We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2015

Dark, rough parking lot, hard by the QEW so noisy if not on the south side of the building. Room was ice cold, then boiling hot. Cold air flows in if the unit is turned off. Dated sheet set, pillows very thing, mattress uncomfortable. Front desk check in was very pleasant and helpful. Even as a discount hotel left much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Paul B for your feedback. As many of our guests have stated before our front desk is always very pleasant and helpful. We try and go above and beyond our guests expectations. I apologize when you came in it was a bit dark. Our lights are on a timer and as the days grow smaller the timer needed... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2015

We were going to Niagara Falls and we were looking for a cost effective hotel. I have stayed in hotels at Niagara and they are not the best but my advice is book any of them there, at least you are closer. I was happy when found this place because the pictures look great and for less money than I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luisa G
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Luisa for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I apologize that you found your room too hot. In the winter months we like to have the rooms warm and cozy for our guests as temperatures in Canada do get very cold. Many guests appreciate that they are warm and can jump into bed without having to wait hours to... More 

Travelers are raving about these St. Catharines hotels

1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2015

I stayed here October 2015. My mens hockey team had a tournament in St Catherine's and on of my team mates found this place. To sum it up... "What a dump" The room smelled of damp, mold. Carpet was stained. The have 'painted the counter top around the sink... and the paint is peeling off. The first room they gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Where do I start, We chose this location as a cost effective way to stay close to family. When we checked in (which was at 10:30pm), we we're greeted by an out of date musty smelling front office. Once we got to our room we opened the door to a room that had yet to be cleaned. The bed was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnL L
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Hello ShawnL L, I would like to thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have taken the time to read your review and also the notes left by the front desk clerk. Shawn you checked in at 10:30 pm and by mistake were given the keys to a "dirty" room. Housekeeping was unable to finish cleaning all rooms... More 

Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2015

The room was not at all cheap but because we were attending a wedding we had to book early and this hotel was on the list. The pictures on the website look lovely but the room we had was awful. Not recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jim and Ann D
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Jim And Ann D for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I had a chance to take a look at your registration and notes left on the website. I understand your biggest concern was that the room was not cheap Jim/Ann. What I would like you to know is you were charged roughly $150 CDN for a Saturday night... More 

Hazel Park, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2015

As some other reviewers I made a mistake trying to save on my impromptu trip. I thought that staying a few miles away from the falls would be cheaper and the two hotels right around the corner were booked, so I took a room without a second thought. It wasn't too expensive, but as I found out later I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank almostbob
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you almostbob for your Trip Advisor feedback. Sir in the summer months especially July and August prices do get very high in the Niagara region which includes St Catharines. As you stated we weren't as expensive as most surrounding hotels/motels because we believe in value. I understand you may have been able to get a room at one of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2015

I am an international student who has never been to Ontario. I stayed here for about a week in August. I would say this is a very satisfying experience. I arrived in this area looking for an apartment, literally knows nobody here. The hotel owner Patrick, his son Manny and several staffs here offered me great amounts of local information.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Di Y
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Di Y for your feedback. First off I would like to thank you for staying with us and it was a pleasure having you here. It can be hard when moving from some place else and not knowing anyone. We understand that and also do our best to help as much as we can. I wish you the... More 

Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2015

I thought I'd be smart and save some money on a room while visiting Niagara Falls with the family. Found this hotel on Hotwire rated at 2 stars and thought it couldn't be that bad. I was wrong. The motel is right on the expressway and very loud. The lobby wasn't that bad, and the clerk was mostly helpful, although... More 

Helpful?
Thank GR_FamilyTraveler
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you GR_FamilyTraveler for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have read your feedback and would like to discuss the following: When you booked online all websites outline the location of the property. Along with the directions or gps routes it would have shown how close we are to the QEW. Many of our guests comment on how convenient our... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2015

The young lady at the front desk does a fine job especially during the rush in the morning. She went above and beyond and printed tickets that we purchased for a show. It's affordable room and you get what you pay for, The continental breakfast was prettyweak .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drown_christopher
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you drown_christopher for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that the front desk staff was able to go above and beyond even through a busy morning. I hope you enjoyed your show and had a safe passage home back to Texas. Like you said It's an affordable room and you get what you pay for. As an economy... More 

calgary, alberta, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2015

Worst hotel that I've ever stayed at. What a DUMP!!!! Skip this HOLE and do yourself a favour. Can't say enough bad about this hotel. Don't stay here. Had booked this hotel be mistake. Bathrooms were filthy, carpet was disgustingly filthy and stained, also ripped. Cabinet corners were literally falling apart. Main entry door was falling apart and Desk clerk... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank maumel
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Maumel for your feedback. Maumel I am shocked to hear about your stay at our establishment. I do recall your stay with us but I am sure it was not as dreadful as you describe. We recently had the outside of our property painted and I recall your door sticking as it had just been painted the evening... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
418 reviews
York - Haig
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York - Haig
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
79 reviews
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Address: 420 Ontario Street | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Price Range: $52 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
St. Catharines Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge St. Catharines
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Kingston, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“balcony facing the qew highway”
 of 5 bubbles silkyme, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you want a decent room.”
  • Door
  • doorframe
  • carpet in our room
 of 5 bubbles chrisaE9894VC, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“There isn't one here.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingT4, Sep 2, 2016 | Read review
“For easier accessibility, ask for a ground floor room. Parking is right in front of your room and no stairs to climb.”
 of 5 bubbles stonefountain5876, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this motel. They are not honest. They do not care.”
 of 5 bubbles 806adriennez, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay