We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helen was so helpful and friendly even before I arrived, when she found out that I had an interview nearby she really couldn't do enough to help and even offered to help me get there. Got an introduction email letting me know about the area and things I might want to know for my stay, very helpful info for anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Me and my partner arrived at the cottage around 2pm on Saturday and were welcomed by Helen. The cottage has a double bedroom with an en suite bathroom and a lovely dining, kitchen area which was perfect. Helen had provided breads, tea's, coffee's, jams, juices, yogurts and fruity for breakfast. The cottage is located a short distance from Cambridge City...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaR92
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We stayed in the little cottage at the side of the b&q which was superb. There's a fully equipped kitchenette and Helen supplied fresh fruit, milk, bread and everything else you could need. There is a lovely seating area to sit out on a warm evening and listen to the Owls nearby. The village is stunning and the whole experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
Wales, UK
Reviewed February 28, 2016

We (husband, wife and adult son) were heading north from Heathrow after a long flight and found this gem as an overnight stay en route. A delightful, private, detached cottage (barn conversion I guess) with beautiful furnishings and open beams. Main bedroom for two, and a comfy sofa bed for one. Everything for a delicious continental breakfast was provided -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fran-and-Pete
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2015

I booked this cottage in advance, just before we left I read some of the reviews and was a little concerned. But on arrival we found a wonderful little two room cottage. Very nicely done out and very comfortable. Plenty of cereal, fruit and bread for breakfast, tea, coffee and hot chocolate too. We were very happy with it all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill18746
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed here for one night and it was great, our own little cottage with all the amenities, Bedroom en suite and a small living room with kettle, microwave and toaster, perfect for me and my husband. Helen the lady that owned the property was very friendly and helpful, there was plenty of tea, coffee, bread and cereal for breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison H
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2014

Booked this last stop on our round Britain trip in January for our September visit ....Only to find on arrival all closed up !! No phone call to tell us ? We had to find alternative accommodation at last minute..Not easy as had to be dog friendly !! In end we stayed in Hertfordshire.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Romany65
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. I don't know what happened other than to say there must have been a booking mishap - but I do sincerely apologise. We have had a complete refurbishment and are now under new management. This won't happen again.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2014

When I booked a night recently at The Pear Tree Inn, the site I used still wrongly called The Pear Tree an inn. But like others before me, we discovered it was not. To be fair to the owner, I knew this before we arrived as I had rung to confirm details and he informed me that the pub was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charlie w
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry about this. We have refurbished and have taken on board what you say and have upped our efforts 1000% in order to re-establish our reputation. Sincere apologies again, but we are now under new management and are doing our best to make a stay at our B&B a pleasant experience.

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I very rarely write a poor review on Trip Advisor – mainly because most of the places we stay or eat at have come recommended on Trip Advisor. Here is the exception. When we booked the Pear Tree Inn, the past reviews of this place were very positive, being part of a pub with good ale, nice restaurant, cooked breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It is such a shame that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are now under new management and doing our best to re-establish our reputation by refurbishing and paying more attention to detail! It is indeed a shame that the B&B is no longer next to a pub, but it was completely beyond our control. But the Dog...

Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Could not agree more with the previous reviewer. We were under the impression it was still a pub so was very disappointed when we turned up. You get a bed but not really a breakfast. Previous reviewers said they had cooked breakfasts and we had a fridge in the room with some bread, milk, yogurts and old bananas. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve_Emma_88
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We have newly moved into the Pear Tree in HIldersham and have refurbished and are doing our best to re-establish our good reputation. There is in fact free WIFI which is available everywhere in our B&B, but unfortunately, some mobile phones do not work in our area (as far as I know Orange and O2 are the best). We have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hildersham
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
164 reviews
4.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
205 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The accommodation is in a detached cottage in the grounds of The Pear Tree house(we used to be a pub but have been closed for 2 years). The accommodation carries a 4 star rating. Hildersham is a tranquil village only 6 miles south of Cambridge and 5 minutes from the Park and Ride. There are many country walks from The Pear Tree and the river Granta runs through the village. The accommodation has a double en-suite room and a further (interleading - no door inbetween) room with a day bed that converts into two single beds. This can be used as a sitting room. This room also contains a table with four chairs for dining and a fully-equipped kitchenette. Both rooms have flatscreen TVs. Breakfast is continental and you will find it in the cottage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Address: High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hildersham
Price Range: $107 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay in Cambridge!”
 of 5 bubbles Steve_Emma_88, Jul 29, 2014 | Read review
“Pub is shut on Monday so you would need to eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Robin Goodfellow, Jul 17, 2012 | Read review
“There is only one room in the adjacent small barn. I X Double en- suite + Family room sleeps 2/3 kids. Clean & tidy. A few teething issues but know these will be sorted out. More current info of surrounding area + Travel info for Taxis buse etc. Extra glasses in en-suite. Small fridge a great idea Poppy but a bit noisy thro night. Excellent parking. Complimentary Teas,Coffee & biscuits good quality. Thank you for fresh milk. (yes fresh milk) Heating a bit out of sinque.”
 of 5 bubbles IAINCHEF, May 23, 2012 | Read review
“They only have one room so get in early if you want to stay there.”
 of 5 bubbles LynS193, May 14, 2012 | Read review
“Only have one room at present.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneT584, May 13, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay