We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Merrueshi Ranch Emali-Loitokitok Road, C102, Amboseli National Park 90121 Kenya
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (101)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (7)

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amboseli National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Maasai Simba Camp is in the heart of the Maasai country. The camp is 100% owned and managed by the Maasai tribe. The camp, nested in the deep acacia forest on the banks of the Kiboko River, was built by hand with a rustic charm. The camp is ideal for local safaris to Amboseli National Park and hike to Chyulu Hills. If you dreamed of walking with giraffes and zebras this is the place to realize your dream. It’s a perfect spot for people who love the outdoors. Activities include daily walking safari lead by the Maasai warriors, excursion to Amboseli National Park, meeting with Maasai elders and the women cooperative. Bookings are inclusive of full board (3 meals a day), walking safari in a pristine landscape and exclusive cultural experience with the Maasai. The camp has a 4x4 Safari vehicle with pop-up roof for easy wildlife viewing and photography. The Safari vehicle comes with additional fee. The camp sponsors a village school and health center.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Bridal suite
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint

Location

Full view
Contact
Merrueshi Ranch Emali-Loitokitok Road, C102, Amboseli National Park 90121 Kenya
Getting there
Amboseli Airport28 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
67Reviews3Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 9
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Staying here is different from any other place we've visited in Kenya(and we've tried all ranges of accommodation from self-catering to luxury camping). We love how we are able to get close to the land and to the people in this camp. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the down-to-earth vibe, fantastic meals, how there was a nice balance between activities and downtime to be by ourselves; we had already visited Amboseli on our own steam so we were looking for a different kind of experience for our children. I think it's important to understand that when you visit the Maasai Simba Camp, you are not just a paying tourist but a guest of the community. This is not like Disneyland where you pay an entry fee and then try to get on as many rides as possible to get your money's worth. If that's your mentality, then this place is probably not a good fit for you. The staff here makes every effort to see that you are welcomed, comfortable and that your experience is as rich and interesting as possible. But the people you meet here are real people with family, chores and responsibilities; they are not here to entertain the tourists. Our family of four(children ages 12 and 15) was pleasantly surprised at all the diverse experiences offered to us--the daily nature walks, meeting the Maasai elders, buying beadwork from women's cooperative, local school visit, touring a Maasai home, fire pits in the evenings. Everyone was friendly and genuine; our encounters felt more like cultural exchanges rather than a "cultural show"(which I find disrespectful to the people being put on display for the entertainment of visitors) The whole experience was authentic and special. Both Tom and Kwenia took us on nature walks and these were probably our favorite activities of all because we love being able to hear the birds, smell the wild basil, and see animals as part of their world. I think of all our excursions here in Kenya, this camp will remain in our memory the most.
Read more
We spent 3 nights at the Camp around the New year and really enjoyed as a family (with a boy of 9 years). We did some walks with Quenia (excellent!), visited the school (very interesting), met the Elders and spent time with Masaaia women (very real and interesting experience). It was amazing and very memorable and helped us get some understanding of Maasaia people and their interaction with nature. The camp is very well run, the experience is very private and certainly memorable.
Read more
Response from Kakutah, Manager at Maasai Simba Camp
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear Iwona, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that your experience with Maasai elders, the women cooperative, visit to the local school, and the walking safari experience lead by Kwenia was amazing and memorable experience for your family. It was our pleasure serving you. We wish you a wonderful 2020 year. Best regards,
Read more
It's the worst quality/ price experience I have ever had. You pay 180$/ night to sleep in a room where you can't even flush the toilet (you need to use a bucket in order to do that) and where you have mouses inside. We bought the 4 days - 3 nights package with them. We really loved the walking safaris, one of the best experiences we had in kenya. On day no 2 we had "cultural activities" which included 1-hour meeting with the elder. We were supposed to meet the women association, which I was really excited about, but they canceled it, because supposedly it was a market day for woman. We stayed on more night so we could have done it the next day but when we asked about that, they said it wasn't possible. We were also supposed to visit the school, but they didn't offer us that. Onlty after I claimed that we were supposed to have a day full of cultural activities and we only had a meeting with elders, they agreed to take us to the school. So you have to be pushing for them to make the program you are paying for. On our last day we went for a safari. We were promised to have a safari in a jeep, but they brought a van, which is a worse experience. After reminding them 9again) that we were promised a jeep safari they brought a very dirty (with a lot of dust inside) and old vehicle. It was so noisy that it was our worst day of safari out of our entire trip (we visited 3 more parks after that). Moreover, the jeep's motor engine stopped working IN THE MIDDLE OF THE PARK, VERY CLOSE TO SOME ELEPHANTS, which are quite dangerous in Kenya. We had to LEAVE THE VEHICLE AND PUSH IT in order to make the engine run, while the driver stayed inside. Of course for this game drive we paid extra. Of course, the Maasai Camp is prety far from Amboselli - almost 1 hour. I don't reccomend this place, the Maasai people sit all day long and don't really interact with you. From the bright side: the food was delicious and the cook was a good man. In total: don't stay here, you can find much better places for this price.
Read more
Response from Kakutah, Manager at Maasai Simba Camp
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Magdalina, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously and we have taken note of both your negative and positive comments. This is the first time we have heard disappointment on our exclusive cultural and safari experience. We are very sorry that our program did not meet your expectations. Using a bucket water to flush your washroom was definitely a rare experience. From the onsite supervisor, we learned that a group of Velvet monkeys yanked out a water-pipe and cut off water from your house. The pipe was repaired immediately after. Otherwise, we never had issues with each of our tents and cottages with modern ensuite bathrooms and free toiletries. We acknowledge that our accommodations are rustic but exceptionally comfortable as per reviews from other guests. Amboseli is considered the dust bowl of Kenya. Dust is unforgiving especially during the dry months of July to December before the short rains. We are sorry that our Land Rover vehicle was not dust free during your safari. Our team of guides, however, are glad to hear that the walking Safari was one of the best experiences you had in Kenya. We met as a team and identified ways to make improvement to the specific issues you raised. Our general manager will take the lead in making sure that our future guests will have the best experience possible. We wish you a wonderful 2019. Best Wishes.
Read more
I loved Simba Camp and I fell in love with the Maasai people! The Maasai people are extremely friendly and courteous. I had the privilege to have Kwenia take me on morning and evening walks. He is the most knowledgeable and attentive Maasai Warrior. The campsite is a very nice campsite. The cottage I stayed in was perfect for me. It had a separate bath area and two twin beds. The bed was comfortable, I slept really well.. WiFi worked most of the time, sometimes at night it was a little slow. But it was fine in the morning. I also used WhatsAPP and it worked well. The food was healthy and plentiful with plenty of veggies and fruit. The walks with Kwenia were breathtaking From seeing up close giraffes with babies, to Kwenia showing me how they make toothbrushes and toothpaste, the walks were fantastic. The sunsets were phenomenal. I was privileged to have a sit down with three "Elders" who shared their wisdom with me. Very special. I went to Amboseli on a safari with Tom from, Maasai Simba Camp, as my guide. ABSOLUTELY breathtaking and Tom was extremely knowledgeable. I could write a book on this experience.
Read more
Response from Kakutah, Manager at Maasai Simba Camp
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear Kerry, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy to hear that our camp amenities such as cottages with ensuite bathroom, Wi-Fi connectivity, quality and amount of food was satisfying to you. Our guide team made up of Kwenia and Tom are thrilled to hear that the walking safari and game drive in Amboseli National Park were amazing, fulfilling, and memorable experience for you. It was our pleasure serving you. Best regards,
Read more
+1
Our 3 night stay in Maasai Simba was probably the best trip I've ever had, and wish we could have stayed for longer. Kakuta, Tom, Kwenia, Brian and Sam were so welcoming and accommodating from the minute we arrived. Although we only had 2 full days, we were able to fit in lots of activities. A morning safari walk with Kwenia, two school visits, a meeting with the elders, a village visit and a full day safari in Amboseli national park. The highlights were meeting the Elders, visiting the local school and the morning walks. Meeting the elders was very interesting, and with Tom's help translating we were able to learn a lot about the Maasai way of life. I will also not forget the school visit, the teachers and students were so happy and proud of their school. And don't think you can beat going for a morning walk and bumping into giraffes and zebras! Probably the best thing about Maasai Simba is that it just feels like an extension of the Merrueshi village. We got a real insight into the way the Maasai live, and it's nice to see how much Kakuta and the camp help the local people and school. If you are visiting, definitely bring some supplies for the village people and the school, we were very glad that we did as they really appreciated it. Also when on safari, make sure to make use of Tom because as well as being an excellent driver he is also very good at photography of the animals! Could not recommend this camp and the people who run it highly enough, would love to come back again in the future. Will never forget this visit!
Read more
Response from Kakutah, Guest Relations Manager at Maasai Simba Camp
Responded Jun 8, 2019
Dear Sinead, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that your experience with us meant a lot to you. We always try to deliver the best and make sure that our guests got the most out of their stay in our camp. I'm glad you got to meet our village elders and learn about our traditions and culture. Our school going children had a blast with you! Thanks for sharing your world with our students and teachers. Walking with giraffes and zebra is a unique perspective in addition to seeing wildlife from a landcover inside the park. It was such a pleasure to host you and your friends. On behalf of our team thank you for staying with us in Amboseli. We look forward to hosting you again in your future trip to Kenya.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceAmboseli Eco-systemAmboseli National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maasai Simba Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Maasai Simba Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Maasai Simba Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Maasai Simba Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Maasai Simba Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Maasai Simba Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Maasai Simba Camp offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Maasai Simba Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.