunch. We hope to welcome both again soon! More 

Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I were staying half a mile away in a self catering cottage. We booked a table in the Chestnut Room at the Oxwich Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary.The hotel is right on the beach so the views were lovely. The service and attention was excellent and the setting in the candle lit dining room was perfect.The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marian J
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Oxwich Bay on such a special occasion! Feedback is very important to us and we of course love hearing from happy guests. We hope to see you again. More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I don't often review on trip advisor but this place deserves it. Wonderful place. Food, staff, room and bed all great and spotlessly clean. Grounds extensive and welcoming. Area is so good I do wonder why we go abroad - yes the weather was excellent, which made a great difference. A special mention to the young man Keri, who stood... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dmsaunders55
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for such a lovely review and mentioning one of our fantastic staff members too - it is really appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oxwich Bay Hotel and we'll keep our fingers crossed for more good weather on your return! More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful location overlooking Oxwich Bay. Called in for a pint of lager and packet of crisps £6.10 I kid you not! £6.10! I didn't stay for another which is a shame as it is so beautiful. They have a captive audience hence the reason why they can charge so much, if the prices were even a bit more acceptable I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lyn811
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Oxwich Bay Hotel. We of course agree that we are situated in a beautiful location. Often with such a location, comes a price, in which we set in line with similar businesses within the surrounding area. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and great food in a... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here after a walk along the beach Ideal setting, average looking place but we had heard good things... We both had fish and chips, just about the cheapest thing on the menu and still £13 each. If they had been amazing or at least above average we wouldn't have minded. But I'm afraid to say they weren't! Nothing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth w
OBHOxwich, Front Office Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. We're are sorry that you were disappointed upon your recent visit. However, we do believe our prices are fair and inline with similar businesses on Gower. We are often commended for our good food and outstanding service so we are very sorry to read your review. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel because it had good reviews and I think many of the better reviews come from people who have attended weddings here or from beach visitors. Our first night was in a luxury room. It was very small, the bathroom fixtures looked good but there was a cracked floor tile, the loo roll holder was hanging off... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hippychick1958
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent the weekend here for my best friends wedding with my family it was a beautiful venue and the staff were second to none. There is beautiful scenery with a beach right in front of the venue. This is a perfect setting for weddings a family day out or food out with friends I would definitely recommend a visit and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for giving us a 5 star rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at Oxwich for your friends wedding. Thank you also for recommending others to visit. More 

wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just come back from a 2 night break with friends. Had an amazing deal having included in the price evening meal on the 2 nights and afternoon tea. Food is well presented and in lovely surroundings. Afternoon tea was beautiful whilst we drank a glass of processco and ate in the sunshine. Special thanks to Bex whose role is actually... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrea1234wales
OBHOxwich, Public Relations Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you had an enjoyable break with us and thank you very much for taking the time to mention individual members of staff, it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Gower Hotel
The Gower Hotel
#11 of 25 in Swansea
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
10.2 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#3 of 25 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing