We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Templar Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Templar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location for this little hotel. I usually stay in larger hotels that have a greater selection of amenities, but given that i was only there for a few days and was out for meetings, this hotel was perfect. Staff were kind, king room I was in was great for my needs. Recommend the restaurant as well. Amazing tapas/italian food.

Helpful?
Thank Eugeney18
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in a non-descript block of Adelaide, not where you might expect to find a hotel. I walked with my suitcase into the lobby, which has a small seating area, and noted that the only person in the space (which has no visible branding) was totally committed to his computer screen. Pause. Hesitation. No contact. This can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank notbornyesterday
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are seasoned travelers, but had to leave after one night. Although this is a new, modern hotel with a good location, it did not work for us. Our queen-sized room was extremely tiny, with a dorm-like feel. There was no air-conditioning, one night stand, no reading lamps, only five tv channels, and an uncomfortable bed practically on the floor.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Laurie, We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Our rooms are simple, minimalist and sleek, much different than a standard hotel chain. As for the air conditioner, we have repaired this small issue in your room. After an extremely hot week, all our A/C units were working overtime to keep your room cool. We apologize you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff and unique room. Bed was comfy and shower was awesome...a bit noisey i could hear the elevator and people opening and shutting there blinds. The thing that was a big no for me was where the toilet was located. The frosted glass was not enough privacy and the door going into the toilet room was really heavy. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank crystal b
templarhoteladmin, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Crystal, Thank you for taking the time to review the Templar Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Privacy in our king suite's is something that has come up before and we are currently planning to make some changes in the near future for the optimal privacy for our guest's. I will pass along your feedback to management, as we... More 

Webster, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Why stay at a generic hotel? Loved the modern style and the coziness of the room. It was very apparent that a lot of thought and attention went into how the rooms were put together. Even the elevator is a work of art. The staff was great and we loved the restaurant too. Liked the area of the city the... More 

Helpful?
Thank philmny
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

philny, Thanks for the review! We are very pleased that you appreciated the hotel's unique qualities. We will pass the message along to the restaurant as I am sure they will be very happy to hear you had a good experience there as well. See you again soon! Regards, John More 

Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Every detail accounted for! Two rain shower heads, cool and modern decor, Apple Play, sleek balcony...all that is needed is a door stop for the shower door (so heavy!). We were in the penthouse - we recommend it highly!

Helpful?
Thank John837Jodi
templarhoteladmin, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John837 Jodi, Wow, thank you for the comments! The staff at the Templar love to hear when our guest's have had a great time and enjoyed their stay. Those showerheads sure seem to be a guest favourite! We are certainly happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in the penthouse. I will pass along the comment regarding... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Templar location is excellent, layout of the rooms and finishes are nice. Only disappointment was the bed and comfiness or lack there of as well as the sheets were as soft as burlap. Try not skimping out on the most important item of any hotel room.

Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Jordan P, Thanks for the review. I'm glad you had a pleasant experience with us. I'm somewhat surprised to hear the sheets were not to your liking. We do not skimp out on our sheets I can assure you, however, I will certainly look into why your sheets were not up to par. Thanks for the feedback, we are always... More 

Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We stayed here last Thursday for the Journey/Doobie Bro's concert and were very nicely surprised at this hotel. Very nice rooms, small but functional, huge tub and multi head shower. Nice beds and décor was great. Pricing seemed reasonable and the location was the BOMB.....I'd go back and we usually stay at the Fairmont or Sheraton.....this was a very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brawnetml
templarhoteladmin, Guest Relations Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brawnetml, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are extremely pleased that you had a great time during your stay with us! We hope you enjoyed the concert as well. We do have a great location and so happy to hear that it was a great spot for you. Please visit us again soon! Regards, Guest Relations More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a trip in Toronto. We stayed at the Templar Hotel and all I can say was that I was not impressed. First of all, the location is not bad. It is in walking distance to the ball park and quite a few bars and restaurants. The area is safe and there seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank RileyFitzgerald
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Riley, We are dealing with all of your concerns ASAP! We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are aware of the room you were in during your stay. It is the only room with an A/C unit that needs to be repaired. When the weather is very hot like it was during your stay, it is not... More 

Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Loved, loved, loved this hotel! The only reason I never gave 5 star was because the air conditioning wasn't great but they brought us up a big floor fan that felt great. There was absolutely no noise, the shower was huge, the bed was comfortable. Coffee machine and mini fridge in room. Very minimalistic. There were very little choices with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Nancy, Thanks for the review. I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. You stayed when it was extremely hot in Toronto, so we apologize as your AC unit was not operating perfectly, but we thank you for the feedback, as we certainly want to improve for your next stay with us! Regards, John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#84 of 137 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#26 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#51 of 137 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#9 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighborhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Templar Hotel is a small, uber stylish, unique boutique hotel in the heart of Toronto. There is so much that makes the Templar Hotel a special place - its people, its secretive history, the chic, trendy and minimalist design, or its affiliation with TIFF and private exclusive events and parties. Located in the heart of Toronto's entertainment district, the Templar Hotel promises to provide an experience that you won't get at a standard large chain hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templar Hotel

Address: 348 Adelaide St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1R7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $169 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Templar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay