We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort

Traveler (12)
Pool & Beach (4)
Room & Suite (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort. We are a Family Resort located in the heart of the Kawarthas on the southern tip of Chemong Lake. Our location is great! Only 10 minutes from Peterborough and less than 90 minutes from Toronto. We offer 50 full service seasonal trailer sites. Enjoy fun family activities such as, swimming in our pool, fishing, boating, canoeing, relaxation, and more. We are not a hotel and do not rent cottages.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
19Reviews
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Meet Arron & Elaine & Adam to discuss purchasing a new modular home at Lancaster Resort. Speaking with Adam and Arron first and then meeting Elaine, Arron's wife for the first time, my experience was amazing. They were all so friendly, helpful and welcoming and answered all of
Read more
If you want a quiet, peaceful park to visit Lancaster is it. The park model cottages are all newer and clean. The hosts are great people. Although Chemong lake is weedy you can still fish. We liked it so much that we have purchased a park model cottage of our own in order to
Read more
Response from LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort
Responded Jul 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Its great to hear that vacationers love our small family resort. We are happy that you have now purchased a unit in our park and can enjoy this little vacation getaway always. Welcome!
Read more
My family and I arrived at Lancaster and we're greeted very well by Anne!! :) Upon arrival, we we're pleased to hear that we we're getting an upgrade especially because we wanted something bigger to begin with! We also got an upgrade with an A/C cottage (mobile home). If you are
Read more
Response from LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort
Responded Jul 30, 2012
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. As you will notice from most of our responses we normally will not comment on cottagers’ opinions, as they are most definitely entitled to them. We usually just clarify incorrect facts. This review, however, has made us feel kind of upset and sad. There are some great positive comments but I think we need to comment on a few of the negative things. As resort owners, my family does our very best to make sure everyone is happy. This cottager paid $585.00 for our smallest one bedroom cottage, with no air conditioning, and we upgraded them to our largest one bedroom that rents for $875.00. When this cottager checked in they were informed that the a/c was not working and we were waiting on a part. (Which didn’t come in until after they left.) However, they did not book a cottage with a/c and we did not charge them for the use of a/c, when it was on, which we normally do. For the safety of our guests, our non lit pool does close at 8pm. Our office staff does mention that if it is still light out and very hot, that we were a bit lenient on the closing time. Just to clarify – we did not mention to these cottagers the complaints we received from the units surrounding the pool that these guests did sneak into the pool and were swimming unsafely at 11:30pm. We do apologize that the garbage may have been missed but if it was mentioned to us we would have been able to correct this or inform them were the bin is for their own disposal. We don’t feel that “very quiet and peaceful” should be classified as a negative. We always feel proud that we are a small quiet family park. We have stated this many times before in our management responses that when cottagers book we inform them of the non swimmable lake and as well it is on our website – weedy lake. The lake is weedy and we do our best to clean it out and then get complaints that the 45 minute de-weeding is too noisy. We are not sure how to be clearer than this and feel very upset when people complain about it afterward. It doesn’t seem fair to us.
Read more
My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew
Read more
Response from LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort
Responded Mar 27, 2012
Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a great time. Our resort is meant for people just like you - laid back and easy going. We offer a quiet atmosphere for people to just relax and enjoy. Thanks again for your help with the canoe and we will see you again this summer!
Read more
After booking out stay at Lancaster, we finally arrived at this small, quiet location on the south tip of Chemung Lake. We were treated by the friendly office staff and management, and shown our cottage. I can not relate to any of the negative comments on this site, because it
Read more
Response from LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort
Responded Mar 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We especialy like when they enjoy it so much that they want to be here every year. Our resort is just how you explained it - friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful sights and sounds of the Kawarthas. See you again this summer.
Read more
Previous
"My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew this going in so we bought our fishing gear accordingly. We also used the canoe all week provided by them to fish instead of renting a boat. Though the canoe needed alittle bit of help, the owners were more then happy to provide a few screws to fix the seat and we were off to the races. Fishing was great! We also brought out two black labs along with us on the trip, I cant say how nice it was to find a dog friendly park. We got to spent all week with our whole family! Lancaster cottages was a wonderful place everyone from the owners to the other renters were all very friendly! And we just booked our second summer with them this year and we cant wait to go! Thanks Lancaster cottages!"
"Any room is nice, but the water front ones are definitely a must"
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioPeterborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing