We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This place seems to be party central. I think there was a frat party in the room next door with drinking game chants and loud rap music. When we checked in the place seemed normal, but that had all changed when we returned around 9pm. Never again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are really sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. It is not in our habits to offer an experience like that and we thank you for sharing your impressions with us. In this kind of situation, do not hesitate to advise our front desk team about disturbing customers. Our staff we will do... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was quite comfortable, we had a balcony overlooking the spa and pool which were well maintained, everything was clean. It was funny to wake up hearing the birds (caged) in the spa area asking to have their night cover taken off. I am awake early anyway but maybe late sleepers would not be amused by that. A good... More 

Helpful?
Thank ontherideau
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to thank you for leaving feedback about your experience at the Hotel Universel Québec on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you appreciated your stay with us and that you liked the sound of the birds in the atrium. We work hard to keep all the pool and spa area very clean and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel. The rooms were pretty ordinary and its also clean, its also convenient that they have a restaurant nearby but it would be better if they have their own restaurants where breakfast is included.. Again not complaining just satisfied..

Helpful?
Thank Angelo P
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about the Hôtel Universel Québec on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you are satisfied of your experience with us during your stay in Quebec City. It is true that we don’t have our own restaurant with included breakfast. However, there is a Boston Pizza accessible right from our... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had originally booked a basic room but when we arrived we found they had upgraded us to a suite with private interior balcony overlooking the pool! Seeing as how there are only 9 rooms that overlook the pool out of about 150 rooms, we were quite surprised. The hotel in general was very clean and the location is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank mracine8
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your satisfaction on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you loved your stay at our hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded room. It is always our pleasure to offer such upgrades, when it is possible. Many of our guests mention the pool and spa area. It is... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival I sat down on my bed to notice the mattress was completely deformed, I sunk into a large divot on the side. Proceeded to attempt to connect to the wifi, which wasn't working whatsoever. Called the front desk only to sit on hold for too long...They had only 1 worker, this young teenager with an attitude, accusing me... More 

Helpful?
Thank scooploops
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. First of all, we are sorry if your mattress did not meet your comfort standards. We will ensure a follow-up on that aspect. Moreover, we know the importance of a good WIFI connexion during traveling and we are sorry to notice that you met... More 

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Unless you book through them u will not get any good rooms nor service. My husband and I booked through Hotwire just to see how things go well we got to the hotel and they gave us a room with broken air conditioner and no window, so we went down to request a new room but wow i dont know... More 

Helpful?
Thank stastin
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. We would like to start off by saying that we take very seriously all of our customers’ opinions as they help us point out what we do right and what needs to be improved. Let us start by saying that we do not... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Negatives: When you book a room through Expedia or Hotels.com you are automatically slated for the dank dungeon room near the boiler room. The old AC sounded like a jet engine taking off and kept us up all night. The floors were damp and the room smelled like mold and mildew. The facilities are outdated. Positives: the hotel is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ailin O
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that you did not fully appreciate your stay at our hotel. Let us assure you that we take all our guests’ reviews seriously, as they help us know what we have done right and what needs to be improved. To start off, we are glad that your children enjoyed the pool and spa. We are... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We recently spent two nights at the hotel. It has its good and bad points. The rooms we had were very nice. The king one had a huge jetted bathtub and I instantly regretted bringing the kids. Beds were comfortable and a good assortment of pillows. However, room was not cleaned properly. Blood stains on sheet. Hair in bathtub. Stuff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanden M
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. First of all, we are happy to read that your room has met your expectations and that you and your family enjoyed our tropical atrium with pool and Nordic spa. Moreover, it pleases... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Wish they had a fridge or micro for use, but besides that, kids loved the pool- in fact we had to make time for the pool daily even though there were so many things we had on our list to do! We didn't eat there-but plenty of options nearby- I recommend this place for a family- I can see it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina C
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you had a good time with your family at our hotel. Our pool and spa area is well appreciated by many of our guests. We are glad that your entire family enjoyed it! We would like to precise that our hotel is great for families as well... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Clerk at front desk was very arrogant because we had not booked directly with them so no AAA or CAA discount and a room located in a semi-basement close to a conference room with no possibility of changing to a better room. Window was facing parking. The bed and bathroom were clean but the carpet and desk chair were dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele L
TommyBernier1, Responsable des relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

We are truly sorry to read that you did not receive a customer service up to your standards. Let us assure you that to offer a high-quality customer service is a priority for all our team and we will certainly follow-up our staff on that point. Moreover, since your reservation was made through an online travel agency, they already apply... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#81 of 108 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#90 of 108 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#49 of 108 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#93 of 108 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#51 of 108 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'Hotel Quebec
L'Hotel Quebec
#59 of 108 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $65 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay