We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$257
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$237
View deal
Hotels.com$257
Travelocity$257
Trip.com$304
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (832)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (633)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Auberge du Vieux-Port
Updated 08/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 177 hotels in Montreal
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. CITQ 127245
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Wifi
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Hiking
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Foot bath
Foot massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
2147Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,574
  • 420
  • 92
  • 37
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joyce B wrote a review Oct 1
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware24 contributions9 helpful votes
Great location in Old Montreal with a lot of character. Room was very clean and spacious. We had a room with a St. Paul view and there is quite a bit of street noise so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the best choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rene G wrote a review Sep 2022
Montreal, Canada6 contributions9 helpful votes
We celebrated our wedding reception here. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. We also stayed two nights and the room was amazing. Great water pressure, the shower was superb—very relaxing with the waterfall shower head. We also had a beautiful view of rue St. Paul from our window which opened completely so we could see, hear and practically taste the action on the street below without being blocked by a screen. The bed was comfortable and room service was fast, friendly and professional. Our wedding reception was held in two locations- our cocktail hour was on the main floor in the lounge and our dinner, dancing and speeches were down one level in the Remparts room. We had a huge space and a private bathroom for our guests. There was a nice sound system which we used and the maître d’hôtel, Flo, was fabulous. We had a server dedicated to us who was very friendly and always had a smile on her face. A special shout-out to Jeanne, the event planner. She went above and beyond our expectations. She was always a phone call away and just a wonderful woman to work with.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: The hotel offers valet parking which was a bonus because parking in Old Montréal can be a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
vanholt wrote a review Sep 2022
SF, CA71 contributions90 helpful votes
Auberge is well situated for enjoying the interesting Vieux Montreal. The common areas of the hotel, especially the lobby, are lovely, welcoming and relaxing. Most of the staff, especially Etienne, endeavored to provide good customer service. Many, however, appear to be interns; most of the information we were given by them (room, City information) was wrong. The level of room cleaning is deficient; the bed tables are dusty and the floor is not sweeper or otherwise cleaned. When we mistakenly turned the door sign to “do not disturb,” the receptionist reprimanded our mistake and said that they could not guarantee a late afternoon cleanup. Fair but no need for reprimand. The maid did appear immediately and helpfully assisted our needs. We had a deluxe river view room in the “new section.” Among others reasons, to follow, I wouldn’t recommend the additional charge because the St Lawrence River, as a commercial waterway, is not very scenic. Also, the room was dark with a strong urine-like smell. What sounded like children running could be heard above us. The bed was low and too soft for us. I’d have preferred what I later saw as a brighter non-view room in the “old” section. The bathroom had a deafening overhead fan that came on with the light. Low water pressure required several flushes of the toilet. Overall, I’d look elsewhere were we to return to Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour vanholt, Your comments are important to us and thank you for taking the time to share them on here. I will pass your kind words to Etienne and rest assured I will follow up with the rest of the Staff and the Housekeeping Manager about what you mentioned. I sincerely apologies about that as it's something that's not in our habits and goals. I take your comment to heart and will make sure for something like that not to happen again. Etienne, the entire Staff and I stay hopeful to welcome you again and I insist on you contacting me directly so we can work something for you to forget this experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda K wrote a review Sep 2022
Captiva Island, Florida4 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful hotel! I loved our room with casement windows that opened inward. Spacious, and well appointed. Desk, small table and chairs, fridge, robes and slippers. Comfortable bed with lots of pillows and big plush towels. The lobby smelled divine, and when I asked, was told it was the same scent as that of the toiletries in the room. This is the only hotel we have been to in the last 3 years that had full maid service every day, and we don’t stay at inexpensive hotels. Walk to the old port was right across the street. Valet parking is 38$c a day, but worth it to avoid the hassle. We had a riverfront view, and while it wasn’t perfect, one of the quays is a parking garage which spoiled the view a bit, it was still lovely, especially in the evening when you could look out at the La Grande Roue and watch it change color. This place was the best part of our Montreal stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour lindakI3759MD, To hear that the Auberge du Vieux Port is one of your favourite places, truly, put a smile on my and everyones face. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on here and we sincerely hope and look forward to welcome youb again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
May B wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Service was excellent by Dominic and would recommend again - Gaspar Taverne in particular had excellent food - i highly recommend the buratta, flank steak and chocolate cake with strawberries - sooo delicious!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour X2443CPmayb, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on here. I will make sure to pass your satisfactory comment to Dominic and we all hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erica B wrote a review Sep 2022
Santa Monica, California9 contributions3 helpful votes
We loved this hotel so much. The rooftop restaurant has great food and views, and the hotel itself is just perfect. The entire staff is wonderful and accommodating, and the rooms are clean and have a great vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Holly B wrote a review Sep 2022
Flemington, New Jersey66 contributions61 helpful votes
Just checked out of the lovely Auberge du Vieux-Port yesterday.. what a perfect spot from which to enjoy all the Montreal has to offer. First of all, the hotel is absolutely top-notch in every way. The front desk staff was kind and efficient; the lobby was warm and inviting with old world charm, and our room was way beyond our expectations; it was impeccably clean, the shower was great with Santal 33 products, and the bed was big and comfortable with incredible linens and comforter. Don’t miss breakfast at Gaspar’s! The food was excellent, and the ambiance was really fun. The Auberge is situated right in the middle of everything.. walking distance to everywhere you’d want to go. It truly was an exceptional stay; we cannot wait to return. I cannot say enough good things about this lovely, exceptional little hotel. You will be treated like old friends and will just love your stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I think every room must be exceptional.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello old friend, We're so happy to hear that you had an amazing stay at the Auberge. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience you had. I may have missed your visit this time yet rest assured, I will be here next time you come with open arms. On behalf of everyone from the Gaspar to the Auberge, we sure do look forward to that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Exploration249283 wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Our four nights at this hotel was wonderful. The room was well appointed, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We loved the location, so close to many restaurants and museums. The hotel restaurants were very good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Bonjour Exploration249283, We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. To also hear that it was a great one makes everyone here happy. We all do look forward to welcome you back, hopefully very soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keltykluvr wrote a review Aug 2022
Southampton, Pennsylvania130 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Don’t Hesitate to Book! “We decided to spend our fiftieth anniversary revisiting the two Canadian cities where we spent our honeymoon…albeit at classier places than DAYS INNS this time (no offense to DAYS INNS…they got us thru some penny-pinching days)! From the time we arrived at this wonderfully-quaint, beautiful inn, discovering a bottle of wine accompanied by a lovely note about our reason for staying, we knew we were in the right place! Thomas and Simone greeted us warmly, and Simone helped with our bags. No matter when we saw the two of them, we received a joyful “Bonjour” or “Bonsoir!” Indeed, the entire staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, esp. at the front desk (and kudos to the two wonderful young ladies tending bar on Tuesday evening in Gaspar’s Pub. Cheerful, friendly, and efficient!) Gaspar’s for dinner was terrific and La Pichette equally so for breakfast, where one of the bartenders I referred to, Marie Florence, was our server…a nice start to our journey home! Breakfast was delicious both days we ate there. Our King room on the river side was beautiful….a stone wall, beams, plenty of seating and storage, and an incredibly comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious with a five-shelf storage unit, a table by the sink, and an incredible rain head shower, which was huge. The room was directly across from the Port and, once we closed the drapes, we hardly heard a thing, despite traffic. The inn is in a great location and we walked everywhere. The room was immaculate! Five stars!!!!”
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Chehade, Guest Services / Front Office at Auberge du Vieux-Port
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Bonjour Guinnessluvr51, First of all, wow, Happy 50th Anniversary. I will pass on your kind words to Simone, Thomas, Marie Florence and the entire Staff of your kind words. Truly, it puts a smile on my face to hear that you had an excellent time and you’ve enjoyed your experience at the Auberge. I do speak on behalf of everyone and say that we look forward to welcome you back. Maybe on the 51st ?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GCubed48413 wrote a review Jul 2022
Pleasantville, New York61 contributions44 helpful votes
The hotel is in a great location in Old Montreal, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the river. We had a room on the second floor overlooking Rue St. Paul. The bed was comfortable, the shower nicely renovated (the rain head shower fixture was delightful) and the wood floors cozy and welcoming. The only slight negative was that you could hear the noise from the restaurants on the street but that was gone by the time we went to sleep. The front of house team was friendly and accomodating. The roof top bar was terrific, especially at night -- very pretty views. Valet parking was reasonable and you can use your car as often as you want. A relaxing stay and highly recommended hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$234 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge du vieux-port hotel montreal
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealVieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) / Old Port of Montreal / Ville-Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge du Vieux-Port
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Nearby attractions include Notre-Dame Basilica (0.2 miles), Old Montreal (0.2 miles), and Dubarry Furs (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café Olimpico - Vieux-Montréal, Le Club Chasse Et Peche, and Taverne Gaspar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Auberge du Vieux-Port located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Montreal.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
Yes, dry cleaning and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Does Auberge du Vieux-Port offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge du Vieux-Port?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Greek, and Arabic.