We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kazbegi Municipality Kazbegi Municipality, Gudauri 4702 Georgia
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (97)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (20)

About

#6 of 22 hotels in Gudauri
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.6
Value
3.8
Located 2172 meters above the sea level hotel Carpe Diem offers a perfect mix of rustic adventure and luxury accommodation in charming Gudauri. Our team provides a comfortable stay in any one of our 61 stunning rooms with free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, bathroom perfumery and other amenities. We offer a wide variety of tasty and healthy breakfast & dinner dishes, as well as a lunch at our restaurant or terrace. In addition, you can enjoy a brand new spa center, cinema and meeting facilities or rent a full range of skiing equipment at our Ski Rental shop.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Ski rentals
Ski school
Babysitting
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Skiing
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Solarium
24-hour security
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Sun deck
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Georgian

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
149Reviews4Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 40
  • 32
  • 20
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
VickiA wrote a review May 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates80 contributions92 helpful votes
This is our 4th time to Gudauri for skiing, but our first time to Carpe Diem. We always stay in Old Gudauri versus New Gudauri because whilst there are probably more restaurants over that side, the ski gondola over at New Gudauri becomes so insanely busy that I don't believe it's worth it. That said, we have always stayed at one of the ski-in/ ski-out hotels, and Carpe Diem was a decent option. The breakfast selection isn't expansive, and I wouldn't rate the dinner/ dining experience whatsoever. There was one or two little restaurants just next to the hotel that we found with very good food and excellent pricing. The duplex room we stayed in was large and the ski locker area was better than I've seen in some of the other hotels we've stayed in. Overall, the location of this hotel is it's winning attribute
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mariam C wrote a review Apr 2022
Tbilisi, Georgia111 contributions66 helpful votes
This hotel offers various services, including the swimming pool, ski rental, restaurants, movie screenings, etc. The rooms were very clean and well designed. The balconies have great views. It is very close to the 2nd ski lift, which has central cafes and ski lift ticket office as well. The hotel also has a parking space.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mizantrop wrote a review Mar 2022
Jerusalem, Israel19 contributions21 helpful votes
It all started when the snow blocked the road, we arrived with a minibus that couldn’t reach the entrance because the hotel didn’t bother to clean the driveway. We were forced to make our way by foot with luggage and ski equipment. Then for the whole week of our stay no one cleaned the ice from the stairs outside, making the very dangerous to step on. Along with 3 meters long ice cones hanging from the roof. The restaurant here has a very poor menu, and the heat was broken. They promised us a Georgian food evening on Wednesday, but when we showed up there was nothing of the sort, just the regular poor menu. The sauna ovens are overheating out of control and there are old rusty, broken showers. There’s no safe in the room, only if you ask. And then they give you a safe box that isn’t anchored to anything. The bathroom is dripping water from the ceiling. The shower itself is clogged. The TV in the room is old and small, works very bad, shows mostly Georgian channels, an a couple of Putins propaganda. The mini bar/fridge in the room isn’t working. And the hotel’s staff answer to everything is: “that’s how it is, we cant do anything about it.”
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rohrig26 wrote a review Jan 2022
Vail, Colorado68 contributions4 helpful votes
Horrible doesn't really give this hotel a low enough rating. The rooms and building are in a state of disrepair not to mention our room was dirty. The breakfast is subpar. But the biggest downfall is the staff. Georgians as a people are some of the nicest in the world, but the staff at the CD were pathetic. We requested a meeting with a manager 3 separate times. Had someone from the hotel contacted us, I wouldn't have written a review as I know how damaging it can be. However, no one has bothered to try to make amends, so here you go. There are many, many wonderful hotels in the area, save yourself the money and frustration and avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Jan 31, 2022
Dear rohrig26, thank you for the review. We work day and night to make the stay of all of our guests special and we are extremely disappointed to see your comment. During the winter season we host around 150 guests every day and I am sorry that the manager could not meet you in person. We do pay attention to the reviews and giving us more specific points on what to improve on would have helped us. If you would give us another chance I would personally meet and make sure your stay is as good as it is for the rest of our guests. On behalf of the entire team, I apologize for the shortcomings and hope to see you again. Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FSP wrote a review Mar 2020
22 contributions5 helpful votes
Perfect stay for a ski holiday. Despite the negative reviews that we read about in preparation to our stay, we found this hotel very nice. Breakfast and dinner included, good spa facilities, friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Mar 27, 2020
Dear 252sabinap, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are glad you chose us and had a great stay! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David from Dubai wrote a review Mar 2020
41 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights at Carpe Diem. The rooms were of a nice standard and we made use of the spa each day after skiing which we really enjoyed. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a good quality (Eastern European / Georgian style). We were full after each meal and found the staff friendly. I would certainly recommend this hotel! My only comment is that hotel reservations should be quicker at responding to emails to book the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Mar 27, 2020
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. Right now we are in the process of implementing new software which will make our reservation team more efficient. Thus, we will be able to answer faster. Welcome back in the future! Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel White wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Please, please, please do not stay here. We spent 4 nights here over Christmas and it was my worst hotel experience to date. I could write war and peace about how bad this hotel is but I'll try and summarise for you. Food- shockingly bad. I found a hair in one of the dishes. The standard is really bad. Most of it I wouldn't feed to my dog. The breakfast is much worse than dinner- there are undercooked boiled eggs, frankfurters, sticky/ dry pasta from the night before, coffee machines which are consistently faulty and take an age to make a tiny cup. The food is not consistently replenished either- if you don't get there early you'll miss out. The service as well is rubbish. Culterly running out and not being replenished, staff on their mobile phones rather than taking drinks orders etc. etc. *Dinner was delayed 1hr 15mins one night as they decided to replace a ceiling light. No notice of this, they just decided to do it then. Then of course it blew half way through dinner, once we actually got in there. Facilities- there is no bar. There is a tiny one outside where there are no heaters. I never anyone use this, and no staff in it either. The swimming pool/ spa was being 'renovated' whilst we were there. We kept being told 'ready tomorrow' but this was a lie; we could see the building site through the window from outside. The location of this hotel is rubbish too. It's a 15 minute, icy walk to the village, where you want to be! The rooms themselves are actually quite nice. But definitely not worth the time when you consider the rest of this "hotel". This is not one of the best hotels on Gudauri, neither is it one of the best places to eat. The new manager, Joseph, was a very nice chap. He's fighting a losing battle here. The rest of the staff are on obnoxious.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear dmaw35, thank you for your feedback. Your comments came as a huge disappointment to us. We work day and night to make the stay of our guests special. Unfortunately, I cannot see your name to get in touch with you in person and discuss the details. I would be glad to personally meet and make sure your stay is as smooth as of our other guests should you decide to give us another chance in the future. In any case, your comments are heard and we will address them accordingly. Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harriet M wrote a review Jan 2020
155 contributions20 helpful votes
I can't comprehend how this hotel has 3.5 stars and would not advise you to stay here. Firstly, the amenities advertised are completely inaccurate; There is no swimming pool, sauna, bar, karaoke, ski hire, ski school, or nightclub. We queried when the spa would be ready and each day the staff told us 'tomorrow' - after a few days, we went to see for ourselves and were horrified to find that the pool area was a building site; 'tomorrow' was a huge lie. The food here is terrible - I am dairy free and for breakfast on Christmas Day, I had a frankfurter, some cold, undercooked penne, and a few green olives. Dinner was much the same and dishes were not restocked in any hurry resulting in long queues forming. Dinner was an hour late one night with no notification as they were installing a new light fitting - half way through dinner, every bulb in the dining room blew and we were left to eat in the dark with no apologies. The staff chew gum while tending to the buffet, film around the room without guest's permission and the dining music is a poor quality stream of offensive rap music. Staff were lazy and unhelpful, toilet paper was not replenished, the pillows are enormous and firm resulting in neck ache... I could go on but I hope you get the picture. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear 654harrietm, thank you for your feedback. Your comment is disappointing for us to read. Our spa centre is up and running now. We welcome all of our guests at the brand new swimming pool, sauna, massage room and solarium. We have also completely changed the buffet. As you mentioned, we had an issue with the light fixture, which had been fixed the same evening. Sometimes things that we do not have a control on happens and then we only hope for our guests understanding and forgiveness. Your comment is heard and will be used for our improvements. Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marion S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Overall, very bad value for money. Definitely not a 4-star hotel. - Unlike shown on any of the online pictures, there is another building directly in front of the hotel, blocking the mountain view for most rooms. This is basically fake advertisement. The argument is that "the pictures on Booking.com are not up-to-date" - but the other building was built years ago, so this is one of many lies from management. The pics on their official website are similarly totally misleading. - Spa facilities were not unavailable until 31 December - they should have finished works BEFORE season opening!.. - Poor quality for breakfast, with inconvenient timings (8 - 10 am and to 6 to 8 pm). At 10.01 literally staff were taking all food away (same goes for diner - so we decided to eat out as from the 2nd day). There was also no coffee for 1 full day, so we had to ask at the bar, who said it would be charged extra (!) + Location is good, as close to 1 ski lift and close enough to walk to New Gudauri where most bars are located. + Thank you to Natia, one of the managers, who was the only helpful and professional staff members. --> Given the price per night for a standard room in high season (around 130€), very expensive for Georgian standards, this is very disappointing. Many other guests have provided similar feedback, but management does not take any into account. As a result they can expect all clients to choose to stay at the Radisson instead when it will open.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear Q2552XImarions, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked our location and had a great experience with our friendly team. Our prices are set according to the expenses we have and by considering the hotel category as well as prices in the Gudauri area. Your comments are heard and will be used for our improvements. I would be glad to personally meet and make sure your stay is as smooth and enjoyable as of our guests should you decide to give us another chance. Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julien wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We are usually easy-going travellers but this was a series of disappointments. The bedroom was nowhere near as good as on the pictures – old furniture, a very hard mattress and a view completely blocked by the buildings next-door (built after the pictures were taken); the spa was unavailable for most of our stay (and very noisy when open); the reception & kitchen staff unable to fix problems, including all 3 coffee machines that were out of service for breakfast. So we left a day early (no refund of course). On the plus side, congratulations to the staff member called Natia who repeatedly did her best to try to sort things out in this challenging context. Also, the hotel is located next to a ski lift & close to New Gudauri (many bars & restaurants) but it will have to improve its service before the Radisson opens…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from tatogugen, Marketing Manager at HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear JulienTbilisi, thank you for your feedback here in Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked our amazing location and had a great experience with our housekeeping manager Natia. Your comments are heard and we will address them accordingly. Best regards, Tato Gugenishvili, Marketing Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Carpe Diem Gudauri
LOCATION
GeorgiaMtskheta-Mtianeti RegionGudauri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HOTEL CARPE DIEM
Which popular attractions are close to HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Nearby attractions include Gudauri Paragliding ski Resort (0.4 miles), Insider's PUB (0.5 miles), and Vehakhi (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Conveniently located restaurants include Powder Bar Gudauri, Gudauri Travel Bar, and Restaurant Truso.
Are there opportunities to exercise at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HOTEL CARPE DIEM?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, and Georgian.
Does HOTEL CARPE DIEM have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.