We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holwell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Don't be seduced by the website - this place is budget. Shared bathrooms, supermarket bought bread, no service, tired decor and uncared for grounds including an overgrown guest garden. The farmhouse in the pictures is not part of the retreat - the family seem to live in this and it is cordoned off. You stay in annexes out at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SnowboardEm
domharvey, Owner at Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat, responded to this review

Oh my gosh we are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we had no idea whilst you were here that you were so unhappy. I feel we need to clarify some points so there are no misconceptions going forward...I'm sorry you found our website misleading, we are definitely not a hotel/spa but a rural retreat, a place... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I love this place. Nothing is too much trouble, its so relaxing. I needed to go to the doctors during the trip and had arrived by train so didn't have a car and Dominic took me there without hesitation. I did the detox with vegetables in the evening. Came back feeling fab. There is always such interesting people staying there... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickynoo2016
domharvey, Owner at Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we do appreciate it and are so pleased your stay was of benefit to you. It makes it all worthwhile. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

This was my first visit to Middle Piccadilly (more to follow I'm sure!) and found it easily. I was welcomed by Dominic at Reception who gave me a quick tour of facilities and then showed me to my room. I had the double shown in the photos above, which was in an out-building, along with my own bathroom and sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank SotonPete
domharvey, Owner at Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Pete, it was lovely to meet. So happy that your visit was of benefit to you, we wish you all the best for the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I recently made my third visit to Middle Piccadilly. I love the quiet, peaceful location; it is situated deep in the countryside, yet it is conveniently only a short taxi ride from Sherborne town. It feels like a home from home and it felt like that the first time I stayed. It is cosy and relaxing. There is no standing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Tough programme for someone who eats far too much-and just have 3 juices a day was hard-I did feel hungry-but I consoled myself it was doing me good-which I am sure it was. The treatments are simply wonderful. The stone massage is the best I have ever had and Maya is a lovely person. The evening were delightful as we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jenmelmar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

I love this place for its tranquillity - back home i have a lot of noise around me, and coming here is just such a rest for my ears. I love the fact that you can pop into the communal kitchen to grab a piece of fruit and see Dom, the owner and the chef, cooking lovingly our lunch or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ariadna_asia
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

In July I spent a wonderful 12 days at Middle Piccadilly. Booking was easy and my requested treatments were incorporated into my schedule. I was welcomed by Dom and given a very pleasant, clean and comfortable en suite room with a nearby sitting room with wifi and computer access. Another larger sitting room in the complex had a good selection... More 

Helpful?
Thank rice7g
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I went with a friend for a relaxing mini-spa break in February. The welcome was very nice and the entire environment was very chilled; country location, extremely peaceful and nice space to lounge and wind-down. The food was excellent - come for this alone! We had juices, raw and vegetarian food - the juices were tasty, the raw food we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This is a review as much for the owners as future guests. I left early as I was not wanting to stay any longer. I did think that Dominic might have enquired whether everything had been satisfactory, but he didn't. The breakfast was poor. I would have thought that someone would have been in the kitchen to make tea, say... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Alex B
Middle S, Owner at Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve our customer service. As we have not received any communication from you since your visit we'd be happy to respond to some of your points: 1. You told us that you had to leave early because of an issue that had occurred at home, we were... More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I choose Middle Piccadilly as it seemed like the perfect place to escape and de-stress after a particularly tough time at work. I booked in for 4 nights and went for the juice option- which I thought was great value for money. When I arrived, i wasn't immediately sure the place was for me as I'd never been anywhere like... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikkiDrizzle
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holwell
3.7 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hunter's Moon
Hunter's Moon
#1 of 1 in Middlemarsh
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll be welcomed to the centre by Dominic and Lisa, where you will find a friendly, informal, 'home from home' atmosphere. This will allow you the time and space to focus on yourself, giving you the opportunity to regain a renewed and positive perspective on life. Time spent 'in retreat' has long been acknowledged as beneficial; it provides a unique opportunity to relinquish everyday commitments and distance yourself for awhile from the hectic pace of life. A visit to the centre will give you outstanding 5* treatments, comfortable guest accommodation, freshly created vegetarian cuisine, a charming rural setting and the peaceful ambiance that makes Middle Piccadilly truly unique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Middle Piccadilly Rural Retreat

Address: Holwell DT9 5LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Holwell
Price Range: $98 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing