We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bradley Way, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 1BU England
E-mail hotel
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (77)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (4)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Rochford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Whether you come alone or bring your family with you, stay for a night or for several days, stay here while on a business trip or at a conference our hotel is waiting to welcome you.The Rochford Hotel offers the comfort and intimacy of a guesthouse with the service and quality of a hotel. For accommodation in the Rochford/Southend area, look no further than The Rochford Hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
372Reviews2Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 198
  • 103
  • 44
  • 15
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David G wrote a review Sep 2020
Lewes, United Kingdom134 contributions65 helpful votes
First the positives - my double room was a decent size, the bed was very comfortable, shower had great water pressure and was at a sensible height for a 6’ man, and the staff were friendly and very helpful, Unfortunately they were let down by poor maintenance including: - basin plug not working - black mould on shower tiles - dead bolt on door not working - toilet not flushing properly - room not made up on second day. There are no electrical sockets near the bedside tables which I found inconvenient. The breakfast bag was left outside my room before 22:00 on the first night - I couldn’t fancy the yogurt that had been at room temperature for ten hours. The road noise was surprisingly loud given there was double glazing and inner wooden shutters. If it wasn’t for the staff I’d have rated it poor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Fisher, General Manager at The Rochford Hotel
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear David, Thank you for your review and I can assure you that your points raised will be looked into and reported to maintenance. Regrettably changes to our normal operation have been necessary to ensuring we meet Covid secure guidelines. Sincerely The Rochford Hotel
Read more
BL1 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The first room I was shown had live insects crawling on the floor. I ended up hoovering the first room before I asked to be moved. I'm not sure you get many guests hoovering up their own room! I then asked to be moved all the other rooms looked just as dirty. The final room I was shown I found a flea/insect embedded in the towel and when I unravelled the towel in front of the staff member there were dirty marks on it. I suggested they get new launderers. It was horrible so I didn't even stay the night I fled that hotel and found the Holiday Inn very nearby which was much cleaner.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Room Tip: I didn't stay the night as the rooms were infested with insects/fleas and were dirty
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Fisher, General Manager at The Rochford Hotel
Responded Sep 29, 2020
Dear Mrs D Blake-Lawson, Thank you for your review which I am obviously disappointed you have chosen to post. We tried to resolve your issue fairly and professionally with a number of emails exchanged between us. Unfortunately no evidence of fleas or insects were found at the hotel after a full and thorough investigation and you provided no evidence to back up your claims. Your replacement items which you were claiming compensation for are still at the hotel for collection. Please do let us know when it will be convenient for you to collect? Sincerely The Rochford Hotel
Read more
Denise W wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
Stayed for 2 nights for my niece's wedding . From the time we arrived to the time we left found the staff very polite and helpful . Breakfast was nice and wedding food was well presented. Room was excellent.it was nice to be asked if we wanted our room cleaned after first night .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Amy L wrote a review Mar 2020
345 contributions51 helpful votes
For a 3 star hotel, it really is lovely. We stayed for one night. Breakfast included in price. Choice of full English, cereal, toast, pastries, tea, coffee and juices. Tea / coffee making facilities in the room and also for a small 50p charge there is a coffee, tea, hot chocolate matching in the hall way. Considering there was a wedding on, we had no noise disturbances when we returned. Our room was comfy. We booked a single as it was all that was available, but you're not given a single bed. It's a 4ft double, so can accommodate two people if needed. Hair dryer in room Free parking though It is on first come first served basis. If you cannot get parked there is a pay and display carpark right outside the hotel. Will be staying again as it's so close to friends. Lovely staff, hotel and grounds kept clean. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Joanne D wrote a review Dec 2019
13 contributions
Nice hotel and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Full English breakfast but no other options. Did not try the evrning meals. Stayed for couple of nights while attending family event and visiting friends. Very handy for rail station either to Southend or London
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$94 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-SeaRochford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rochford Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Rochford Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rollacity (0.7 miles), The Golden Lion (0.2 miles), and Monkey Bizness (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rochford Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Rochford Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Rochford Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rochford Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rochford Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antica Roma, Skewer House, and Lokanta Cafe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rochford Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Rochford Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Rochford.
Does The Rochford Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rochford Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (4.9 miles), Prittlewell Priory (1.9 miles), and Southchurch Hall (3.3 miles).
Is The Rochford Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.