We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre

Save
Share
201 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/19/21
Priceline
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/19/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
$144
$110
View deal
SAVE $34
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$122
Expedia.com$122
StayForLong$144
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (147)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (9)

About

#11 of 13 hotels in Whitehorse
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. The Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre offers 181 guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Sternwheeler is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
567Reviews9Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 134
  • 230
  • 92
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
JK92262 wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California48 contributions27 helpful votes
Driving through Yukon on the way to Northern California. Whitehorse was a convenient place to stop. Was not thrilled by the property. Couldn't use key to enter the hotel (even after we had checked in). Desk clerk had to come and open the door for us. Room was passable, weird hallways. It was close to Tim Horton's though. That was a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Louis R Gagnon, General Manager at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Responded Sep 23, 2020
Hello JK92262 Thank your for your comments. We regret the inconvenience you experienced accessing the Hotel. Covid-19 has changed a few of our policies, one being that the Hotel is now secured in the evening. We regret that the lock mechanism didn't function on your key, but happy that the Guest Service Agent was able to let you in and ensure your safe egress. Indeed our hallways have a certain charm due to the construction of the Hotel on perma frost many years ago, a typical issue here in the Yukon. We like to think of them as character versus weird. All the best and Safe Travel!
Read more
Albert M wrote a review Apr 2020
Anchorage, Alaska50 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night. This hotel Is very, very WORN out and in need of major repairs. Carpets are nasty. No telling when the last time these were cleaned or replaced. Multiple patches on walls and ceilings badly repaired. In room telephone was missing the headset cord so don’t call 9-1-1. Bathroom dimly lit because bulbs were burned out. Room smelled musty. Nasty bathtub. Incompetent front desk staff. Not sure how clean the room was. Don’t even bother staying here. Avoid this place if you value your health!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Louis R Gagnon, General Manager at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Responded Oct 14, 2020
Hello Albert, I have recently taken over the Hotel as GM. Sorry to hear of your experience. Thanks you for taking the time to review and comment. Looks like there is work to do. Safe travels,
Read more
Ali P wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were told multiple times that there was a shuttle to pick us up from the airport. When we got in we had to find our own way to the hotel. We had been told there would be a crib in the room but when we got there they said that they didn’t even have one. The room was dirty and falling apart. After the mix up getting to the hotel I spoke to the front desk about getting a shuttle for our next flight. They assured me it would be ok. I checked later with the manager and he said there was no shuttle that I had to order a taxi and the hotel would pay for it. When I left the hotel the manager was gone and the front desk refused to pay for the taxi. All in all you can trust them at all and the hotel is dirty and gross. This place shouldn’t be in business.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Hohmann, Other at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Dear Guest, Your legitimate complaint was already handled through the Westmark Guests Services Department where it was initially lodged I jus want to assure you that this is not the usual standard of the hotel but the current situation has obliged us to cut drastically into our staffing force and with the skeleton crew left to operate the hotel, some instructions occasionally get missed out, for which I sincerely apologize. The hotel is aging and a full renovations program was about to get started when the pandemic put this project on hold until next year Again we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations during your recent stay but we will make sure that we learn from this shortcoming and make the necessary adjustments under the tight current circumstances Regards Roland Garoute General Manager
Read more
Justine28 wrote a review Feb 2020
Yellowknife, Canada1874 contributions392 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here just recently for 3 nights to attend a work event happening at the same hotel. This wasn’t my first stay at this property, but unfortunately was my worst experience with them so far. The bad: room # 308 and the bathroom were very dated and the upkeep has been visibly very poor; cleaning wasn’t the best either, one day my room barely got cleaned at all (i.e. I could see they took the garbage out but the bed wasn’t done, tea/coffee hasn’t been replenished etc); the gym was in a really bad shape: broken equipment, didn’t seem very clean, missing yoga mats (again, I stayed here before so I know it used to be pretty good actually, and a pleasure to use, not this time around, though); the conference room we had was just so-so (i.e. we could smell the smoke and hear the noise from staff standing just outside our room, which was distracting); their Internet has been really bad for years, and nothing changed in this regard. The good: the hotel has a good location downtown, within walking distance to many restaurants etc; the staff at front desk and at the restaurant were very good, helpful and check-in/out were a breeze; due to work commitments I had to eat a few meals at the hotel (Steel Restaurant), both at lunch and at dinner time; their vegetarian options are rather limited, but what I tried here, was actually quite tasty. And the staff at the restaurant were superb. All in all, not the worst choice if you have to stay here, but you could also do a lot better in Whitehorse accommodation-wise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex Hohmann, Other at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Justine28, Thank you for a very detailed account of your recent stay at the Westmark Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and the staff service and attitude, I am sorry that our Housekeeping department did not live up to our standards. I will personally organize some fresh training on room cleanliness to make sure that your poor experience is not repeated. As for the overall condition of the hotel and the gym in particular, our owning company is aware of the situation and is engaging in a complete renovation program of the property, interior and exterior, later this year, in order to bring up to level of convenience and comfort it deserves So, I hope that on your next visit you will notice some noticeable improvements that will make your experience more rewarding Regards Roland Garoute General Manager
Read more
Judy P wrote a review Feb 2020
Kelowna, Canada7 contributions7 helpful votes
Efficient, friendly staff Clean hotel Attached restaurant is clean excellent food, huge portions. Staff a bit overwhelmed when busy. Service a bit slow but well worth the wait Rooms comfortable, clean, has a safe, mini fridge, coffee maker. Close to everything downtown. Has a lounge that closes fairly early or when no customers. Reasonably priced. Did not use the fitness facility. Wifi worked well everywhere in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from alexhohmann, General Manager at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time to give your detailed comments on your recent stay at the Westmark We are pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed our restaurant; staff strive to be of service even during very busy periods and we are continuously training them to improve their efficiency whilst remaining friendly and engaging We look forward to welcoming again at our property Roland Garoute General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westmark whitehorse hotel whitehorse, westmark hotel whitehorse, hotel whitehorse
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
LOCATION
CanadaYukonWhitehorse
NUMBER OF ROOMS
181
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include MacBride Museum (0.06 miles), North End Gallery (0.1 miles), and Kwanlin Dün Cultural Centre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Klondike Rib & Salmon, Baked-Cafe & Bakery, and Antoinette's.
Does Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Whitehorse.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sternwheeler Hotel and Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.