We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Expedia.com$63*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge
 Click to rate
North Bay
Reviewed April 20, 2017

My husband and I travel to Saskatchewan 2-3 times a year and Thunder Bay is our stop over. We don't like to pay much for a hotel because we only sleep in it for a few hours, shower and hit the road. Our problem is that we travel with 2 small dogs, so our options are limited. We have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
Kenora District, Canada
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Do yourself a favour and pay a little bit more for a better room. Rooms smell very musty and the bathrooms are in serious need of work. Walls are very thin. You can clearly hear the people in the next room. Every toilet flushing and bathroom fan is audible in your room. Noisy guests. If you complain to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rainfallfromheaven
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

I broke down in thunder bay have to get my truck fixed. Had to take a hotel, didnt get there till 5:30am still had to check out at 11 and pay full price. Walls are thin couldnt sleep from all the noise. Workers are loud in the morning and completely unapologetic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

This place was disgusting! As you can see from the photos this was a dirty dirty place. Black mold on the ceiling around the ac unit, the bathtub black from the dirt, and the bedding all torn up. I was trying to find another place to stay while in the town and everything was booked up! I would have rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
Meaford, Canada
Reviewed January 5, 2017

We were trying to be the nasty winter weather from Manitoba to southern Ontario in January and pulled into the Econo Lodge in Thunder Bay. The front desk clerk was super nice and helpful. Showed me our room prior to booking. I have started to ask to do this so there are no nasty surprises. The room was small but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kym P
Leslie S, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kym, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I want to apologize for you not being able to get your receipt when you requested it. I have emailed you a copy of your receipt to the email you provide. I'm glad you had a good experience with us and we hope to see you...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed November 16, 2016

Stayed there on my way through Thunder Bay and again on my way back through. Staff was excellent and accommodating, rooms very nice and clean.I recommend this motel for the traveler as it is centrally located for shopping etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Islandtimeontario
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Kelowna
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

It's an econo lodge, it's basic. The rooms have been recently updated and the location and price are right. There is a McDonalds, Boston Pizza and Quiznos near by. I've never had the lobby breakfast..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlakeVW
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Fort Frances, Canada
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Spent an overnight at the hotel to catch a flight on the morning. Hotel is relatively well lit on a main road (Memorial) in Thunder Bay, with a mall and box stores relatively close by. Very reasonable rate. Paper thin walls unfortunately where I stayed, so I got to listen to one of my loud neighbours for a few hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travl_trail
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Really great place to stay. Clean and very comfortable. For the price paid it was one of the best places we stayed during our driving trip across Canada. Breakfast was basic but well stocked. The staff were very friendly and efficient with check in and check out procedures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newytraveller53
Jervaulx, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

I am stopping here tonight October 7/8th 2016,it's a good clean nice place to stay,desk staff are nice and helpful to,thanks to one of the desk people who was on duty when I checked in I ate the most delicious bacon n cheese burger at Kelsey's just a 10 min walk from the Econo lodge motel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr_Road_Tripper_UK
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 33 in Thunder Bay
191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Thunder Bay
1.7 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Ave, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid rooms near the front of the hotel or by the stairwell doors unless you like hearing people coming and going all hours.”
rainfallfromheaven, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose room 103 and ask to see the room in advance. Sometimes after seeing the room I know this is not the right motel for me.”
KymP704, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“no smoking, call to request mobility or main and they will provide”
ladywest2, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“main floor no elevator”
binarond, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have fridges.”
CndTrvlr042, Oct 4, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$63* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$77
Hotwire.com$63
Booking.com$63
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates