We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lion

Traveler (63)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf course
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Dinner, bed & breakfast

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 5 miles
6Attractionswithin 5 miles
363Reviews
1Q+A
67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 264
  • 70
  • 15
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
On our way back to Oxford from Chester we stopped for dinner. We were so impressed we resolved to come back for an overnight stay. The staff are so friendly, the room was cosy and the food exceptionally good - all this at a very reasonable price. Give it a try.
Read more
Staying at the Lion was a lovely weekend treat, the room was cosy and well cleaned and the staff were helpful and very kind. The sun was out so we were lucky enough to have a few Gin and Tonics by the river. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Response from Penn01, Owner at The Lion
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
A fair priced 1,2, or 3 course fixed price menu was on offer on Mothers Day with something for the vegetarian, meat and fish eater and those who are gluten free. We got a table at 3 and it was one of three sittings and very busy on arrival. Despite having to wait a short time
Read more
I visited The Lion yesterday at lunchtime and was pleasantly surprised at the interesting menu, in fact it was difficult to choose as it all looked good! I decided on the butternut and sage tortellini with spinach and leek cream from the starter menu and my companion had a
Read more
Response from Penn01, Owner at The Lion
Responded Mar 20, 2019
Thank you so much for visiting and for leaving your review. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Fabulous location, warm welcome by friendly helpful staff. Close friends recommended, we were in the area and so took opportunity to visit, unfortunately we only had time for drinks - menu choice looked good, as did the food being served. Can’t wait to return.
Read more
Response from Penn01, Owner at The Lion
Responded Mar 8, 2019
Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Previous
Hi I think there is a bus that takes you right into ludlow town which is about 25 mins away hope this helps but I would ask at the lion just to make sure x
0 votes
Show all answers
"We did not stay, only had a meal"
"Ask for a rear facing room"
"we didn't stop at hotel only ate there !"
"River view"
"Maybe at the back!"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lion hotel leintwardine
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLeintwardine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing