We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fairholm National Historic Inn

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairholm National Historic Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stunning heritage property in a great location . Immaculately clean with beautiful elegant furnishings. Great service. Breakfast delicious especially the homemade muffins and buttermilk cheese biscuits. Absolutely delightful!

Helpful?
Thank pauline p
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Lovely inn within an easy walk of Charlottetown. Also a great location to explore the central part of PEI. Had a quiet room on the 2nd floor (Emelie room). Only concern was a step down to the bed and if you forget it's there you can go flying! Luckily they have a light strip that helps remind you it's there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bennett B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is associated with 3 other impressive B&B's. We stayed at the Hillhurst property for 5 nights in the Sydney Suite. Very comfortable with all the ammenities. It is a beautiful period home with the woodwork to go with it. The staff are very eager to please even though they are very busy. The breakfast room is quite crowded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in one of their modern rooms. We loved it. It was clean, comfortable and well laid out. Location is fantastic, basically in the heart of Charlottetown. Highly recommended for all visiting the Island.

Helpful?
Thank DaveLuiven
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Dave, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in the Carriage House. Thank you for taking the time to review us! Ben MacMillan General Manager More 

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautiful historic hotel with really great staff and home made muffins/cookies available for guests. The rooms in the main house are historic, but very well equipped and the rooms in the carriage house are ultra modern with kitchen. Great beds and excellent facilities including guest laundry (great if you are on a long trip). Excellent location in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Clare B
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Clare, Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our pastry chef! Hopefully you keep us in mind if you find yourselves in Charlottetown again. Ben MacMillan General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in the Carriage house property - a building offering beautiful modern apartment styled stays. We were only there for two nights, but would have loved to stay longer with the fully equipped kitchen to make long stays easy. The included breakfast was delicious - with plenty of options for everyone. The service from employees was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie O
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Katie, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, guest feedback is very important to us! Quinton is great with the guests, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Keep us in mind for the next time you are in Charlottetown! Ben MacMillan General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful, historic, well kept, quiet spot....located within short walking distance to restaurant area. My only complaint is they didn't clean our room, even when asked! Breakfast was included but didn't eat it...so can't report on that!

Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it! We are very sorry about missing your room, this is most definitely not the norm for us. It is really too bad you didn't get a chance to try our breakfast, I can certainly vouch for how great it is! Hopefully we will see you again... More 

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the room was clean and the food was good, we found the hospitality lacking at this Inn.On arrival we were greeted by a very young adult who provided information, but he neglected to tell us the wireless password and he disappeared for the remainder of our two day stay. Although there was a beautiful dining room with coffee pots,... More 

Helpful?
Thank defuchs
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Ms.Fuchs, You are perfectly right in saying that with the expansion we had lost some of the "warm fuzzy hospitality" that we have been known for. There have been a lot of areas that we are still trying to perfect, as you mentioned, the proper amount of staffing and tables for breakfast is one of them. We have operated Fairholm... More 

Platte City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had an extremely enjoyable stay at the Fairholm. It was the perfect combination of old world charm in the main house with modern, comfortable amenities in the carriage house apartment. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location provides easy access to restaurants, shops, and shoreline.

Helpful?
Thank lrcourtney56
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Hello, It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, we finished up the Carriage House about two years ago now and could not be happier with it. Hopefully the two of you will get the chance to visit us again in the future. Thanks! Ben MacMillan General Manager More 

Indy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Fairholm Inn, built in 1839 as a private home, has been beautifully restored as a bed and breakfast. Every room is quaint and extremely comfortable. You can walk downtown easily and take in all the sites of Charlottetown. Several options were offered for breakfast, which was delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful regarding directions, sight seeing suggestions... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliceIndy
fairholminnkeeper, General Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review

Alice, We can't thank you enough for all of your kind words, we really appreciate your feedback. Keep us in mind for the next time you find yourself in Charlottetown! Thanks for taking the time to review us! Ben MacMillan General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Prince Edward
Delta Prince Edward
#4 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#8 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Address: 230 Prince St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4S1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: $179 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay