We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

YHA St Briavels

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Briavels
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
YHA St Briavels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a great place to stay as a family. Extremely friendly and laid back. Good `home cooking` meals and a amazing historic setting. We did the archery and tour = much recommended. The manager is clearly passionate about her job and this resonates in the service.

Helpful?
Thank Matt J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a three night stay....should have been four, but time to go. Can't agree with other reviews who mentioned how friendly the staff were....on arrival we did have a warm welcome from a young lady, but that was it. On leaving, a more mature lady also seemed quite friendly. The room was quite depressing, breakfast....first morning an hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joss W
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

We are really disappointed that you have had an unenjoyable experience at the Castle. We pride ourselves on our customer service and can only apologise that we have let you down during your visit. Thank you for your honest feedback about the breakfasts. We have experienced problems during busy breakfast services with speed of delivery as we try to cook... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our nights at the castle. We stayed in Isobel's room, that had a double bed with a single bunk and another set of bunks. We used the self catering kitchen which was small, but had everything we needed. The banquet was fantastic - as was the tour of the castle. My 7 year old loved the treasure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill R
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the Castle and in the village. We agree, the playground is great fun - especially the zip wire - although a bit low for grown-ups! We are thrilled you enjoyed the treasure hunt and we hope to have more puzzles and games in the future... More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this almost a year in advance as it's a popular hostel and we weren't disappointed. The most magical and quirky place, with a warm welcome and helpful staff, especially Linda, Henry and the chef who were all very accommodating. We stayed in the 'Prison' room, I had my worries but it was cosy and warm and not at... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisa h
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Castle. Thank you for your feedback about the breakfast and sorry once again for the mix-up with the orders resulting in the delay to your cooked food arriving. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Maybe for a "spooky" Halloween banquet or "festive" Christmas banquet next... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the more unusual properties in the English Heritage portfolio. Strangest of all the sight of a dog powered spit for roasting meat! Youth Hostel complete with bar and ice cream sales. Nothing more to ask for well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

It is always fantastic to welcome English Heritage visitors and share our Castle (and ice creams!). The YHA have been proud tenants at St Briavels Castle since 1947. We offer guided tours regularly to learn more about the turn-spit wheel and see some of our hidden secrets (such as the Oubliette dungeon). Call us direct on 01594 530272 to check... More 

peterborough
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We were recently enroute to Wales so we thought we would break the journey up with an overnight visit to a real castle. We weren't disappointed the place is stunning and we wished we could have stayed longer, we will return, very clean. We went to the medieval banquet and really enjoyed it and we got into the spirit of... More 

Helpful?
Thank foxyPeterborough
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to visit our Castle on your way to Wales. It is a shame that we are unable to re-build the keep so we can have more guests stay but with only 8 bedrooms available we fill up really quickly! However we do hope to welcome you for a longer visit next time as the Forest of... More 

Al Khor, Qatar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

You don't need to be a member of YHA to book, It's £2.50 less if you are though. This is a fantastic castle - 12 Century and supposed to be haunted. But we couldn't find any spooks! LOL It's warm - surprisingly for such an old place. Staff are fantastic and friendly. It's just great value and located in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin_Campbell_biker
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

Dear Colin You save £3 as an adult member - even better! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again in the near future. The Forest of Dean and Wye Valley is one of our hidden gems so hopefully plenty to tempt you to return! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the oubliette. Decent shower rooms and everything was as clean as can be expected in a 12th century castle. Booked on the banquet night which was a different way of having an evening meal. We all enjoyed the alternate experience and the food was good and plentiful. I would recommend this. Vegetarian option was brill!... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoBaconMum2Many
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great that you enjoyed all our activities and extras. Where better to loose an arrow than a proper Medieval Castle?! We now have a small shop in the village only a stones throw from the Castle selling cheeses and specialist pies (all supplied locally from Cinder Hill farm just below the Castle),... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

What can I say? Enormously helpful, friendly and efficient staff, comfortable rooms, great extras on offer and bacon for breakfast every day. And it's a real castle! With a medieval banquet if you're lucky with timings. Perfect!

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank littlebird2016
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We never get tired of seeing the look on our visitors faces when they arrive and realise that we really are a real Castle, with over 900 years of history and many original features contained within our walls, and they are going to get to explore and sleep in it! It makes me smile... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We have just spent a lovely 4 day family holiday at this hostel, which is a fabulous historic building - a true castle together with moat (no water). We're YHA members and have used many hostels across the country but this one is very special. This is no ordinary building and the youngsters in the family were thrilled to explore... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
Linda H, Manager at YHA St Briavels, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you had a fabulous family break at the Castle. It is always a thrill for us to see and hear our younger (& often older) guests delight as they discover our hidden secrets and realise that they really are living and sleeping in over 900 years of history. We hope to welcome you back in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
2.4 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
8.4 mi away
YHA Wye Valley
YHA Wye Valley
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
20.1 mi away
YHA Bristol
YHA Bristol
#6 of 36 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about YHA St Briavels

Address: The Castle Church Street | Lydney, Saint Briavels GL15 6RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Saint Briavels
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA St Briavels 3*
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing