We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Craig-y-Nos Castle

TripAdvisor$149*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/03/2017 07/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$149*
$149*
$149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Craig-y-Nos Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Craig-y-Nos Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,119: English reviews
Essex UK
Reviewed May 14, 2015

Just returned (yesterday) from a Groupon deal to the Castle. Great value and would definitely go back again if there is another deal. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed it and all the staff were very friendly to all the dogs. We could even take our dogs into the Patti Bar with us at mealtimes - with beds for them to save...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grandma5265
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle and hope you keep your eyes peeled for our Autumn deals. Its great that you and your dogs enjoyed and found the staff helpful and friendly. Sorry that you found some squeeky floors which I am sure our maintenance will be able to sort out, and that you...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 14, 2015

stayed for 1 night with the groupon, sfaff realy nice, food realy nice. our room was fresh and clean, and will be bk, just wish I got it for 3 days. thanks for a nice stay, and iv read some of the stuff that the realy grumpy ones put on here get ur heads out of your xxxx and get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wayne j
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments indicating your enjoyment at the Castle, I am sure that the rest of the staff as do I appreciate the nice feedback. We hope to see you soon M!chael

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 13, 2015

this was our first time using a groupon for a hotel break, and we weren't disappointed, we thought maybe we would have second class rooms, but no, our room was great, bed linen crisp and fresh. Meals were lovely and all served by the friendly waitresses. Their Welsh cakes served with breakfast were yummy ( wished I had asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie c
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback it does appear that we can and still do give a great service and that our waitresses do look after our staff which is pleasing to hear. I am glad you found your room to be warm and comfortable. Its good to hear that breakfast was also enjoyed. We look forward to your next visit...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I booked a mid-week break to Craig Y Nos Castle so that we could take our dog away with us. Before our visit I read other Trip Advisor reviews and assumed that the negative comments were just people being picky. Unfortunately, I was wrong to be so optimistic. Room: The room was extremely dusty - thick layers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah T
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which sadly is not indicative of our service that we normally give during the year - having checked our feedback for the past 12 months we have scored an average 90.6% good comments across the board - however it does seem over the past month or so that service, performance and general acceptability has called...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2015

Visited 7th May with a groupon deal - it was a disaster from the word go. We are currently in talks with the owners for a full refund - but in fairness, their reply has been swift, friendly and helpful. I would really struggle to find positive things to say about this hotel. - lack of manager lead to; swearing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laura M
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Hi Laura and Steve I am concerned that you have chosen to post your comment on TripAdvisor in such a fashion without indication as to what we have said to resolve your issues. Naturally, had the resolve been issued it would have at least been an acknowledgement that we value your concerns, accept them as serious and resolved them satisfactorily....

Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the castle for 2 nights through a groupon deal for my friends birthday. I honestly can't find anything to complain about! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well presented and clean. Evening meals are delicious and you won't leave hungry! Loads to do around the local area and the grounds around the castle are beautiful. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback – I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle and that the staff were helpful and friendly. It is great to hear that you also found your rooms to be of smart appearance. I too am sure that our kitchen staff will be grateful for your positive comments in relation to your...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 12, 2015

On arrival the castle looked amazing. Inside was a fright. On arrival we were told they was an exclusive wedding and we must not mix with them. Felt like a second class citzen. We were shown directly to the nurses quaters. The tv did not work. The water was cold. A member of staff escorted us to the haunted room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donna55400
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments. I apologise if the usual great service seen at other Fright Night Events did not transpire on yours. I am already in discussion with the Hen in regards to this in order that we can come to some form of amicable resolution, and have advised her directly that I will respond on Thursday as I am...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 11, 2015

Having returned from my friends hen night I am disappointed with the standards of hygiene and security and saddened what should of been a special memory was taken away through double booking.The setting is beautiful what a great shame

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank judy y
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is unfortunate that we appear to have let you down. Craig Y Nos Castle runs weddings and ghost tours with Weddings taking exclusive use of the lower function rooms and en suite accommodation, with Ghost Tours taking exclusive use of the Haunted Bar and Derelict floors with accommodation in the Nurses Block. We had...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed May 11, 2015

I recently visited my British boyfriend from the USA, and we used a Groupon deal for three nights at Craig y Nos. The most interesting part of the stay was the historic tour, where we learned a lot about the place, including that it's a work in progress. In other words, it still needs a lot of work. That being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barseve
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review. Its great that you took advantage of one of our deals, and that you found the history tour interesting. Yes, we are a work in progress and document this well. The Castle will probably always a maintenance project in our off season period. I am sorry that the waitress brought the wrong dish...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 11, 2015

Craig-Y-Nos Castle Reading some of the reviews on this page, I think they didn’t stay in the same place, 1. My room was fantastic 2. The Breakfast was brilliant 3. The staff, well I can’t praise them enough The only things I can say about my stay is that Brilliant, Wonderful, Excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyn N
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your really positive feedback, which I am sure the staff will love to read. We offer a number of events from Weddings to Ghost Tours and a number of different accommodation packages – it is trying to find a happy medium and to give all our various guests a great service. It is great to hear that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

604 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (604)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (156)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (320)
07/03/2017 07/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penycae
16.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
893 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pentre Riding Stables
Pentre Riding Stables
#2 of 3 in Penycae
140 reviews
8.6 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer a stunning location and the carefully preserved ambiance of a Welsh Castle Craig y Nos offers visitors a unique experience, whether it be just enjoying an overnight stay, or as a guest at a major function. Now largely restored to its former glory which, set against the backdrop of the park, makes it the ideal base for walkers, photographers, and other visitors to the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Craig-y-Nos Castle

Address: Craig y Nos Castle Brecon Road, Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park SA9 1GL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Penycae
Price Range: $179 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craig-y-Nos Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Craig-y-Nos Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Nos Castle Hotel Penycae
Craig-y-Nos Castle Wales/Penycae
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Craig-y-Nos Castle staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Craig-y-Nos Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Details of each room can be found on the website to help you pick a suitable one.”
56sarahg, 5 days ago | Read review
“Our room overlooked a courtyard, we presume you can ask for a countryside view. We did not have a bath, only a shower.”
Caeuesden, 6 days ago | Read review
“They dont provide lunch but pleanty of local pubs and cafes around”
jillianashley, Apr 12, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one in the atrium. They are larger than the others.”
pilburyf, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms are quiet”
FrancescaKeogh, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$149* /night
View Deal
Priceline$149
Booking.com$149
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates