We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cholwell Hall

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clutton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cholwell Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

I had a large hen party of 25 to organise so we needed a big house and this is a mansion and the venue is ideal as its halfway between Bristol and Bath. The house has a large games room which we used as our party area (lots of room to dance!) and a big kitchen with all the equipment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank welshuk
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

I booked Cholwell Hall to celebrate my 40th birthday with some friends. Lucy was so helpful with information to hand to help with the planning. The house itself is huge, there were 22 of us and there was plenty of space for a group of that size. The beds were very comfy and the house was very clean. Its a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amandaberry2016
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Colwell Hall is a grand old building that is currently in a state of disrepair, which means that a weekend here feels more like being stuck inside a rundown nursing home, or hippie squat. Much of the soft furnishing is in very poor condition, with many of the chairs in the living room stained or ripped to the point that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
LucyBell-Cholwell, Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this review

Same group as Ben J below. We had to evict this group. Am not sure what service is provided by giving multiple publicity to a group whose behaviour fell well below the norms. More 

Travelers are raving about these Clutton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

We had been looking forward to this Christmas party for months. However we were harassed over the weekend by the caretaker. This culminated on Sunday when we were in nearby Bath for a curry. We returned to find our possessions had been packed up and put outside. Leaving us to find hotels, friends floors to sleep on, or return home... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank Ben J
LucyBell-Cholwell, Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this review

Harassed? Most of our guests are very nice, decent people who have been warmly welcomed here to enjoy wonderful facilities. We are less welcoming to the minority who lose control of themselves and cannot behave properly. Cholwell Hall is a well-run ship! Thankfully, problem-groups are very few, but drunk and stoned are not the groups we welcome. In this case... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cholwell Hall was ample for our party of 20 adults and 3 children. It's large enough for you not to feel you are on top of one another. The places they recommended for catering and eating out were all good. Ian made sure we had all the information we needed and very helpful when one if our party had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15marieandChris
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Cholwell Hall worked really well as a "hen do" venue. The house is comfortable, warm, a bit quirky and the beds, bathrooms & kitchen are spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well equipped with lots of crockery & cutlery, and an immense wine/beer fridge! We managed to churn out home made pizzas for 20+ on Friday night and eat them round... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Christine H
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have just returned home from having spent 2 nights at Cholwell Hall. I went there with 12 of my daughters friends for a hen party to celebrate her forth coming wedding. I can not speak highly enough of Ian, Lucy and team for the excellent service we received from them. We were due to go to another venue when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine E
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I tried to book this venue for a friends and their families get together in November but, having sent a request for information email and indeed received a reply, I then decided there were quite a few questions I needed to ask so I requested a telephone number which was refused saying that I could ask as many questions as... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank casafiori
LucyBell-Cholwell, Guest Relations Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this review

This review should be read in conjunction with the earlier one from "CRandy84", as they are friends who are working together to secure the return of a deposit for a booking that the group cancelled. This was a bogus enquiry - the person had no intention of booking but was trying to help her friend and I will try to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a very honest and fair Tripadvisor reviewer and I don't enjoy leaving such a bad review but I feel I need to warn others against booking Cholwell Hall. The booking secretary Lucy is terrible at responding to emails and it is impossible to find a telephone number in which to contact anybody on regarding a booking. We booked... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank cday84
portsmouth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for a surprise 40th birthday weekend. The place is very large, and easily accommodated the 28 of us. The largest bedroom became home for 8 kids and they loved it. It is definately a house for a large group, but everything was very clean, and everything worked.... The garden was great for the kids, just enough to keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodydog666
LucyBell-Cholwell, Guest Relations Manager at Cholwell Hall, responded to this review

That's super, thank you for your kind words. You were a great group, and it was a pleasure to take your booking. Behind the scenes, quite a few people (house-keeper, maintenance man, cleaners, and dare I include myself ..) put a lot into making the guest experience pleasant. How nice it is to get a pat on the back, a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clutton
2.0 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cameley Lodge
Cameley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Temple Cloud
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mezze at The Warwick Arms
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Rest Inn
The Hunters Rest Inn
#1 of 4 in Clutton
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#1 of 1 in Farrington Gurney
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cholwell Hall is a fine country house a few miles from Bath. We specialise in large groups (15 - 24, max 29) for short breaks, eg family gatherings, hen parties, stag parties, and also corporate team building. Most groups book a weekend, but midweeks work out cheaper if you have that option. There are 10 bedrooms, some of them massive with several beds. There are 6 bathrooms. On the ground floor a large stately dining room can seat up to 30, and there is a large lounge with central fireplace that also has games equipment at one end. There is also a large well equipped kitchen with wood-burning stove. The bookings are self-catering, but you are welcome to use our list which has of caterers, entertainers, and activity ideas. The Hall is set in private landscaped grounds of 1.5 acres, with own swimming pool (summer months). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cholwell Hall

Address: Cholwell Hall Upper Bristol Road | near Bath, Clutton BS39 5TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Clutton
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing