We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxwich Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxwich
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oxwich Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

880 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 878: English reviews
Start your review of Oxwich Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a fantastic wedding service, reception and evening entertainment. Staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was delicious and plentiful, didn't hear any complaints from other guests. Drinks were usual hotel prices. We stayed the night and had comfortable beds and a good choice and good food at breakfast. My only suggestion to those attending functions in the marque...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley J
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I attended a Wedding at the Oxwich Bay Hotel and stayed for one night with breakfast included the following morning. This is quite a small hotel but very clean, well decorated and inviting. The setting near the beach is also appealing. The Wedding ceremony was held in the hotel itself and was well organised and went nice and smoothly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MagicalMrETour
Penarth
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfect location for a weekend away with partner and dogs in one of their static caravan. Spotless, very pet friendly, great breakfast. Already booked our next visit. A very short walk onto the beach. Most visitors were there for a wedding, but as we were in the caravan area, we hardly noticed and noise.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beth88887
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here after a wedding that was at the same venue. As a wedding venue I was really impressed. Obviously the scenery is beautiful, even in a cloudy and overcast day. The ceremony room was beautiful too...tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The private bar before was also fabulous. The wedding food was also really very good. Especially considering it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fran1702
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to a wedding at the Oxwich bay hotel and we opted to stay the night. Hotel was really nice with well appointed rooms and very polite staff. Good food great location, what more could you want. The only slight downside was that the drinks were quite expense, but I guess that's par for the course with this sort of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this hotel for family members renewing their marriage vows - the main room with the tree and open fire is stunning which was where the ceremony was performed and then onto marquee which looked amazing for the rest of the celebrations. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue C
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed Zoe and Matt's renewal of vows and that the staff and food were excellent for you. We are really pleased that your family are repeat customers of ours, and so we hope that we'll be welcoming you back again soon!

Welshpool Powys
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a Sunday lunch here to celebrate a 70th birthday, we were a group of 8 ranging from 7 to 70. Excellent menu choice, excellent service, excellent food and excellent setting. The staff and hotel helped make special memories on a special day. With hindsight and a great big bag of money I would change nothing about our experience.. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review, and we're so pleased that you had such an excellent level of service and food, and that the staff were able to make it special for you. We hope you'll come back again soon.

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in Rhossili room in Ivy Cottage. Lovely room with huge comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. All the staff were great, very attentive and friendly, especially the young lady that served us at dinner and breakfast and the barman, apologies for not getting your names, I did look at your badges but my eyesight isn't what it used to be....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valleysviz
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're very pleased that the staff were so attentive and friendly and you enjoyed your dinner. Neil is embarrassed that he forgot to give you glasses for your wine, but we hope you enjoyed it anyway. We have now put a disclaimer on the website, which sells rooms by type, to explain that the room...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'll start by saying that I had a great time at the wedding I attended. The location is great and staff very helpful. The food was amazing, no one complained about any of the food. The 2 stars is for the room we were in first of all. Smaller than your average hotel room, but you can get by with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rob M
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are investigating the issues you experienced with our maintenance team in order to look for solutions. We're glad that you had a great time at the wedding and enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again at some point.

Corsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to have a short break away and on the recommendation of some welsh friends decided to try Oxwich Bay Hotel. We called on the morning of the getaway and they very kindly accommodated us on a winter offer of £99 DBB with an afternoon tea thrown in. The location is stunning, on the beach over looking Oxwich Bay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beazers
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your winter stay with us. We've spoken to the kitchen about the scrambled egg, and the beef stroganoff has actually come off our menu now. We are actively investigating wifi solutions, which are limited until we can have a faster connection down to the Hotel. However, we realise that this is important to customers so...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (215)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
2.1 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
589 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
136 reviews
7.1 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
10.2 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Neath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Camberley, United Kingdom
Harrogate, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Standard rooms have views over roofs of building with a wooded hill behind. More expensive rooms have wonderful views of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 548lesleyj, 2 days ago | Read review
“No lift - Room 7 has view over the roof at the back of the hotel but bathroom beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles G3915IAsuec, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms to the front have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles beazers, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 4 was a cheaper option but has a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles BeiliHelyg, Feb 18, 2017 | Read review
“Honey moon room has fantastic views well worth paying for a see view”
 of 5 bubbles jonesc2015, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question