We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saskatoon Thriftlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

I travel for work 80% of my week. It's refreshing to walk into a hotel, have them greet you by name, and treat you like a number one customer, even though you may not be. I am always greeted with a smile, and given the best rate possible even during peak times. Beds are super comfy and I don't find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean H
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the really kind review and true statement Sean H! The hospitality industry is about making people feel great, providing value, and being a great ambassador for the city we live in. We are a small property that is often overlooked but we love taking care of the people we know. I will share this with the rest of... More 

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

A noisy place that seems to draw sketchy characters, partiers and work crews. We paid close to $100 for the night, which is on the high end for a "budget" motel. It's close to the railway, the highway and sound seems to come through from every direction. Bad value for the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi David R, Sorry to hear our property wasn't what you were looking for. I would disagree with you on a few of these comments. People like our location as we are close to the airport, close to downtown, and have lots of Restaurants(Ricki's All day grill and pub, Sardinia's, McDonald's, Tim Horton's) close by. Our prices when compared to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Not sure what's going on but this place is now on a steady decline. I first started staying here with work. Things were great. Fast forward to a year later and things are not being cared for. Rooms are gettin cleaned and the bathrooms? Well. They need to be renovated along with everything else. Proper manifolding of the hot water... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kent H
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Working on getting the bathrooms renovated and wish everything could be done overnight. Working on getting rooms repainted, replaced 25 rooms of flooring this year, finished redoing all windows last year, installed a new commercial laundry room(2 industrial washers/2 industrial dryers), Brand new commercial boiler, a new complimentary guest laundry area, renovated the breakfast room this... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

This is a very loud hotel. The freeway is humming until after midnight, not good. Walls are very thin, we were kept up by guests talking quietly and laughing in neighbouring rooms and people wandering, smoking, on cell phones outside our door. Stayed here to fly out early and hoped for 4 hours sleep, might have got 1. There has... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SaskTraveller5
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here while travelling to Manitoba. It was an ok room, comfy bed and nice sitting area. They allow pets. The lady who took my reservation was horribly rude. In fact I said I would call hee back as I had no intentions of staying there after speaking to her. I couldn't find another hotel as a function was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Prices in Saskatoon flucuate. Be careful with online websites that advertise rates as they purposely will post lower rates for future dates but not the dates you are choosing, they will also not let you cancel, make you prepay and make there money doing all these things. My advise is book as far in advance... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

I have no idea where my previous review went and really wasn't too concerned about it until I read the managers response to my boyfriends review of Saskatoon Thriftlodge. Our stay was the worst we have experienced in hotel/motel. When we complained about our stay we were offered a whole 25.00 refund, did not find that to be acceptable. That... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

I had to laugh when I saw this as you and your boyfriend have now posted 3 horrible reviews here. I do wish you move on and spend your time on positive matters. Enjoy the rest of your Summer in Regina. More 

Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

You know this place sucks when they don't allow reviews on their page. They never left towels, they stole fruit and beer from us. Travis can say what he wants how the staff didn't but the Saturday night before, we noticed our beer seemed a little lite so we made note of it when we left Sunday to our pool... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your 2 reviews that you both left online and it is unfortunate that you feel the refund wasn't enough compensation for your stay. We understand that there is always 2 sides to every story and that we hope you had a pleasant time in Saskatoon for the rest of your Pool tournament you were attending. We... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

Check in was good - friendly - the room not so much - Very tiny - the carpet needed a vaccuum - the bathroom had rust in it - the beds were old and tired - maybe more tired that we were after our stay. There was a piece of paper very close to the garbage and we left it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WnedyG
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the response on the friendly customer service. We have had great pride that our staff have been at front desk for many years and we have all enjoyed the friendly guests that we have. We apologize if we had missed some spots on the carpet. We always print off the reviews so our staff can improve on... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Check in was quick, room was so-so but clean so no complaints. There was continental breakfast available and the place was pet friendly which was a major bonus for me. Also easily accessible from the highway.

Helpful?
Thank Pumuklik
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are becoming more pet friendly as we've taken carpets out of the main level and put in vinyl planks which are easier to clean, allergy and pet friendly and look a lot better. We look forward to hosting you again, In hospitality Travis More 

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

So our entry into the room thereafter the tv was not working and didnt know why so went downstairs and the front desk clerk came up and took care problem. Said people before they had a game console and had unplugged the connection for tv box to work but we couldnt tell that. The light in the corner the bulb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip3030
Travis306Batting, Manager at Saskatoon Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to pass on feedback(good and bad) to our valued associates who work hard to make your stay enjoyable while in our beautiful city. Some upcoming changes, new vinyl plank flooring on lower level to replace the carpet, new complimentary guest laundry service, new atm for guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Comfort Inn
#34 of 39 in Saskatoon
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Airport Business Area
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 Saskatoon
#19 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
#30 of 39 in Saskatoon
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ensuring that our service exceeds your expectations we provide an affordable, comfortable and pratical place to stay while in Saskatoon. We have 56 guestrooms conveniently located close to the airport and many popular restaurants/amenities. Less Fuss, More Value. Amenities include free parking, free wireless internet, Continental Breakfast, Business Centre, Suites available, Fridges/microwaves available, and Long Term Rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saskatoon Thriftlodge

Address: 1825 Idylwyld Dr N, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Price Range: $65 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saskatoon Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Saskatoon Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Thrift Lodge
Saskatoon Thriftlodge Saskatchewan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay