We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Stop In Family Hotel

314 Ray Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5R3, Canada (Formerly Family Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stop In Family Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

I get laid everytime I stay here. Usually a good Tailgate party in the parking lot too. Highly recommended if u like authentic Yukon fun. Cabs swarm like sharks and Tim Hortons is 24 hours.... this is the good life

Helpful?
1 Thank texfromthebay
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We got laid over in Whitehorse because our plane was delayed and we missed our connections. We booked at a different hotel, but there was a convention in town and we got booked into a full hotel and were moved to this one. Sketchy people, ugly rooms, there was a hole in the dry wall, the lamp shade was crooked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank x_goody2shoes_lila

Travelers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

A very forgetful stay is the most I can say. The room was small and dark, and very dated, and this was also true of the bathroom, which looked in need of an upgrade some years ago. And the bed was unusually small, and had an odd smell. The hotel is fairly centrally located, but does not have a food... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrewnp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We reserved a room and told them we would be late. We were informed no worries you have a reservation. They took all of the credit card info and again confirmed that we were set when we arrived. I arrived about 230 am and was ready to sleep from a long drive. However when I went inside I told the... More 

Helpful?
15 Thank Matthew S
Fraser Valley BC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

No rooms anywhere in town as Whitehorse was hosting a festival so this was the only place we could get Needs lots of tlc - dirty and old. CSI would have a field day with the ceiling stains. We were on the top floor, our neighbours returned to their rooms at 4.15 am very noisy so that was the end... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank happybctraveller
Beaver Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are an aspiring field reporter or general adventure-seeking gadabout, the showers here will be good training for experiencing a hurricane. I'm surprised how many bad reviews here, maybe I was lucky. New bed, new TV, free parking/internet/cable, and a clean room. Whitehorse hotels are not fancy. I had a better experience here than at the Westmark or Canada's... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Don B
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We rented four rooms with my colleagues for work because the better hotels in town were all full. Customer service is below zero, their Internet service is extremely slow, and worst: no heating at all in the rooms. It is the 20th of September in Whitehorse and there is no heating!!. The rooms are very small and outdated. We asked... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Albernio
Daljeet D, Owner at Stop In Family Hotel, responded to this review

There are several inaccuracies and extenuating circumstances not addressed in this review. On September 20th , there was a wind storm that resulted in a power and telecommunications outage in Whitehorse. The following link to a local newspaper article attests to that: http://www.whitehorsestar.com/archive/story/woes-began-with-a-toppled-tree-near-kulan/ Naturally, with power and telecommunications being out, this would impact heating systems and our internet service. These... More 

Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nothing is cheap in Whitehorse, but this older hotel, recommended to me at the local motorcycle emporium, was reasonably priced, clean, and had in the building a large laundromat, a hair salon, and an excellent Indian restaurant. The room was standard, neither fancy nor shabby. The Sikh family that operates the hotel were friendly and courteous, and made my one-night... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank PSU-NHDad
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I wanted to stay at the Best Western or Westmark or High Country, but they were all sold out. Every place in Whitehorse was sold old even the bed and breakfasts, this place had stained linens, stained towels and stained shower curtain. I woukd have rather slept in my truck.

Helpful?
8 Thank JD778
Management response:

I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your satisfaction. If you had pointed out the stained linens, they would have been gladly and promptly replaced. However, if the guest does not point this out while staying at our premises, then how are we to rectify the issue? I assume you were happy just to be getting any... More 

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here twice, once on the way north and again on the way home. It's an older motel and the hallways smell a bit dusty and musty but our room was fine.......everything was clean and comfortable. On our second stay, a man overcharged us on the room rate (unknown to us) but shortly after we reached our room the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mouselady
Daljeet D, Owner at Stop In Family Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback you have provided. Our hotel strives to cater to budget travellers looking for less expensive yet clean and adequate rooms. Our room rates are on average $50 to $70 cheaper than similarly sized rooms at competing hotels. We think our repeat customers appreciate being able to spend that money on an extra tank of gas for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#13 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#6 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
The Town and Mountain Hotel
The Town and Mountain Hotel
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#7 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Stop In Family Hotel

Address: 314 Ray Street, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5R3, Canada (Formerly Family Hotel)
Location: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Price Range: $78 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stop In Family Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stop In Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Hotel Whitehorse
Stop In Family Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay