We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (131)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (232)

About

#15 of 24 hotels in Charlottetown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rodd Royalty is conveniently located 5 minutes from the downtown core of Charlottetown and within walking distance to Charlottetown's shopping centers. Families especially love this accommodation's glass enclosed indoor Chlorine pool and one of Prince Edward Island's largest indoor waterslide -- 105 ft. of fun!
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
651Reviews
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 282
  • 177
  • 96
  • 62
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The staff in the hotel were very friendly. The location of the hotel is great because it is close to everything. We discovered the TransCanada trail 2 blocks away and it was a great walk. The only feedback I would give the hotel is to please reduce the amount of plastic you use in the restaurant. The coffee cups are all disposable. We could not find regular cups. Also, they had plastic cutlery and plates. These should be eliminated.
Read more
Response from Keith S, General Manager at Rodd Royalty
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review online, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great feedback as we look at better ways to serve or customers. Safe travels and we do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This isn't a great hotel, and I wouldn't normally recommend it, but Charlottetown doesn't have many good hotels. So, for the price, this is a reasonable choice for now, especially since it is cheap and close to the airport. But when the new Hampton Inn opens in July 2019, I can't see myself going back here. The rooms vary greatly, so be careful what you are booking. Unfortunately, it's not always easy to tell the different room types from their website. If in doubt, call the hotel directly and ask. I've stayed a few times, in a few different room types. Main building - the main building does have elevators, but there are some rooms in a connected annex that are only accessible by stairs. I stayed in a king suite in this section and it was spacious and clean and well worth climbing one flight of stairs. But, if you have mobility issues, be sure to ask for a different room. The room looked newly renovated. Everything was clean and fresh. The beds were a bit soft for my personal preference but I had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was TINY, but perfectly clean - no dirt in the grout as mentioned in some other reviews. There are also some rooms whose only window looks unto the enclosed interior courtyard, meaning no natural daylight. Of course, no exterior windows also means no street noise, which is a bit of an issue with the rooms closest to University Ave. Drive-up rooms - there is an old motel-style building next to the main hotel building. Any reviews mentioning dampness and mold are likely referring to these rooms. Fortunately, these are easy to avoid since they are the cheapest room type and clearly marked as "drive-up". I stayed there once and it was clean and quiet but did feel old and damp. Breakfast - The free breakfast was ok. The waffles were good but had no toppings other than syrup (no nuts, dried fruit, etc). The bacon was limp but there was scrambled eggs, beans, pastries, yogurt and cut fruit, so I'd say it's on the high-end of average for a free hotel breakfast. If you have a bunch of kids, it will fill them up.
Read more
Response from Keith S, General Manager at Rodd Royalty
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments as we look at better ways to serve our future guests. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Room was quite large, well laid out. Continental breakfast was good - pancakes, fruit, pastries, sausage & omelet. Lots of juice, coffee & tea choices. The location was half a block from the mall and 10 minutes from the airport - very handy, just off the Trans Canada highway. Lots of restaurant choices within walking distance too.
Read more
Response from Keith S, General Manager at Rodd Royalty
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for choosing us, your feedback is so valuable! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet all the needs of your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Relaxed stay. Loved the pool and water slide, water warm, area kept clean, lots of towels available.. Rooms are great, clean, new comfortable mattresses. Shower good pressure lots of hot water. Front Desk staff super helpful and very accommodating.
Read more
Response from Keith S, General Manager at Rodd Royalty
Responded May 4, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet all the needs of your vacation. We really do take pride in providing a high level of customer service for this very reason! Thank you again for sharing your experience online.
Read more
I stayed at the Rodd Royalty with my wife and two young kids for the Easter Holiday. The room was what you could expect for this hotel category. The breakfast included was satisfying and the pool and its impressive slide were greatly appreciated by my kids. The hotel is conveniently located in the commercial area around Charlottetown but too far to walk to the city center. Finally, what I appreciated the most was the adminstration's willingness to give me refunds for nights I did not use. I was travelling by ferry and because of sea conditions, I missed, not once but twice, my first day of arrival. Both times I got refunded even though I had reserved without the possibility of cancelling. The second time, I got refunded without even asking for it. I greatly appreciated the flexibility and honesty of the administration. Thank you!
Read more
Response from Keith S, General Manager at Rodd Royalty
Responded May 4, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet all the needs of your vacation. We really do take pride in providing a high level of customer service for this very reason! Thank you again for sharing your experience online.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rodd royalty hotel charlottetown
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCharlottetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing