We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swiss Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swiss Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swiss Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Swiss Hotel will become my “home” when in Ottawa. Small cozy hotel located on a small quiet street, yet steps away from public transportation. European atmosphere, super gracious owner, Sabrina. The most comfortable bed I have experienced, single occupancy room small but with more than the needed amenities. Even an IPad in the room! Fantastic breakfast with a large variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeMtl
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I travel to Ottawa for business pretty regularly and this place has quickly become my hotel of choice. The location is fantastic, just steps from the market. The service is also excellent. The owner is very committed and involved in the business. She's always super friendly and helpful. The building is historic and has a really nice vibe. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia_Collins
Ohio City, Ohio
Reviewed October 8, 2013

More like a B&B than hotel in many respects - locally owned and operated, great location for the conference I attended, with nice pluses like great bedding and an iPad in every room. Rooms vary in size and pricing and breakfast is offered (as an extra) - rates are better than competitive. Lots of shopping and places to grab a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JA G
Mexico
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that is strategically located in the downtown/Byward Market area. You are close to the Market, the Rideau Center, University of Ottawa, tons of restaurants and even a few embassies! The rooms are comfortable, the beds are sumptous and the service is great. I have stayed here several times over the past few years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuizadelaLoca
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Swiss Hotel during a conference, and was happy that the conference organizers recommended it. The staff was very helpful - because there are no elevators, a strapping young man ran my suitcase and briefcase up the stairs - and they went out of their way to make sure I had the information I needed to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahelab
Edmonton Alberta
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time in Ottawa. The Swiss Hotel is in a great location in Ottawa. I enjoyed the layout and architecture of the building- including the creaking stairs. We were in the King suite which is a huge space; more than enough room for the two of us. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlamourRunner
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are a European style boutique hotel and we decided not to include our breakfast in our room rate for a few reasons: To begin with, many of our clients are either business people who leave early in the morning or are on holiday and would like to sleep in past our serving hours, so...

Shanty Bay, Canada
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location as it was close to the market but this B&B doesn't include breakfast!!! You have to pay extra!! What?! It wasn't mentioned on the site or emails and it was a surprise when I got there. They also charge you 4$ upon check out no matter how you pay. The breakfast was great but the $12...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KM H
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. A note about our Swiss Hotel bedding: our beds are made with a white 100% cotton fitted sheet and duvet cover in the European style. We do not use flat sheets. When we made up the room in question, we realized that the guest who came down and asked for the "missing" flat sheet...

Edmonton and France
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The first impression of the outside of the hotel was fairly good. However, when you go in, the second look is somewhat disappointing and confusing as there is no clear sign to the reception which is downstairs, no elevator to the rooms and the overall look of the hotel appears very grey and somewhat shabby. On the other hand, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertie012
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location of this hotel was awesome almost everything was within walking distance. We liked the modern feel if our room some might find it small we found it just right. I appreciated them allowing us to drop our bags off before our room was ready. I also liked the thought towards the environment. Products and bathroom fixtures all worked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarissa S
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon! A note about taxis: we book our taxis through Blueline Taxi, Ottawa's largest taxi service with over 540 taxis working full time. We have made Blueline aware of your comments, and hope you did as well in relation to the specific offending driver....

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for two nights & we loved the room loved the jacuzzi tub and LOVED the bed. Thanks to the helpful & friendly staff for giving us all the information we need to be able to purchase one for ourselves. Just wished the suites had a fridge and microwave. Other than that it was perfect. Close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissCStapleton
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Fireplace (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room with Fireplace (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (54)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Plus Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room with Fireplace (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
184 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn - Ottawa
#29 of 67 in Ottawa
261 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $115 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Swiss Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in 108 which was spacious, and quiet even with the window open on St. Patrick's Day. That's saying something .”
JodieG333, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“check on those with the fireplace”
danielamW5267GL, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“Rm (205) overlooked the quiet street, I could check on my car parked on the street. Parking is available on hotel property ($12).”
  • Breakfast table centre piece!
  • Very comfortable bed.
  • We loved the bright red tiles in the compact but well appointed bathroom.
  • Owner (Sabine) tells us about Ottawa & her renovated 22 room hotel.
rudysterr, Jan 20, 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is probably quietest.”
LDarian, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 is too light to have a restful night”
traveloften399, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question