We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Peterborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Peterborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 309: English reviews
Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a recent business event. The hotel is clean, and the staff are friendly. You won't meet a nicer guy than Bernie at the bar. The hotel has been there for years and while maintained, the structure is 60's era...Little tired in design and modern bathroom fixtures. It sits on prime real estate overlooking the river and lake. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hug_The_Mouse
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! Bernie is a valued member of our team and is known world wide! Glad you were able to enjoy some conversation with him. We are scheduled to undergo a complete renovation in the coming months that will updated and modernize the hotel from top to bottom.... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very well located on the water. Very pleasant and accomodating staff especially with reservations. Old fashionned Holiday Inn. Great swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna. Breakfast was good with real French croissants, lots of choice and excellent service. Smoke free but my room smelled of smoke. Lots of parking. Nice park just beside the adjacent marina.

Helpful?
Thank lenavigOttawa_Canada
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have recently spent several weeks at this hotel for business. Some rooms are better than others. All rooms I stayed in were waterfront. Fabulous waterfront location. I couldn't really enjoy the balcony and views in the last room I was in as it was completely over-run by spiders, BIG spiders. Housekeeping had the webs removed one day and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank breanna501
Grant Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us during your business trips to Peterborough. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy your balcony on your last visit as the weather this year seems to have brought out more of our 8 legged friends, especially the rooms that are closest to the river. I have forwarded your cleanliness comments to our Executive... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a nice room looking over the river view, friendly staff even thou old property. The indoor and outdoor pool a lot of fun for the kids. The only thing that you can check in the guest until the room is ready, we got the room not ready yet... Gladly the HK staff made the room ready also she going... More 

Helpful?
Thank Am2ru
Grant Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us on your retreat! I am thrilled the kids loved our unique indoor/outdoor pool, it is a hit all year long, especially in the winter time. Perfect that you were able to reserve a room overlooking the Otonabee River to enjoy that great view. Sorry to hear that your room was not ready at check-in, our... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was placed on the fourth floor which I loved very much but prefered to of had the Lake view but nothing was available so that was fine. my only problem was the beds. My aunt is only 4'8" and trying to get up unto her bed was very hard for her since the mattresses are about 3 feet from... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarcP641
Grant Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Peterborough . I am glad to see that our incredibly friendly staff were able to help your aunt with a stool so she could more easily access the bed. Thanks for also dining in the Riverside Grill! We look forward to your next visit to our city and would recommend reserving a... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice hotel with friendly staff. It may be an older property but it is well maintained and clean. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The indoor outdoor pool is a lot of fun for the kids. The hotel boasts river views in a park like setting near restaurants. Try and get a river view room if you can.

Helpful?
Thank KanMaple
Grant Z, General Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Peterborough with us. I am glad that your kids enjoyed our unique indoor/outdoor pool, it is always a hit for families. Our incredibly friendly staff look forward to hosting you again when you return to the area! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family booked three rooms for an overnight stay in Peterborough at the Holiday Inn on George Street. The water side rooms afforded an outstanding view of Little Lake and the hotel was a short walk from the main street shopping area. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We'll be returning here next year for sure.

Helpful?
Thank John S
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront. We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in to this hotel on July 31st for 1 night. The location was awesome, right next to the riverfront. The rooms are a bit outdated but overall, amenities wise it was good. We had breakfast the next morning in their river ire restaurant and it was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Peterborough Waterfront! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and our location. We are scheduled to undergo a renovation in the coming months that will update the hotel from top to bottom. We can't wait for these changes and hope you will... More 

Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Elevators were broken, no air conditioning in stairwell and the paint was chipping outside on the balcony. For the price, I was very disappointed in the dated decor and over all lack of attention the buildings so desperately needed. Only stayed once, won't go back.

Helpful?
Thank Bella B
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and do apologize for the unfortunate situation with our elevator not working. It was a situation beyond our control as we had to wait for a part, but we did our best to ensure there was little disruption to our guests. We are schedule to undergo a complete renovation... More 

Travelers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Cavan Monaghan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

You can sit on the patio and enjoy a great meal and drinks, with the best music in town. They bring in blues bands from all over every Friday night, all summer long. The food is awesome and the service is too. Not sure who books the bands, but keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank Grant D
Tracie O, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! A lot of work goes into the Friday Night Blues on the Gazebo all summer long and it's great to hear it's paying off! So glad you're enjoying the performances! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
Peterborough Inn & Suites Hotel
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
8.9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Address: 150 George St N, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Price Range: $107 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay