We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5 Canada
E-mail hotel
5 people have started booking this hotel
Hotel direct offer!It's ALL Possible
Fairmont
$510
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Expedia.com
$518
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Traveluro
$367
View deal
Booking.com$510
Travelocity$518
Priceline$510
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4939)
360
Panoramas (136)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 104 in Quebec City
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Silver level
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:It's ALL Possible
7148Reviews119Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,908
  • 1,354
  • 559
  • 214
  • 113
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mecplanner wrote a review May 22
Temiscaming, Canada1 contribution
Spent the weekend on the gold floor , service was excellent , room was very spacious , food was very good and check in and out was very easy . Location was great in the heart of old Quebec city. Close to port and parliment .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: Gold floors are the best for city and river views and very spacious .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 2 days ago
Hi mecplanner Thank you for your good words. It is a pleasure to read that our Gold Experience was a bless. We will share this amazing comment with the team! Have a wonderful day
Read more
Tina S wrote a review May 16
London, United Kingdom29 contributions4 helpful votes
On arrival we had a long queue at check-in, when my husband complained and suggested they needed to speed things up the check-in person laughed (maybe a nervous laugh). We only stayed for 2 nights which was enough . Our room 3230 was badly overlooked and we had to keep the blinds shut at all times! We found the housekeeping staff very friendly, they were the only ones. I dared to ask the lady at the concierge desk what time we needed to check-out, she was nothing short of rude. The hotel is in a great location and very grand.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: We arrived by taxi but it was chaos and took a while to be axle to unload. If you are offered...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 6 days ago
Good moring Madame tinas We are sorry to read there were issues with some of our colleagues. We can assure you it is not appropriate and that we will do our best to solve this. Can we ask you to contact us at esther.fortin@fairmont.com so we can have more details to be able to have a discussion with the right colleagues? Best regards,
Read more
Claude C wrote a review May 16
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First class treatment from start to finish. We loved the attention given to 'Les Amis du Château' especially the window side dining tables. The riverside rooms always have an inspiring view. The personnel are always smiling and courteous
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning! Thank you for this comment! We are happy to read that we deliver a first class treatment from start to finish! We will share this amazing comment with our teams, they will be so proud! Cannot wait to welcome you again! Best regards,
Read more
DanielPDupere wrote a review May 16
Montreal, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
It s a Chateau ! We were princess and prince. We've stayed a few times at the Fairmont Chateau Frontenac. We also stayed at many Fairmont around the world. But I must say that le Chateau Frontenac has a special space in our heart ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 6 days ago
Bonjour DanielPDupere! Thank you for this wonderful comment. We are so appreciative to read that we have a special place in your heart! The teams will be glad as we will share your experience with them. Sincerely,
Read more
ayim wrote a review May 16
Toronto44 contributions17 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel, and it is a must to stay in old Quebec City. We stayed in the club rooms and the service at the lounge is top notch even during Covid. The location is excellent, you’re right in the center on everything. I know over the years there are a lot of new hotels in Quebec and it is nothing compared to this. It is worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 6 days ago
Good morning ayim! Thank you for this amazing comment. We are glad to read that the Gold experience was worth the money! We will share this encouragement with the team. Kindly,
Read more
Chris L wrote a review May 11
Howell, Michigan40 contributions11 helpful votes
Everything about our stay was exceptional, particularly the service provided by the committed and professional staff. I was going to propose to my girlfriend in romantic Quebec City. I contacted the concierge to see what they could do to help me create and unforgettable experience, and that’s exactly what they did. Philippe helped coordinate everything from wonderful restaurants for brunch and dinner, to lanterns, champagne, chocolate-covered strawberries in our room after we returned from me making my proposal, which included rose petals spread across our bed. It took my fiancé’s breath away. Everyone on the staff seemed to know the purpose of our visit to QC, and we were given an unexpected room upgrade and special seating for dinner and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Great restaurants and shops are all within a 10 minute walk
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon ChrisL10272 Congratulations to both of you for this amazing news! We are so proud we played an important role in the success of this wonderful event. We will not miss a chance to thank Philip, our precious concierge. Again thank you for the time you took sharing all of this with us! Kindly,
Read more
Andre Lozanovski wrote a review May 9
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel itself is beautiful, check in was ok until we found out that we were suppose to che k in on the 14th floor (downstairs was busy-took about 20mins) we found the elevator and took a ride up and down the elevator because we needed a key which we didn’t have as yet. During the reservation process they asked what was the reason for our stay- our honeymoon. We booked the gold package. Finally made it to the 14th floor and the dedicated concierge was rude and told us to take a seat there and pointed to a room. We came from Toronto and requested to check in at 2pm ish. We arrived at 330 and our room was not yet available. After about 15mins waiting another guest that was in the lounge asked if we wanted a drink! I replayed - sure. They showed me that there were refreshments available to us while we wait. It was now almost 4 and the concierge came to give us the keys…..The room was ok but what really upset me was the bellman explaining to me the “if I touch anything in the mini bar, you pay for it” I was offended by the way he explained it. It was rude and pretty much the cherry on top. At this point I was extremely upset and disappointment with our choice of hotel. I called down asking to speck to a duty manager. I spoke to someone and they told us to hang tight….waving for another 20mins, we decided to go downstairs. I spoke to the manager directly, Marissa, she was pleasant and apologized. Gave us a room upgrade and 2 free drinks. That was it. There was no checking to see how everything was nothing. I felt that there was zero value. We spent 2400$ for 2 night and even the lady at check out raised her eye brows when she saw our total invoice. It was expensive but that wasn’t my problem. We wanted to experience in staying. It was suppose to be special for our Honeymoon. Will not be staying here again. Terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon Andreloz Thank you for the time you took reviewing the details of your honeymoon with us. We are concerned about what we are reading and would appreciate to have a private conversation with you. Is there a possibility that you can emailed us at esther.fortin@fairmont.com. Thank you so much. Sincerely
Read more
Vish wrote a review May 7
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
This was my first time stay in Quebec city at Fairmont .. great staff.. great location ..poor room # spider web in room ,cringy bathroom.. not worth the price. There are better properties around with much better rooms for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning 791vishalk Thank you for sharing with us the details of your last visit in our property. We would appreciate a private discussion so we can know in which room you where to take action at the right place. You can reach me at esther.fortin@fairmont.com Kindly,
Read more
R G wrote a review May 7
New York City, New York202 contributions294 helpful votes
We have been visiting Le Chateau Frontenac for over 30 years and continue to return for its history, charm, elegance, customer service, etc. We have just returned from a visit to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and the experience was wonderful as always. The room was spacious, very clean, well decorated and with all the amenities needed for such a prestigious property. They pamper you upon arrival until departure. All staff are extremely cordial and their customer service skills are excellent. The restaurants are superb and the spa is a wonderful experience. Special thanks to longtime doorman Pierre and to Pascal at the front desk for their assistance. This visit was made even more memorable due to the outstanding efforts of the Front Office Manager, Julie Martel, who took personal care of us during our stay. Every visit is a treasured memory of how a world class hotel should be run. We will be returning soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning R G What an honor to be chosen for such a unique event! It is always a pleasure to welcome our long time guest, more specifically when it is for an amazing and rare occasion! Your words will be share with Pascal, Pierre, Julie, the SPA and all the rest of the team! Congratulations again for this 50th anniversary. See you soon! Do not hesitate to contact me at esther.fortin@fairmont.com
Read more
Cyndi F wrote a review May 4
Mooresville, North Carolina8 contributions3 helpful votes
This Fairmont can not be beat. Truly a 10 out of 10! Every single person I encountered was outstanding! The service was beyond compare and the dinner was out of this world. I wish I had gotten the names of the restaurant manager and servers they were exceptional. Concierge Lory-Ann and Diane were so much help! I appreciate you all so much! I will 100% be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning Mr danf We will share your good words and appreciation with Diane, Laury-Anne and the restaurants's team. Thank you for these wonderful words. Wish you a wonderful day
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont le chateau frontenac hotel quebec city, fairmont hotel quebec city, fairmont quebec city, quebec city fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
610
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.07 miles), Quartier Petit Champlain (0.1 miles), and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Masaru Sushi, and Chez Boulay-bistro boreal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Le Château Frontenac have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fairmont Le Château Frontenac located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Quebec City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.