We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Templar Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Templar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently stayed in room 2.1 - the room was modern and looked good, however some comforts were missing. Overall, enjoyed the location but wouldn't rush to book again. Pros: - good location, walking distance to lots of attractions, bars and restaurants - modern design - helpful and friendly staff - our room had a patio area - bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good minimalist property, excellent location and staff very helpful. We had two nights in a King Suite, no view which was disappointing as this rather negates the floor to ceiling windows when you are looking at a wall and from the details of the suites we had mistakenly thought there were views of the city from all the suites rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Christine, Thanks for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do have views of the city from the front of the building but not the back lower King suites. We apologize for the confusion. We will also be looking into your concerns and we plan to rectify some of the items you mentioned. We... More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was expensive yet not spotless. Was okay for showering and sleeping but woke achey due to the bed being rather uncomfy! Staff were nice overall. Location is spot on 5 min walk to the CN tower and is surrounded by bars and shops!

Helpful?
Thank Stevie J
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Stevie, I am disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations, however, I am happy to hear that you were pleased by our location. We will be looking into the issues you mentioned. I hope that your next stay is a better one. Thanks, John Paterson More 

London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room and location were amazing. On our first night we did have a bathroom leek (from the room above) we let the guy on the service desk know and he went straight into action to help us out. The next day we were moved to a new room, and they also moved out bags for us whilst we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Zoe A, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear we had a minor incident but I am glad to hear it was sorted out quickly. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again. Regards, John Paterson More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was welcoming and warm upon checkin and I loved the minimalist decor! I arrived Friday night to live music flowing into the lobby from the bar. After checking in, I went to the restaurant to check out the music and have a drink. The staff was so friendly I ended up staying for dinner (which was incredible). I'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Arlene, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon! Regards, John Paterson More 

Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This small boutique hotel was recently renovated very poorly. It is the most user unfriendly hotel I've ever stayed at anywhere in the world. The bed is on the floor, there is virtually no seating in the room, and the bathroom is absolutely useless! Poor shower, no dressing area at sink, bathroom all frosted glass and door to the commode... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cjogroup
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

cjogroup, We apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have taken note of your concerns. Much have what you have mentioned is fixable and we certainly plan to improve in these areas. Thank you for your feedback. Thanks, John Paterson More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Visited this small boutique hotel last week. Overall, very good experience and I would recommend to couples or singles staying in the Toronto downtown core. I stayed in a king room. Pros: - location, location, location - close to everything downtown Toronto - vibe: cool, trendy vibe - restaurant: very very unique and tasty food, must try - design: uniquely... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimmyJ20
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

TimmyJ20, Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will also pass the message along that you liked our on-site restaurant, Parcae. Go to their trip advisor page and share your experience! Thank you also for the feedback, we take our guests concerns very seriously and we have noted the issues you mentioned... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Great location for this little hotel. I usually stay in larger hotels that have a greater selection of amenities, but given that i was only there for a few days and was out for meetings, this hotel was perfect. Staff were kind, king room I was in was great for my needs. Recommend the restaurant as well. Amazing tapas/italian food.

Helpful?
Thank Eugeney18
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Eugeney18, Thanks for the review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And you are correct, we have a great location. We are glad you liked our restaurant as well! Come again soon. Regards, John Paterson More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the vip superior suite for one night. Upon arriving we were not greeted by the front desk staff. His eyes were glued to the computer monitor and he totally ignored our presence. The lobby of the Templar is very small so it's not like he didn't see us. When we approached him to check in, he was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jesuistony
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

tonyaarcher, I am very disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed your comments and will be taking the appropriate steps to rectify your concerns. The issues you have mentioned are unacceptable. We at the Templar Hotel sincerely apologize for your poor experience and I can assure you that we will work to improve for next... More 

Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016

The hotel is located in a non-descript block of Adelaide, not where you might expect to find a hotel. I walked with my suitcase into the lobby, which has a small seating area, and noted that the only person in the space (which has no visible branding) was totally committed to his computer screen. Pause. Hesitation. No contact. This can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank notbornyesterday
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

notbornyesterday, I am very very disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please contact the front desk at res@templarhotel.com. I would like to follow up with you about your experience and see what we can do for you. This is not a normal experience for our guests. Thanks, John Paterson More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#84 of 135 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#50 of 135 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#23 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#38 of 135 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#9 of 135 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Templar Hotel is a small, uber stylish, unique boutique hotel in the heart of Toronto. There is so much that makes the Templar Hotel a special place - its people, its secretive history, the chic, trendy and minimalist design, or its affiliation with TIFF and private exclusive events and parties. Located in the heart of Toronto's entertainment district, the Templar Hotel promises to provide an experience that you won't get at a standard large chain hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templar Hotel

Address: 348 Adelaide St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $168 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Templar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay