We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One King West Hotel & Residence

Save
Share
1 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 1A1 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Book & Earn Cash Back Rewards
Booking.com
$124
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/17/20
Expedia.com
$127
$111
View Deal
SAVE $16
Free cancellation until 07/18/20
Travelocity
$127
$111
View Deal
SAVE $16
Free cancellation until 07/18/20
eDreams$124
Agoda.com$124
Trip.com$127
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (852)
Room & Suite (653)
Videos (16)
Certificate of Excellence
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from One King West Hotel & Residence
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Immersive and inspiring, One King West Hotel & Residence invites you to a uniquely vibrant place to stay. Enjoy the genuine warmth and gracious service at this unique oasis of hospitality. Indulge in architectural grandeur, sophisticated comfort and personalized service at One King West. Connect yourself to the city’s core business, entertainment and shopping districts from this premier address. Come and see why One King West is a hotel to call home. Please note: Our In-Room Dining Services, as well as our onsite bar and restaurant have been temporarily closed until further notice.
Read more
Room & Suite (653)653
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book & Earn Cash Back Rewards
2,679Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,664
  • 655
  • 217
  • 78
  • 65
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brian K wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
We stayed here for my wifes birthday weekend. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food that we were able to get from the Chef was delicious! Obviously there was limited services available but all of the staff was very friendly and accommodating and we had a great stay! We will be coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve O'Brien, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence
Responded 2 days ago
Dear BrianMKessler, Thank you for your feedback and Happy Belated Birthday to you wife. I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and am glad to hear that our hotel and staff were instrumental in making your experience a memorable one. We strive to provide our guests with not only a special experience, but a safe, clean and comfortable stay as well and it's great to know that our efforts have been recognized and appreciated. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Steve O'Brien General Manager
Read more
TiF wrote a review Jan 2020
Foxboro, ON14 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This hotel’s team of staff are friendly, warm, kind and attentive to your every need. The building itself is lovely and charming, rooms spacious (we had a tower small suite) and reasonably priced. The bed was so comfortable- I am a terrible sleeper and I slept soundly. The location is close to lots of sightseeing attractions, entertainment venues and of course restaurants etc. But I can’t say enough about the people who work there. From the on-site manager to the custodian who was helping a lady with a spill, their attitude is just fantastic and everyone gave us warm greetings and old world genuine positivity. Upon arrival the reception staff asked if it was our first visit- which it was. Surprise- When we came back from dinner there was a bottle of champagne on ice and a box of truffles waiting for us with a handwritten card from Ms. Kearly (guest services), welcoming us. THAT is classy style! We will be going back here for any future trips to Toronto because of our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sobrien_GM, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear Tisha F, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for choosing One King West. I am pleased to hear that our historically charming building, comfortable bed, prime downtown Toronto location close to many attractions and our friendly and attentive hotel staff were instrumental in making your stay an enjoyable one. I am happy to hear that all our staff made you feel at home, especially with the inclusion of the bottle of champagne, and I will be sure to let them know how much of an impact they made on your experience. Every member of our team works hard each and every day to provide an uncompromising level of service and it is always rewarding to hear that our efforts have been recognized and appreciated. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Steve O'Brien General Manager
Read more
CanJAD wrote a review Jun 2020
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates173 contributions192 helpful votes
Booked a last minute hotel room (one night stay) due to a personal family emergency (hospitalization) checking in the early hours for June 24 - June 25, 2020. I booked the reservation through hotels.com APP at a rate of $222.12 prepaid through them for a historic Studio suite (inclusive of my Hotels.com VIP privileges which were specified on my reservation details confirmation also stating reservation is guaranteed. The reservation was made at 123 am June 25 just for myself (1 guest). I arrived at the property around 530 am where I was met by a female receptionist who had me sign a COVID waiver prior to hotel room assignment, she also provided an extensive COVID-19 policy booklet. I provided her my ID, and mentioned I was there for a personal emergency in family requesting a quiet room, and a later check out due to my late arrival. She extended a check out for 3 PM that day (9 hour stay total it would of been). She requested a prepayment of $250 USD for incidentals via a moneris terminal, in which I proceeded with my VISA Debit card into the terminal, accepting the charge. Payment went through. She was assigning room" 1010 "to me having seen her write it on the key card envelope and about to give me the key, when she then stopped stating a major credit card is the ONLY form of incidental payments they accept. I stated this is not indicated in the details for their hotel on hotels.com or in the fine print in the email confirmation which states my room is prepaid, guaranteed etc. and she just took a pre-authorization on my card. She had a male manager, Karym come to discuss. Instead of a discussion or any assistance he was rude, yelling at me treating me like it wasn't his problem I didn't have a credit card for them. Ive travelled around the world staying at some of the worlds most luxurious hotels whether 5 star or 4, and Ive had my credit card or a VISA debit credit card as an incidental card with no issues what so ever. Ive never been met with so much hostility and brutal aggression as a guest at any hotel in the world because I do not have a credit card on me at this time but only a VISA debit card. Then manager said he would not do anything to assist and that I should know better. He spoke to me like I was a teenager who is in trouble by his parents for not cleaning his room. Im a 36 year old man, professional who is going through a personal family emergency with a prepaid room at your hotel - and you treat me with such hostility. I called HOTELS.com at the property (on my cell as he refused to call them for me or have me use their phone). The representative at hotels.com stated that on the One King West booking page it does not state that only a guest with a credit card is allowed to stay. I don't think that the manager yelling and meeting me with aggression when I told him with the front desk agent present "why are you being so aggressive towards me and treating me this way. Is this how you treat guests? I am here for a family emergency / death in the family". The manager refused to assist, refused to accept, refused to compromise and refused to REFUND me my prepaid reservation. Then hotel wouldn't even assist me (distraught, tired and now left on the street by this hotel) to find an alternative hotel arrangement. Hotels.com rep stated he would refund the reservation but needs the manager to discuss it with him (however the manager refused to refund the stay, punishing me for not having a credit card he stated to the Hotels.com rep). Once I left the hotel and took a cab trying to find another hotel (Le Germaine) to stay at I researched the actual site of the One King West. It DOES state they do not accept VISA Debit cards. I think that this error in the fine print and details should be communicated to the hotels.com team so they update the One King West booking page so that no other guest(s) are met with the same challenge. If this is their policy have it communicated through all methods of the booking experience (third party booking sites included). This is not the guests fault. Today Ive contacted the property to inquire about my reservation refund, the 250 incidental charge and to report this experience to a manager. The operator stated that "no managers are available at the front desk due to scheduling during COVID-19". Stay away from this hotel. Their staff and the front desk management clearly have lost any passion they may of had prior or during this pandemic. I never thought I would be treated the way I was treated and then offered no apology, alternative and told even "can't you ask someone for a credit card". Unbeknownst to me that by booking a hotels.com reservation with this hotel property I would be subjected to embarrassment, fear, hostility and being left on the street. Also I have been charged over 500$ for goods & services not rendered or received.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve O'Brien, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence
Responded 4 days ago
Dear CanJAD, Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced at check-in and apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Although, we would kindly like to confirm the accurate details of the exchange between yourself and our Front Desk Team. As you mentioned, you unfortunately did not have a credit card with you for the security deposit which is a policy stated on our website, as well as all third party platforms. Kamran, one of our Front Desk Managers, explained this to you, as well as showed you where to find this policy on Expedia. Our team was happy to work with you and provided you with a solution to complete a third party authorization form to which you declined. Although you were using inappropriate language towards our team, Kamran wanted to see this issue resolved for you and spoke to Expedia upon your request. Speaking to Expedia, Kamran explained our security deposit policy to which they agreed and understood. We advised you and Expedia that we would provide you with a full refund and no cancellation fee which we can confirm was processed immediately. We have also established that you were never charged the $250 security deposit as we never processed your payment. While our team continued to provide an uncompromising level of service throughout this encounter, we do apologize that we could not resolve this to your satisfaction. We wish you all the best. Regards, Steve O'Brien General Manager
Read more
Tom H wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
The staff are very helpful, and gave excellent options for take-out dining (COVID). They also followed up very quickly on a 'forgotten item'. The hotel was very clean and they had good public health practices in place for COVID. I have stayed over 100 nights in the last 10 years and highly recommend. Good value, good location and friendly and helpful staff"
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask about upgrades - many interesting rooms in historic part of the hotel as well as the main tower
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve O'Brien, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TomfromKingston, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing One King West again. I am pleased to hear that our friendly, professional staff, as well as our efforts to ensure a safe and clean experience for our guests were instrumental in making your stay an enjoyable one. Our service team works hard to ensure that we deliver the very best service and it's great to hear that we meet your standards. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Steve O'Brien General Manager
Read more
Tata wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
This hotel is beautiful, the staff were courteous and attentive, the room service was delicious. The room we stayed in was on the 30th floor the view was amazing and the room was spotless. It's within walking distance to many restaurants and the Eaton Centre(mall). Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve O'Brien, General Manager at One King West Hotel & Residence
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Tata4noww, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing One King West for your weekend getaway to Toronto. I am pleased to hear that our attentive team, our spectacular city and lake views, as well as our clean, home-inspired suites were instrumental in making your stay an enjoyable one. As we strive to provide our guests with a safe, clean and welcoming experience, it's great to know that our efforts have been recognized and appreciated. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Steve O'Brien General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$159 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1 king west hotel & residence, one king west hotel and residence, one king west toronto, suites toronto, king suites toronto, one king west hotel residence, suites 1 king west
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Downtown West / Bay Street Corridor / Entertainment District / Financial District / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
330
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about One King West Hotel & Residence
Which popular attractions are close to One King West Hotel & Residence?
Nearby attractions include Levelup Reality (0.3 miles), Toronto Urban Adventures (0.1 miles), and Hockey Hall of Fame (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to One King West Hotel & Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Richmond Station, C'est what?, and Canoe Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is One King West Hotel & Residence located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Toronto.
Are any cleaning services offered at One King West Hotel & Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does One King West Hotel & Residence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at One King West Hotel & Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Filipino.