We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old House Hotel

Save
Share
The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG England
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (12)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The privately owned Old House Hotel is located in the historic Market Square of Wickham which is within easy reach of the M27. The twelve individually designed rooms range in size from a small double to large family rooms. Two of the rooms in our garden building benefit from their own private patio. All rooms have state of the art hotel T.V's, free wi-fi access, luxury bedding, Tassimo coffee machines and Molton Brown toiletries. Breakfast can be taken at our charming sister property Lilly's Tea & Coffee House which is located directly opposite the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
45Reviews0Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 8
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mark B wrote a review Apr 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
I arrived early evening and met Kelly on the front desk. She was very polite and helpful and we discussed a couple of room choices. I confessed to her I am very particular about the rooms I choose mainly because I don’t get away very often and always look for rooms where I think I will get a good night rest. Kelly showed me two rooms and I chose the room in the house – room 6 (Queen Anne). I asked Kelly about potential for being disturbed and we discussed the room location being upstairs at the end of the corridor with no rooms above – perfect, or so I thought. On going to bed I set my alarm for 8:30am. To my complete surprise and total dismay, I was woken at 7:05am by a constant background noise like people talking but very ‘basey’ if that makes sense. The noise, or voices, was not going away and was loud enough that I just knew I wasn’t getting back to sleep. I investigated and in my dressing gown, I left the room and went to the landing on the stairs and to my surprise there was a staff member and the cleaner sat chatting on the landing. To be fair they were not being loud, it was just a little surprising. I continued down the stairs and followed the noise. You’re not going to believe it, the radio was on played through a sound system in the resident’s lounge and bar area, which was immediately below my room. I assure you it was not quiet. I returned up the stairs and passed the staff member and cleaner still sat there and told them “your radio has just woken me up”. The staff member asked if I would like her to turn it down but I told her it was too late as I am obviously already up. I went for breakfast which others have reviewed is over the road at Lilly’s – a joint enterprise I believe. The breakfast was excellent! I returned to my room and prepared to check out. At the front desk Kelly was on duty. I asked if she had been told about the early morning disturbance and she said yes and duly apologised. As it was clear she was not going to say anything else, I said I was not going to pay the full bill because, as I have suffered, then so should the business – particularly given the conversations we had when I arrived. Kelly said she couldn’t make that decision and called the Manager, which was non-other than the staff member I saw earlier that morning chatting on the landing. I think her name was Nikita?? I reiterated the issue and she said she would ‘comp the breakfast’ which apparently meant make the breakfast complimentary – a bit of jargon I think. I asked how much the breakfast was as they don’t tell you at Lillys, Nikita said it was £12.00. I said ok and she started to amend my bill. As she was doing so I tried to make small talk saying I understand having the radio on in that area but perhaps not at 7:00am – my god what a mistake – Nikita promptly replied saying ‘we do have other guests you know’. I was amazed and shocked at her response. I said yes I get that but was anyone else up at that time, and she said yes. Well hold on a minute, remember I went down to check the source of the noise, and no one was in sight. And they weren’t at Lillys for breakfast as I was the first one in there. So where these other guests that ‘needed’ the radio on so loud. I questioned this with Nikita and then she had another pop at me saying ‘perhaps if you can adjust your attitude then we can try to sort this out for you’. I tell you now I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the years, mainly through work, and I have NEVER been spoken to in that way before. I was gob smacked. I am 52 and felt like a child being told off. I paused, gathered my thoughts and just said ‘lets just sought it then’ I payed the bill and left. I do not know who owns this hotel but I do know it is an independent. I say to the owners you really need to keep an eye on your Manager’s lack of professionalism and damn right rudeness. In these very precarious times Hotels need all the custom they can get as well as positive feedback. This obviously does not give guests the right to be obnoxious or badly behaved, but when they have a legitimate complaint, it really needs someone with a degree of maturity and professionalism to deal with it – Nikita showed neither. There were other issues which seem quite trivial now. The water pressure in the room was pitiful such that taking a shower was very hard work. The internet is very suspect, my laptop security wouldn’t allow me to connect due to potential virus threats – this was a constant message no matter how I tried. The heated towel rail never got warm, never mind hot. The Old House is not cheap but the price is very fair for what it has to offer. The problem, as we all know, is that we are not just paying for the room and settings etc. We are paying for good professional service. I have stayed in places not up to scratch but can forgive them because of the good service delivered by the staff. The Manager, of all people, failed in this very area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: be aware rooms in the house may be above the guest lounge area which has the radio on very early...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Table22M, General Manager at The Old House Hotel
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send us your valued feedback, firstly may I add my sincerest apologies for the experience you have received whilst staying with us at The Old House Hotel. It is very disappointing to hear that our usual high standards of guests service was lacking during your visit, rest assured I will take the time to investigate this matter further. I will of course investigate the other points you have raised within your review, including maintenance and IT issues. As you can see from our rating's as a property and usual standard of guests feedback we do not regularly receive negative reviews regarding our service & hospitality. It would be greatly appreciated if you could contact me so we can discuss your complaint further, the reputation of both our businesses are of paramount importance to us, more so during these difficult and uncertain times. Please find below my contact details, I will look forward to hearing from you and also rectifying your frustrations. Kind Regards Tom Hopkins Operations Director email - operationsdirector@gagourmet.co.uk direct line - 01329 835887
Read more
Pauline B wrote a review Feb 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
We were having a meeting in Fareham and wanted to find an hotel to stay in the night before. I went on line and The Old House Hotel came up. For no other reason than it was at the top of the list, I booked it. I am so glad I did. The hotel is super. On arrival the receptionist was really friendly. Our room was lovely. It was spotless, large and airy and had a view over the square. We also had a delicious breakfast in Lilly's, their sister property over the road. On check out the receptionist was efficient and friendly. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I hope very much to visit it again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theoldhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House Hotel
Responded Feb 29, 2020
Dear Pauline B, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your five star review. I am pleased that you thought the hotel was super, the allocated room lovely and the Receptionist very friendly. Your kind comments regarding breakfast have been shown to the team at Lilly's. Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back. Alison The Old House Hotel
Read more
Nedwob54 wrote a review Feb 2020
Redcar, United Kingdom7 contributions
Overnight stay here, lovely building, Nikita who checked me in was a very nice pleasant young lady, my bedroom was spotless and very nice 👍... Over the road there are two pubs and a few doors away you have a Fish & Chip Shop and a Chinese Take Away 😎...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Theoldhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House Hotel
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Nedwob54, Thank you for your five star review which is greatly appreciated. I am delighted that you found Nikkita to be very pleasant and that the allocated room was serviced to a high standard. Hoping you have the opportunity to return. Alison The Old House Hotel
Read more
Elaine Huggett wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for one night in this beautiful hotel. Staff were friendly. Parked on site. The room was gorgeous with a Four poster and the bed was so comfortable I had the best nights sleep. Lovely hot walk in shower too. Thoroughly recommend staying in this lovely venue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Four Poster Room
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Theoldhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House Hotel
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear Nugs1975, Thank you for your five star review which is greatly valued I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and would recommend the hotel. Hoping to welcome you back on a future occasion. Regards. Alison The Old House Hotel
Read more
Captain wrote a review Feb 2020
Castletown, United Kingdom229 contributions234 helpful votes
Spent a few unexpected days here on the recommendation of a local friend. The property has had the benefit of a full refurbishment, my bedroom was immaculate and i enjoyed a few restful nights. Breakfast was first class and I can highly recommend the in house restaurant ( suggest you book as it is very popular ). Theres an extensive selection of wines to suit most plates. Big thankyou to al the staff and front of house team whom are very accommodating to requests and variations Capt Neil Isle of Man
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Theoldhousehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Old House Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Dear captainmm2016, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your five star review. I am delighted you found your bedroom to be immaculate, enjoyed Breakfast and found all team members to be friendly and professional. Hoping to welcome you back. Alison The Old House Hotel
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
B+B Wickham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireWickham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Old House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Track Party - Epic Playtime (0.2 miles), The Chesapeake Mill (0.1 miles), and Bay Tree Gifts and Parua (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at The Old House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
Is parking available at The Old House Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Greens Restaurant & Bar, The Square Cow, and Lilly's.
Is The Old House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Wickham.
Are pets allowed at The Old House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old House Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (3.5 miles), Bishop's Waltham Palace (3.9 miles), and Trafalgar Sail (4.8 miles).
Is The Old House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.