We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good clean spacious room , so very friendly and attentive staff ,food and swimming pool excellent , I found the old Rectory to be cheaper and better than the other hotels I stayed in ,around Norfolk that week , We will be back next year.

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for my 80 year old mother to have a four day break. She told me that everything about her stay was excellent. The staff were especially kind and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. She needed extra cushions for arthritis and after the first time requesting them to sit on at breakfast, somebody rushed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank painter100
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet and accommodate your mother, i know this was a big step for her. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

rickmansworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a single night here at the last minute, and what a good chance choice it was. Staff great, location also very good, the room and bed were excellent. But best of all was the restaurant, we had the best meal we had had for a long time, all for pub prices. And a heated swimming pool to boot.... More 

Helpful?
Thank nevward796
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Really appreciate you taking the time to review and was great to meet you. pleased you enjoyed the restaurant. We hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a very last minute trip, staying one night. We received a warm welcome and the kids loved the pool. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was very nice and served by friendly staff. The only downside was the noise from other rooms and guests during the night. however it only seemed to disturb... More 

Helpful?
Thank dawnjlw
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Glad you and your family enjoyed short time with us. It has certainly been the summer for the pool this year!. Hope to see you again if you are this way again. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've just returned from our friend's wedding. We had an amazing time. The food was lovely and the venue was ideal. The staff were friendly and made the bride and groom feel really supported. We finished off with a swim in the pool. It was really warm, despite the overcast weather. Would recommend for a wedding.

Helpful?
Thank Traveller2601
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and congratulations to the newly weds. It was a great day and fabulous atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The double room ensuite that I booked was nothing like I had expected from the photo on the website. We were shown to room 21 with a four poster double bed and a rather tired looking gloomy room. I did not feel well and did not complain but in retrospect I feel very disappointed in the hotel and would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajstevens0n
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, i can see you had cancelled, then re booked and modified the booking which changed from the super king bedroom to a standard. I am guessing this is the confusion relating to the room imagery. Please contact me should you wish to discuss this further. More 

SPALDING
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We choose this hotel because it has adjoining rooms which enable my wife and I to take our 3 grandchildren (11,10,7) and still have privacy. Both rooms have full facilities with bathrooms. The childrens' room has 3 single beds The hotel is convenient for Norwich, The Broads (Wroxham is close) and the coast.

Helpful?
Thank APOLLO1991
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you all again. More 

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Last weekend we took over the entire hotel for our son's wedding. The ceremony, decorations, reception, food and rooms were all faultless. The staff were all attentive, hard-working and keen to please. The owner, Ian, could not have been more helpful and the same is true of Becky, the wedding organiser. Outstanding in all regards. Thank you so much for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and what a pleasure it was to be part of the special day. Congratulations to the newly weds, hoping they are having a lovely honeymoon and best wishes for the future. More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights when attending a friend's wedding. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. There was a wedding in the hotel (different than the one we were attending) and i was slightly concerned with the noise. However, we were given a room entirely at the end of the corridor which was certainly well-thought through and welcomed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank doortje_d
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and pleased you had a nice stay. More 

Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

From the photos this looks like a quiet period hotel but most, if not all of the rooms, are in a modern annex. It is also situated on a very busy main road that is very noisy. The overflow car park is quite a way from the reception so our tip would be to drive up to reception and unload... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Localyokel2013
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We value all of our customer feed back and act where ever possible. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
10.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Price Range: $89 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay