We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mompiche Via Portete, Mompiche Ecuador
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1062)
Pool & Beach (219)
Room & Suite (78)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Decameron Mompiche
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Mompiche
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
3.8
Value
3.8
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
The hotel is located 140 km away by road from Coronel Carlos Concha Torres Airport, Ecuador - south side of a large bay. With unparalleled natural beauty, surrounded by tropical rainforests and hundreds of kilometers of beaches, and a privileged climate with a year-round temperature of 28°C, this destination is an excellent option for practicing different water sports. El This Hotel has a modern tropical design that blends in with the area’s natural surroundings, 282 rooms, 3 specialized restaurants and 1 buffet, 6 bars, a disco, 5 pools and a convention center for 600 people, with cutting edge technology and a Business Center. Due to Coronavirus (COVID-19), this property is taking steps to help protect the safety of guests and staff. Certain services and amenities may be reduced or unavailable as a result.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
923Reviews42Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 378
  • 267
  • 127
  • 65
  • 86
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carlos C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
It's a beautiful hotel, with excellent attention, delicious food, and cold drinks. It is totally recommended. The specialty restaurants offer you delicious food, personalized attention, and a buffet of salads. The private beach also has a private restaurant and a bar.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Propietario at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Royal Decameron Mompiche hotel staff, we want to thank you for answering our survey and let us know your opinion which is very important for us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed personalized attetion, delicious food and cold drinks of our hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel in order to ensure the best experience for your vacations. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The resort itself is beautiful. Food is ok. Drinks not that great. The days we visited we couldn’t enjoy the beach because of the weather but that is just Mother Nature. We settled for the pools which are nice. I have visited plenty of all inclusive resorts around the world and kind of know what to expect. Unfortunately, I was unpleasantly surprised with this one. Usually, after a long trip even though check in is at 3:00pm in my other experiences they let you in the lobby. Other resorts make you feel welcome from the beginning. They let you relax and serve you drinks until your room is ready. Not this one! We arrived around 1:30pm after a long drive (7 hours) with a group of 15 including my 85 year old mother at the gate they told us we had to wait outside until 2:30pm. Why ??? I don’t get it. They should at least make you wait at the lobby. One good thing I do have to mention is that they did give me a ground floor for my mom upon request. Because this resort has a lot of stairs if you are on one of the top floors be prepare to do a lot of up and down stairs. The rooms were nice big and clean. The food was standard resort food. Since we were a big group it was hard trying to make reservations for the specialty restaurants. We had to split our group. We ate at the Acantilado. Seafood was good. Now the drinks need a lot of improvement. Resorts in general serve the cheapest liquor but usually have the local beer which I was looking forward to. NO PILSENER OR CLUB what a disappointment. My family and I are Ecuadorean and we speak Spanish so we can communicate with the staff. International resorts usually have bilingual staff. Honestly, Besides the manager I don’t know if anyone else speak another language. Overall it was a 50/50 experience. Like I said before the location and facilities itself are superb, food is as expected. Drinks need a lot of improvement, customer service was standard. Definitely not 5 stars. I’ll give it 3.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Propietario at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Royal Decameron Mompiche hotel staff, we want to thank you for answering our survey and let us know your opinion which is very important for us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on the services. We checked it out with the staff involved and we are taking corrective actions to continuously improve our guest´s experience. We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel in order to ensure the best experience for your vacations. Best Regards, Juan Carlos Bastidas. Guest Service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raidel Torres wrote a review Dec 2020
Quito, Ecuador2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a nice hotel with an excellent staff. 1 - Attention: 5 points, all the staff was really nice and ready to solve any problem. 2 - Hotel: 5 Points, great installations with many things to do inside the hotel, the beach is not good but that's not the hotel fault since all beaches in Ecuador are the same except for the ones in Galapagos. If you decide to go outside of the pandemic I highly recommend the spa section, it have awesome views. 3 - Food: 4 points, this was the only downside, the food was good and well prepared but for an all-inclusive hotel, it is simply unthinkable for things to run out at the buffet at half time even when there are still clients who have not even started to eat. And the system they have to serve people due to the pandemic is not the best, the good thing about a buffet is to go and get anything you want by yourself, I'm sure you guys can thing of a better approach. But again I'm giving a 4 points here since I know most of the issues are because of the pandemic. 4 - Internet: 5 points, the entire hotel have free internet even in the rooms, there are some with big walls so the signal could have some problems like in my case but opening the balcony door just a few solved the issue. I had to work in the time I was there so this was an important service I needed but all was good and they offered a paid service of about 5 USD 12 hours with a higher speed but I ended not needing it
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you want the best view pick the ocean front and not the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Dec 27, 2020
Dear Raidel, We are very happy to know that ypur experience has been most pleasent. We appreciate your comments because are very important for us and above all it helps us to improve. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you atthe next opportunity and making your vacation a great experiencie. Cordially The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hector Garcia wrote a review Nov 2020
11 contributions
+1
The view/location is amazing!!! Loved it. The hotel is big, well preserved and food was good. I think they usually have more variety but they used some space to ensure biosecurity measures. The hotel service was outstanding. I planned to propse to my girlfriend here and they here so attentive and helpful.Juan Carlos Bastidas, the service head I think, was in constant communication with me to ensure the experience was great. I took the candles and flowers there but they were very helpful with the setting and menu.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Nov 28, 2020
Dear Hector, we are so happy to know that your stay was completely peaceful. Thank you very much for letting us be part of this great surprise for your fiancee. Juan Carlos and the staff are very grateful for this mention and we want to continue being part of those magic moments. Best regards. The Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camila wrote a review Oct 2020
Quito, Ecuador3 contributions
Royal Decameron, became one of my favorite places to go when I am on vacation. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, I honestly can never get bored in this place and let's not forget the rooms, are so clean and modern, in my point of view. I just really love this place
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Propietario at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Estimada Camila, Reciba un cordial saludo de Royal Decameron Mompiche, agradecemos su visita y ala vez apreciamos sus comentarios que serán compartidos con nuestro equipo; ya que nos llena de satisfacción saber que sus vacaciones las disfrutaron al máximo. Vuelva pronta será un placer volverla a atender. Cordialmente, La Gerencia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ecintron wrote a review Oct 2020
NY24 contributions32 helpful votes
A very nice resort overall -- I stayed 10/1/2020 - 10/3/2020 -- here are my findings: * My travels there -- drove up to Mompiche, which is about a 4 hour drive from Manta -- beautiful trip -- stopped at El Fogon for lunch -- count on that day to be a travel day if you are coming from Guayaquil or Manta. * The Resort -- grounds are well kept -- nice pools (no swim up bar?? minus one point!!) -- there are some hills and lots of stairs, so consider your personal conditioning or any physical challenge you may have... * The rooms -- I stayed in 1423 -- room was a nice comfortable size -- Ocean front was spectacular -- actual OCEAN front -- very private balcony -- beds are comfortable -- bathroom was clean -- No Iron/iron table in the room, no refrigerator, no microwave * Service -- Check-in was well organized but slow due to the Pandemic -- People at the check-in desk are nice. The food and drink service was also affected -- long lines -- cold food -- grumpy bartenders -- all closes at curfew * Overall -- This is a nice place -- you will see the ocean in a very special way -- but it falls short. Staff needs Customer Training -- not all -- but a bartender snapping at me because he wants to close is unacceptable -- and grumpy staff members snarling at you is never a good look. It might be better when all of these restrictions are gone -- so -- I will go with a "Very Good" -- but that might be a little generous on my part :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Oct 7, 2020
Estimado huésped, Royal Decameron Mompiche agradece mucho por su visita y nos encanta conocer sus comentarios ya que nos permiten tener un buen feedback con nuestros visitantes. Estamos contentos de que su estadía haya sido de lo más agradable en nuestras confortables habitaciones. Todas las recomendaciones serán tomadas en cuenta para mejorar la experiencia en su próxima visita esperando que sea muy pronto. Cordialmente. La Gerencia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bipin parmar wrote a review Mar 2020
East Berlin, Pennsylvania15 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice beautiful well maintained resort with natural beauty. Ocean view room was excellent with balcony. Lot of different varieties of food were delicious and everything was included in price. Staff is courteous helpful and friendly
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear Guest, Royal Decameron Mompiche extends a cordial greeting and at the same time a huge thanks for visiting us. We hope you come back soon with your family and friends. Cordially, The management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Majo N wrote a review Jan 2020
Quito, Ecuador55 contributions43 helpful votes
Stay there from Friday 27 til January first. I didn´t have too much expectations, but it was actually better than I expected, the best: The animation team, they do their best for the guest to have a great time. The dancers were really good, and the shows were funny. The rooms and the view we get, were great! Long stairs, so if you have some problems walking, make sure to get a room not that high. The food was good, not great, but good, I really recommend the Miso restaurant, Alcantilado, doesn´t serve enough food, and the italian restaurant didn´t have pizzas or cheese for the spaggethi. The pools are great, and the place even with a lot of guest doen´t fill full. We did 2 activities: Kayak through the manglar, it was a great experience, and the tour guide was really cool, we also did a tour to the Jupiter Island, it was also great, we did snorkel, we didn´t see much, just a snake, but it was fun. The bad side: if you arrive before the check in time, they make pay to use the instalations! Yo have to pay for wifi in the rooms. They only have 3 restaurants, besides the buffet, the reservations start at 8 am, we went there at 7:20 am, and there was already a line, at 8 they start giving turns in the order you arrive, they should start giving this turns the minute you get there, we couldn´t leave, and we have to stay there waiting for 40 minutes until it was 8 am when they finally gave us the turns. We spend there new years eve, the orchestra was´t too good, there weren´t enough tables for all the people there, we had to get our own chairs and tables.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DecameronMompiche, Gerente at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Jan 11, 2020
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Royal Decameron Mompiche hotel staff, we want to thank you for answering our survey and let us know your opinion which is very important for us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the activities and services of our hotel. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on the some service(s). We checked it out with the staff involved and we are taking corrective actions to continuously improve our guest´s experience. We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel in order to ensure the best experience for your vacations. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristersar wrote a review Nov 2019
Cleveland, Ohio3 contributions4 helpful votes
We were told we were getting a free day in Mompiche Ecuador for listening to 45 minutes. After listening the 45 min and realizing that this is not a good deal for us, we decided not to take it. We went to enjoy the beach when they said we had to pay now. We told them we wanted to leave but they said we still have to pay $33.50 to be able to stay. They said we could not leave the facility if we didn't pay. They said we were already listen to the 45 min. We explained that that was in a different city and thought wasn't the same company since they offered. ! Please do not enroll in this program is a expensive scam. If they do this to us because we didn't buy the package imagine what they would do if you actually buy it. Terrible service and food !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DecameronMompiche, Gerente at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the Royal Decameron Mompiche hotel staff, we want to thank you for answering our survey and let us know your opinion which is very important for us. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on the service(s). We checked it out with the staff involved and we are taking corrective actions to continuously improve our guest´s experience. We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel in order to ensure the best experience for your vacations. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian Guadalupe wrote a review Oct 2019
Quito, Ecuador44 contributions
Great facilities, amazing food, really good sleep and outstanding wheater, the activities for all visitors are well planned and most likely aquatic activitie; really enjoy our visit to Mompiche de Cameron, hope to come back soon! :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you wanna a good rest pick up the rooms at the top of the facilitie out of the pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DecameronMompiche, Manager at Royal Decameron Mompiche
Responded Oct 24, 2019
Dear guest, On behalf of the Royal Decameron Mompiche, we want to thank you for your positive comments. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you againin the next opportunity and make your vacation the best experience. Cordially. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$213 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal decameron mompiche, ecuador hotel mompiche
LOCATION
EcuadorEsmeraldas ProvinceMompiche
NUMBER OF ROOMS
282
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Decameron Mompiche
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Nearby attractions include Isla Portete (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe V & Photography, La Chocolata, and La Casona Del Chef.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Royal Decameron Mompiche have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Decameron Mompiche offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Royal Decameron Mompiche have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Decameron Mompiche offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Decameron Mompiche?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Decameron Mompiche offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Royal Decameron Mompiche have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.