We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Special Offer
Save Additional 10%
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 349: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Attended a wedding here over the weekend and stayed overnight as a guest. Very impressive route down the winding country lane into hotel itself. Check-in was easy and quick. Room was spacious, clean, cool with bed was very comfy. We had a lovely big bath with shower attachment. Outside area of hotel was vast, green, lush and beautiful. Although it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie S
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location fine, food good, when the hotel is busy (2 x Prom nights) the staff are available. On the final night however it took just under 30 minutes to find someone willing to serve a drink.... it was only about 2200 so not that late and all of the tills had been cashed up so you have to go and... More 

Helpful?
Thank markofhants
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear markofhants Thank you for posting your recent review following your 4 day business course. We appreciate your comments on the location and food. However, it is disappointing to hear that you had problems with the bar service. The team are aware of your comments and will ensure that this sort of issue does not reoccur We hope to see... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a four day business event and the hotel was OK for what I needed, basic but ok. However there are a few things that need to be mentioned. When you pay a premium rate (£369) for the four days I want a few extra things included. For example. There is a TV in your... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clem C
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Clem C Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your 4 day business event here. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with your TV. The subtitles not turning off is not something we have come across before and isn't a standard for the hotel. The housekeeping team have looked at all the TVs now... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as we had an early start at Paradise Wildlife Park. Was difficult to find this hotel but I'll put that down to my bad sense of direction. Room was basic, TV only had about 5 channels rest couldn't get a signal. Shower was spitting water everywhere really needs de-scaling. Car park was good and felt secure. Meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Chris C Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay here. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the Bistro. However, we are sorry to hear about the more negative aspects of your stay. We are pleased to note that the TV channels have now been restored and the showers have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel is very tired. Rooms were ok but bed very small and bathroom past its best. Do not have breakfast, we unfortunately booked breakfast in the price but all 4 of us only had toast. We thought it would be in the hotel looking out at the view, but it was in a room they called the Bistro, which resembled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary P
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Gary P Thank you for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor following your recent stay here. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay but we do hope that you are able to return in the future to experience our usual high standards of service that we receive regular praise for. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More 

malmesbury town
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

I stayed for just one night, my room was in the block to the right of the main hotel room 2009 it was very noisy and not very clean, the shower room was built for disabled people and was very smelly to say the least, the carpets in the room have seen better days and as I booked to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank allanuknewnton
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear allanuknewnton Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay here with us. It is a shame to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your room or the breakfast service. The food and beverage manager and housekeeping manager are aware of your comments and will be discussing them with their teams to ensure that we are... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
340 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

We stayed here from 31st May to 3rd June 2016 in a large room with a big comfortable bed (2 x 3 foot mattresses and beds joined together) and roomy bathroom on the second floor of the main house. The room had three windows looking out above the main entrance and gardens. We arrived by train to Cuffley and a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear BrandonDublinIreland Thank you for posting your recent review on Tripadvisor following your stay here ar Ponsbourne Park We are please that you had such a nice stay with us whilst attending many family celebrations. It is a shame to hear that the weather took the opportunity to spoil your chance to take in more of the countryside. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

I arrived late but the staff were very kind and organised a sandwich for me. There is plenty of parking space and a bistro for meals. The rooms are big with a very comfy bed, iron, kettle and heating controls.

Helpful?
Thank bash99
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Bash99 Thank you for leaving your recent review on Tripadvisor following your stay here at Ponsbourne Park. We are pleased to hear that the team took good care of you and that you found the rooms to be to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More 

London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at the hotel for a wedding at the end of May. We arrived a couple of hours before the official check in time but were able to get in to our room immediately, which was a great help. The room itself was a little on the small side, but for an overnight stay this wasn’t... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dirtmonkey
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Dirtmonkey Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor following your stay here at the end of May. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and were able to take advantage of the grounds and our beautiful setting. We pride ourselves in our fantastic customer service and... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

We arrived at 1045pm to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist- not usually this case at this time at night. There was a wedding going on, and it was noisy, but we had a room in the annex building and you couldn't hear a sound. it was a usual double bed which was a shame, as often hotels have... More 

Helpful?
Thank dsims87
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear dsims87 Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were welcomed so well on arrival. The team really do go out of their way to ensure every guest has a lovely stay. Thank you for your comments on the room you stayed in and the free-flowing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newgate Street
3.9 mi away
Theobalds Park Hotel
Theobalds Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cheshunt
3.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
5.8 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by over 200 acres and set in the peaceful oasis of the Hertfordshire countryside, the combination of space, tranquility and friendly staff will help you feel quickly at home at Ponsbourne Park. The 19th-century house offers a blend of classic elegance brought stunningly up to date by stylish and creative design. Our facilities are the perfect tonic for today's hectic lifestyle. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast before a game of golf or tennis in the grounds or you could use the gym. (Please note that our pool will not be open for the summer of 2013). With Ponsbourne Park easily accessible from London, the M25 and Stanstead Airport, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Address: Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Price Range: $82 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hertfordshire/Newgate Street, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay