We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Senator Hotel

Overview
14 Mountjoy St S, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
3.5 Star accommodation
About
Description
Book a room at the Senator Hotel (formerly Days Inn) for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes More it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Room Service
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Smoking rooms available
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Smoking rooms available
Number of rooms
145
Price range
$87 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
,
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
,
Days Inn Timmins
,
Timmins Days Inn
,
The Senator Hotel Timmins, Ontario
Location
Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
168 reviews
.04 miles away
Balsam Suites Boutique Inn & Residence
143 reviews
.23 miles away
Bon Air Motel
38 reviews
.49 miles away
Super 8 by Wyndham Timmins ON
167 reviews
1.08 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 104 nearby restaurants
Radical Gardens
39 reviews
.23 miles away
Gallery Dining Room
43 reviews
.01 miles away
Christopher's Coffee House
62 reviews
.31 miles away
Holy Cow Indian Cuisine
21 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 36 nearby attractions
Gillies Lake Conservation Area
38 reviews
.63 miles away
Timmins Museum : National Exhibition Centre
25 reviews
.43 miles away
Full Beard Brewing Co
5 reviews
.29 miles away
Imagine Cinemas
9 reviews
.39 miles away
Reviews & more
264Reviews
61Photos
0Q+A
50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 82
  • 63
  • 40
  • 43
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This was our first time staying at the Senator. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of hotel and the room that we stayed in. The front desk staff were very nice, the underground parking was great to see to keep my vehicle out of the weather. Give this hotel a try.
Read more
Response from Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Steve for your great review! The covered secure parking is definitely a great feature for our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!!
Read more
The stay could have been good. Although the hotel has seen better days, it seems that the owners are trying to modernize the place. The bed was amazingly comfortable. With a downtown location, there is often sketchy things going on like drug dealing in the parking garage. There w
Read more
Response from SHLTD, Manager at The Senator Hotel
Responded Oct 5, 2018
I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We have totally improved our building security with keycard entry for all entrances except for our front door. I assure you your safety is very important to us. As for the extra fee, this is common practice in all hotels. When our housekeepers check a room that had a pet and find a large wet spot on the carpet, they will investigate to determine what the spot is. In this case, it was urine. Thank you for the positive comment on our comfortable beds.
Read more
There were some maintenance issues in my room. The food was great for the conference. Breakfast was good. Lunches were fun. Dinner at our event was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were a group of over 100.
Read more
Response from SHLTD, Manager at The Senator Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2018
Thank you so much for the great comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed our banquet catering services. We strongly aim to make your stay super comfortable and enjoyable and appreciate all suggestions and comments we receive from our guests. Once again, thank you and if there is anything you need in the future, please contact us!!
Read more
I decided to give the Senator hotel another shot after a 5-month boycott.

Price was much more reasonable.

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic: real eggs, real bacon, real sausages.

Only complaint are the vagrants outside, constantly leeching for money and cigarettes, but
Read more
Response from SHLTD, Manager at The Senator Hotel
Responded Sep 15, 2018
Thank you for your great comments. We always have our guests "best interest at heart" . We do offer the best complimentary breakfast as you have noticed. Your kind remarks were very encouraging and we will continue to strive and achieve a higher level of service and quality of product. See you soon!
Read more
I have stayed at this motel in the past when it was Days Inn and it was pretty nice
We were in Timmins for a month so booked there for the entire time thinking it would be the same, was I wrong!!
Untrained staff
Very dirty carpets through out
The local vagrants are constantly ha
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Fridge included in the room
Microwave and fridge (in the unit)
Could see to the river and beyond, very nice view of the city.
Comfy king bed.
Sitting area and desk near the window. Amazing view.
Previous
"Pick another hotel."
"All rooms have a decent view."
"If possible, look for rooms on the higher floors"
"top floors are the best views"
"choose a room in a different hotel. do not stay here!!!"
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing