We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Springbank House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Springbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
St andrews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Actually in a gazebo surrounded by the garden but it felt as though we were outside enjoying the early morning sunshine and tasting the wonderful fresh breakfast. We felt very welcome in a lovely house with a comfortable bed. What more could we ask?

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Lovely room in a century house. This is not a hotel but a guest house. We had a very clean and quiet room with ensuite bathroom. Owners were a delight, they chatted to us over coffee (stipulate breakfast the day before!) and gave us insight to the history of the house and the area. It really is like staying at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank William S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

I spent five nights in this very comfortable old house in perhaps the nicest part of the city. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I appreciated the personal touches and experience versus a corporate chain. I hope to stay here again on my next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

We just came home from a wonderful weekend at Springbank House! It's honestly difficult for me to understand the poor reviews, because our experience of this place was absolutely unlike them. I was in touch with Andrea by phone and email to make our booking and to arrange a dinner, and she was gracious and helpful in every possible way.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank foodiechikTO
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Nice home with character and good ambiance. Our first B&B so perhaps we were expecting too much? Bed booked was queen but it ended up a double. AC was not great but it is an older house. Owners placed a fan in our room which was a nice touch .Sheets could use an upgrade. Overall nothing bad to say but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gord S
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank you Gord, for taking the time to share your 1-night experience, at Springbank House Inn. We are glad that you found us to be a good place to stay for 1-night during a weekend. Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all of your expectations. We offer a premium on the weekend rates for guests who wish to... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Here are some of our first-hand experiences: The owners are NOT welcoming. They are officious, formal, cold, the worst hosts we've ever experienced in a privately owned house. It is NOT a B & B. You will pay $15.00 per person for a small croissant, coffee, canned or frozen orange juice, a tasteless fresh fruit salad (how can that be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley1112
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Beverley, Beverley, Beverley, Where do we begin? We received a personal phone call for your reservation with lots of questions about Springbank House. The next day, we received a cancellation via phone & email. The following day, we received a follow up confirmation that you were indeed planning to stay with us. We were really happy to host you both... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night. We booked at the last minute and this was one of the few places around the area that had a vacancy. We pretty much used the place just to sleep - checked in around 3 PM, took a nap and went out around 5; came back around 11 PM and went to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jay59inPgh
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments Jayant! They were really appreciated. Accept our apologies if we did not formally introduce ourselves. We look forward to your next visit to Niagara & Springbank House! More 

Cherokee, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Read some previous negative reviews but decided to book anyway. The house is beautiful on exterior and landscaped nicely. Had booked on Expedia and reserved a deluxe room. Receipt stated we would be placed in either the magnolia or wisteria room. We were placed in a small room with a full sized bed. My Expedia receipt stated that the pet... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Amira2009
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Hello Amira2009, You are right in that you received the one of our smaller rooms that is also quite comfortable. When you called the week prior to your arrival, we discussed the daily rate for 1 dog under 15lbs to be CAD$35.00. Sometimes, errors do occur on Expedia sites and we are happy to work with Expedia to correct them.... More 

Schomberg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

The owners were lovely and the room was perfect. Huge bathroom and very homey. Cool in the heat and very inviting. Didn't notice if it had a TV but it had excellent free Wi-Fi and beautiful gardens. Downtown St. Catherine's was a short walk and everything we wanted was close by, although it all opens late on a Sunday. However,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank gracklecoffee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The room was great. Very clean and beautifully decorated. The location was quiet with no street noise. Beds were very comfortable. The house provided comfortable locations for conversations and the ability to reconnect with family. We opted for the hot breakfast option, which was a wise choice. The breakfast was well worth every penny. Absolutely delicious! The inn keepers quickly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
York - Haig
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
York - Haig
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Springbank House

Address: 68 Yates St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Price Range: $93 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Springbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springbank House St. Catharines, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay