We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (22)
Room & Suite (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)

About

#8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in St. Catharines
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you’re looking for a charming bed and breakfast in St. Catharines, look no further than Springbank House. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting St. Catharines, Springbank House is located a short distance from Rodman Hall Art Centre (0.6 mi) and Niagara Artists Centre (0.6 mi). You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area, and you can stay connected during your stay as Springbank House offers guests free wifi. The bed and breakfast features room service. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of St. Catharines' popular tapas restaurants such as Coppola's Ristorante, Johnny Rocco's, and Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grille, all a short distance from Springbank House. If you are interested in exploring St. Catharines, check out a waterfall, such as Decew Falls. The staff at Springbank House looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German
77Reviews
0Q+A
17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 18
  • 5
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It is nicely appointed inside but lack some 'conveniences' that are expected now. And an unpleasant surprise awaited us when we were ready to check out. 1. No door lock on the room, except a slide-lock on the inside. 2. There is no AC in the room. A fan was left running on a chair next to the bed and the window in the bathroom was propped open by a glass brick. Windows in the bedroom could not be opened. 3. The vintage claw-foot tub is mounted away from the wall with a curtain that extends around the entire tub. No anti-slip mat was provided and my wife would not attempt to step into the tub whose side extends above my knee height. The lack of any supports would make this impossible for elderly or infirm guests, and was not indicated at booking time. 4. There is no TV, radio, mini-fridge or microwave, but the WiFi was good. 5. The mediocre breakfast was elegantly presented. If you're not into granola and stale croissants, go elsewhere. Not up to B&B expectations, but I was told that for $15/person a full breakfast is available. 6. At breakfast on the 2nd day, just before we were checking out, we were informed that there was an additional $10/day/person service charge that was to be added to the bill. This upset me and since the reservation conditions stated 'A Property service charge is not applicable', I refused to pay. This left a very bad impression as to the ethics of the establishment. DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Read more
Response from Andrea J, Owner at Springbank House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your review Tom and thank you for staying at Springbank House. We offered all amenities as advertised on our site. Yes, Springbank House is a "Century Old plus" Heritage Residence. It is not possible to offer a TV or microwave within each guestroom. We did not and do not advertise any of these amenities. For these reasons, our price in the marketplace reflects this. Guest who require a mini fridge will ask and one is provided to them. We happily microwave food items in our kitchen when asked by our guests. There is central air but with beautiful "true" spring nights, the overnight temperature during your stay, dropped to a breezy 15'C and 17'C respectively. Each guestroom is also equipped with a fan. When we talked about the weekend weather at check-in, it would have been helpful for us to know your preference. We apologize if you needed additional "A/C" during the night. Yes, Springbank House is "well-maintained" to upkeep its provenance and integrity. The residence is regularly cleaned, maintained and re-painted to the best of our resources. The claw foot tubs are part of the original home and we advertise one in each en-suite bathroom. We have never stated in our ad-copy that the residence and guestrooms are "disabled friendly". We would have been happy to provide a non-slip mat for your bathtub if asked. One has now been included in your previous guestroom bathroom. Our CAD$1/PP breakfast supplement includes Coffee or Tea and Orange Juice. We have been warned and must be careful when offering "allergy prone" food items. Guests complain when these items are served to other guests in close proximity. When you wrote to us one month prior to your arrival, you asked which items were included in the $1/PP breakfast supplement. We stated that cereal with milk will be also offered to you during your stay. We also offered you, 2 varieties of croissants each morning. You kindly asked that we only serve the savoury croissants. After breakfast, you said thank you for everything and that the croissants were "very delicious". We are happy about this compliment. Service is a large part of the accommodation "product". We offer large and beautifully landscaped lawn and gardens for your first impression. We offer Free Parking. We offer Free Unlimited WiFi. We offer to carry your bags from the Front Door to your Guestroom and vice versa. Upon arrival to your room, we offer to hang your garment bag and outerwear in the closet. In the mornings, we offer daily guestroom and en-suite bathroom service. In the evenings, we offer turn-down service of your room and en-suite bathroom. We offer breakfast in the Formal Dining Room if there are only 2 persons so that there is a bit more "atmosphere" for you; our guests. We offered additional baked-good items for our $1.00 breakfast supplement. We offer beautiful classical music for your listening enjoyment during breakfast. Service Charge forms part and parcel of accommodation. Yes, there is Service Charge as part of the final bill. Accommodation includes both the "tangible" amenities and the service. Your service charge of $15% totaled $51.00. This price was never presented to you as we decided to offer a "Seniors" discount and listed a total of $20.00 instead. We are always happy to host "Seniors" as history and many great stories are shared. We are sad that you felt "ripped off" by the Service Charge of $20.00. Your comments have still allowed us to improve our product and service to future guests. We look forward to your next visit to Beautiful Niagara.
Read more
A guest house in a quiet street walking distance from downtown. The room was clean and spacious with a king bed and large private bath. A lovely oasis type stay. Charming appointments and old books spice the built in shelves. Recommended.
Read more
Response from SpringbankH, Owner at Springbank House
Responded Apr 29, 2019
Thank you for your prompt review Mr. & Mrs. Sugith. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Springbank House. Our rooms are quite large. We try our utmost to keep period furnishings and the rooms, clean. Welcome Back to Beautiful Niagara; Summer is Coming!
Read more
The hostess, Andrea, was very welcoming. The home was lovely but lighting was lacking as was security. There were no locks on any of the doors. No television. When we asked why no television, we received no response. The heating was less than adequate. We asked that the heat be turned up one evening, it was, but the next day it was cold again. The bathroom and in particular the bath tub was a scary adventure if you wanted to have a shower. It was an old style tub with a curved bottom. Difficult to stand up in. Breakfast was less than adequate. Overall, overpriced for what you got.
Read more
Response from SpringbankH, Owner at Springbank House
Responded Apr 29, 2019
Hello Mr. Greg, We've tried our best to keep the integrity of this Heritage Residence. When Springbank House was built in 1905, it was not built for TV use in each guestroom. TV use in each guestroom has noise concerns. Initially in 2005, we offered a TV in each guestroom, but guests complained of unhappy sleep during the night; from TV noise from the adjoining rooms. Hence, we do not advertise TV in our guest rooms as there are none. Today, Old Houses try to keep up with external winter temperatures with their internal heating capabilities. Springbank House is true to 1905 so you will find the original Claw-Foot Bathtubs. These tubs have been outfitted with a shower and wrap around shower-curtains. Rubber mats are provided for standing ease. Due to the many allergies in today's world, we try to keep the Mini Breakfast as simple as possible. We are happy that you stayed at Springbank House. Your comments have helped us to improve since your October 2018 visit. We look forward to your return to Beautiful Niagara!
Read more
We contacted Andrea to make a last minute reservation and ask for an early check-in time. Andrea was very responsive and accommodating. We stayed in the Wisteria Room which was very large as well as the en-suite bathroom. The home itself is a jewel. Over a 100 years old it is very well maintained and the details are incredible. The house has been updated but in keeping with the age of the home. The gardens are small and beautifully maintained. The Yates Street area is one of the best in St. Catherine's based on recommendations from the local tourism bureau. The houses were lovely and the area incredibly quiet. Within the house it was tranquil and serene. We never heard anyone moving around the house even though there were other guests. No TV's but who needs one for a night or two? Andrea was very careful to make sure we were able to connect our devices to the WIFI in the house if we needed to keep up with the latest events. Short and beautiful walk to downtown St Catherine' s. There are many restaurant options within walking distance of the house. Breakfast in the morning was a simple continental one. We loved our one night stay at Springbank house and I will look for opportunities to visit St. Catherine's again so we can stay stay at Springbank house again.
Read more
Response from SpringbankH, Owner at Springbank House
Responded Apr 29, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Springbank House. We take pride to keep this Heritage Residence as original to the date of 1905. Springbank House looks forward to your next visit to Beautiful Niagara!
Read more
+1
We stayed at Springbank House while visiting our son in the St-Catharines area. The owner communicated with us perfectly, texting us the day before to determine arrival times, and was there to meet us when we arrived. The house is beautiful; it was still decked out for Christmas and we really enjoyed the detail. We do prefer a unique stay and this one was great. Our bedroom had a king bed - two beds together with two box springs and a king-sized mattress on top, which as the owner has noted in other posts, is historically accurate. Likely the mattress has been changed as our sleep was very comfortable - one of the best beds I have ever slept in. We loved the period bathroom and claw-foot tub with complete shower surround. Extension cords had been provided to ensure easy access to power (there aren't many plugs in a 100-year old home) and we really had everything we needed. The owner responded to texts from us quickly, including serving a wonderful coffee and shortbread tray in the mornings at our leisure...we loved sitting and chatting in the large formal living room (also very comfortable). As noted by other reviews, keys to the rooms aren't provided but we did note security cameras and the neighbourhood is very quiet. We had no issues with just latching our room door at night. Despite being a period home, everything was so clean and tidy and the taps on the tub were obviously new - plenty of hot water under a rainfall shower head. We were charged the Niagara Destination Marketing Fee, as do most if not all other hotels in the area. My only recommendation to all Niagara Area hotels is that they flag this local tax (now being used in many cities) up front. We are seasoned travellers and were already aware of it. Bottom line, if you are looking to stay somewhere unique, walking distance to St-Pauls and the downtown core, in a lovely historic home, you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Response from SpringbankH, Owner at Springbank House
Responded Apr 29, 2019
Thanks for your review Tim. Christmas Decorations were still up as major surgery for one of us, was around the corner. The decos helped to keep us cheerful. We are happy that you appreciated what Grand Heritage Residences have to offer. Today, a gentile way of life is still sought after by many. Due to ever increasing costs of operating a Grand Residence, this fee forms part of the Booking Contract. Springbank House looks forward to your return visit to Beautiful Niagara!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioSt. Catharines
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing