We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location but a once nice unit was showing its age. Crockery and cutlery is a mixed bunch and all needed washing before use. There is a microwave oven but no bowl that can be used in it. We had to buy a bowl and we had to buy spray to defeat the ants and cockroaches. We still had a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alansS4549UQ
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed the place immensely. The lap pool is brilliant. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no WiFi in any of the apartments, and in the apartment we had, there was no cell phone coverage - and had to go outside the complex to get any decent coverage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 348gailb
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Large and spacious rooms with great ocean views from the balcony. A little dated but offers a pool, playground and right next door to shops and cafes. Being on the marina you don't have to travel far for some whale watching experiences.

Helpful?
Thank marylG2446FE
Wollongong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in a Studio apartment beautiful view. Very clean really enjoyed our stay would recommend it for anyone. We are a mature couple who attended a wedding it had amenities forall ages pool,tennis, playground equipment for little ones.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Speerhead
Gympie Region, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

a relaxing time living areas were very good, beds were comfortable able to get a good nights sleep area was very quite garage was too small for our vehicle and we were unable to open doors to unpack or to load on the departure morning

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank terryl317
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Direct access onto lovely beach. Great views towards Fraser Island. Very good location for young children. Playgrounds.Close to Marina for Whale watching trips and ferry to Fraser Island.Restaurants and Boat Club nearby. Excellent reception staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 485lindsayg
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

WOW - thankyou for your 5 star review. We are so pleased you had a beautiful stay in Hervey Bay. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My Hervey Bay getaway was one of its kind with waterfront sunrises and entertainment as well as being in a convenient location right near restaurants and entertainment. It was a very spacious suite with cooking utensils and electric appliances. Unfortunately we noticed mould on the kettle in the kitchen on the inside and on the curtains. There was a pickup... More 

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank tamoraharkness
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry you experienced some cleaning issues while you were staying with us, I hoped our team rectified them straight away for you? More 

Redland City, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The view from our balcony overlooked the beach and the bay over to Fraser Island. It was beautiful and very relaxing. The landscaping around the complex was a credit to the maintenance staff. We had a 1 bedroom unit that was more than adequate for us and it was well laid out with ample cooking facilities (but we didn't use... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tonymaralynd
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Sounds like you had a fabulous stay with us. Great work! More 

varsity
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lounge was obviously rejected by the homeless-dirty, torn and under the cushions was a piece of board to stop it from collapsing. Bathroom so small only 1 person could get in at a time. Hairdryer over toilet and I couldn't reach it to do my hair. Asked for a ground floor unit-Got a 1st floor 2 bedroom and had to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cathaypaul
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Cathaypaul. We will certainly discuss upgrade options with the owner in concern. Thank you for providing this feedback, I'm so sorry you felt devastated - we want all our guests to have an enjoyable time with us. If you are willing to give us a second chance, please don't hesitate in contacting us directing at... More 

Travelers are raving about these Urangan hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The views from the Windows made getting up early a pleasure just have a cuppa and watch the sunrise was special loved it easy walking distance to restaurants all the mod cons a better washing machine that washed a load in good time instead of taking an hour and a half for the quickest load would be great and a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 38heathert
ManagerHB2, General Manager at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I hoped you let our reception team know about the issues you were experiencing with the washing machine so we could look into replacing it? I'm glad you enjoyed the views - they are pretty spectacular. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
0.1 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#7 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#2 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#8 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa
Oceans Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Urangan
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits is located in Australia's whale watching capital, Hervey Bay. With a great location you can easily take a stroll to the main shopping, restaurant and cafe areas or just kick back, relax and enjoy the wide range of onsite leisure facilities ideal for families. Boasting safe beaches, pristine waterways, great fishing and boating, along with some of the world's most unique natural attractions, the Fraser Coast is a rare destination. Between July and November, Hervey Bay becomes an aquatic playground with the annual migration of more than 3,000 Humpback whales between Antarctica and the Great Barrier Reef. The sleepy seaside town is also the primary gateway to the world's largest sand island and World Heritage-listed area, Fraser Island. The resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments with all room types offering air conditioning, kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, balcony or patio with views, TV and laundry facilities (studios have shared laundry facilities). There is also a three bedroom penthouse with all the same facilities mentioned as well as a spa bath. The one bedroom apartment also has a spa bath. The resort has a range of onsite facilities sure to keep the whole family entertained. There are two pools, a sauna, tennis courts, BBQ area and for the kids a children's play area and a games room. BreakFree Great Sandy Straits offers the ideal location for a family holiday or weekend getaway to Hervey Bay on Queensland's Fraser Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Great Sandy Straits

Address: Great Sandy Straits Marina 17 Buccaneer Dr, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Price Range: $62 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Great Sandy Straits 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BreakFree Great Sandy Straits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Great Sandy Straits Hotel Urangan
BreakFree Great Sandy Straits Hervey Bay, Australia - Urangan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay