We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hotel on Pownal

146 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Confederation Centre of the Arts
    0.2 mi
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 3 days ago
Very Friendly Staff
this hotel was a very nice place to stay for business or a... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this hotel was a very nice place to stay for business or a vacation. The staff are very friendly and when I arrived they told me there is a meet and greet with a complimentary drink, where I was served a very nice locally made beer. The free buffet breakfast was very nice with lots of options, including a locally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
Charlottetown
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live on the Island and bought a night's stay at the Hotel on Pownal in a benefit Silent Auction. The lobby impressed us from the get go...beautifully, and comfortably decorated. Mariel was working at the desk and made us feel very welcome. Although the rooms are not huge, they are well-laid-out, clean, and modern. We enjoyed the guest reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IslandCacher
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I found hair in the shower. I understand it may be difficult to get hair out but finding hair anywhere is the worst possible thing for me.. The staff were great but nothing can take away the hair that i found.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat1876
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback kat1876. I hope you phoned the front desk immediately upon the discovery of our housekeeping error - we would have happily had the tub cleaned again or moved you to a new room in order for you to feel more comfortable. I apologise for your room not being up...

Vulcan
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Our organization had a meeting for around 40 people. The rooms were great and convenient for our meeting. The meeting rooms located across from each other allowed us to meet in one room and eat in the opposite one. The staff did all they could to accommodate us. The continental breakfast was ok but not as good as some others...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relative
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. I'm so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your meetings were successful. We are very well equipped for a group of your size and the ability to remain on-site all day while utilizing different meeting spaces can help keep everyone engaged during a busy day...

Pictou, Canada
Reviewed November 14, 2016

I have had the pleasure at staying at this hotel for over 5 years, with large groups of visitors. This is an excellent hotel to choose if you are looking for group travel. The hotel staff is very accommodating, willing to help out with special needs. Book well in advance of your travels since the rooms fill up really quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heath1301
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property, and more importantly for being a loyal guest for over 5 years. I'm so happy to know that you have continued to enjoy staying with us and that we have been able to accommodate any special requirements the various groups you have travelled with may have required....

San Diego, California
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Nice decor with a door that opens to a lovely, sunny patio. Close to heart of town. Complimentary wine and beer served at "happy hour" (nice touch!). We were on a month long driving trip & this place had the best breakfast by far--what impressed me was they had fritatta! It was delicious! Everything else in the breakfast room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingCAgal
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, travelingCAgal! It's wonderful to know you enjoyed your room as well as some of our little extras like the "happy hour" reception. I'm so proud to hear that we were the best breakfast of your month-long road trip - what a compliment! Thank you for your understanding regarding the wireless...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Updated building, New York style...sleek and small. Clean rooms, crisp bedding, comfy beds. Really nice dining room for included breakfast. Stylish lobby and more maps and travel info available than we found in the tourist information booth. Wine and cookies at times in the lobby. Really neat place with easy walking access to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmom9663
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and sharing this kind review, kmom9663. We are proud to provide a stylish and comfortable place to stay in the heart of downtown Charlottetown. I'm so glad you found all of the information and maps you needed in our lobby, and that you had a chance to enjoy our homemade cookies and a glass of wine....

Albany, New York
Reviewed October 23, 2016

This hotel is on a quiet street just a block from Queen Street and within easy walking distance to many restaurants, attractions, and the water. We spent three nights, visited many sites, tried different restaurants, and never moved our car. On our arrival, we were greeted by Jason, an extremely professional and accommodating young man. Our room was immaculate and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for this review Michael C, you have made my day! Your compliments regarding our attention to detail are truly appreciated. I will be certain to pass along your praise to each of the individuals you mentioned as well as their supporting team members. They are all very deserving of your compliments! Last, but not least, I am delighted...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed October 23, 2016

We were in town for a wedding and stayed here, and weren't disappointed. The staff were very nice, the breakfast was great and the room very comfortable. The breakfast included hot and cold choices, with coffee, juice, and fresh fruit. The muffins and breads were much better than the ones you get a some other hotels/motels, and the choice varied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellinMan73
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, TravellinMan73 - thank you for sharing! Wedding weekends can be a very busy time, so I am so happy that you had an enjoyable stay. I'm so glad that you were pleased with our location, comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our bakery for their baked goods. Thank...

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

I'll admit that I haven't been to the Hotel on Pownal for several years, but it's still frequently referenced among my family. We loved the free cookies, huge rooms, and modern and clean feel! I would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Erin W! It makes me so happy to know that our little hotel is still referenced frequently within your family. Thank you for complimenting our rooms, decor, and cookies. Come visit us again sometime!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Address: 146 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel on Pownal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask staff for directions to your room, they are very helpful!”
 of 5 bubbles brucemB6635SQ, 3 days ago | Read review
“Hair dryer is on the top shelf of the closet (if you are vertically challenged like me, you may not see it on first glance)”
 of 5 bubbles IslandCacher, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room awy from stairwells or elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles relative, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“There are only 2 levels in the hotel, so choose any that are near the Lobby & Front Desk”
 of 5 bubbles heath1301, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Get a second story room with a patio facing the morning sun! (Lower rooms also get sunshine).”
 of 5 bubbles travelingCAgal, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question