We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Novotel Ottawa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel Ottawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 873: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for a shopping trip, the overall impression is that it's just an average hotel. The lobby was nice, had a lovely bar. We stayed on the third floor looking at the Rideau centre. As soon as we stepped off the elevator it had a terrible smell, once we were in the room it was fine. It turns out... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenna f
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Too much noise from people talking and running in the hallway. I may as well of had my room door open. I would hear the people using the toilet in the next room. I would have a do not disturb sign on the door but still get phone calls wanting to make my room. Location great but will chose a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Andy C, Please accept our sincerest apologies if you had difficulties with with noise from other guests during your stay. As much as we did our best to keep the noise levels low or expect common courtesy from all our guests when it comes to noise, it is sometimes difficult to control. We hope you will consider this as... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great hotel, close to the sites, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent with great service. Room was average, no bathtub just a shower. Small television and average furnishings. Rate was reasonable, but it was a conference deal. We were on the second floor facing the street and found the traffic noice disrupting.

Helpful?
Thank GB S
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear GB S, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Please note that we are undergoing a renovation project of the guest rooms. On your next visit please book the Next Generation room type as these have been renovated recently. Because of the construction in the area, more traffic has... More 

Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
277 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Novotel Ottawa is a great option where visiting Ottawa, so it is close to several places of interest, including Parliament, restaurants or malls. Everything in this hotel is according to the standards of any hotel Novotel, you can expect modern facilities, nice rooms (a little bit small for me maybe) but correct, good free wifi signal, public computers in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PezFish
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear PezFish, I am terribly sorry that your experience with us was not excellent. We only have a limited number of cribs and during your stay they were in fact in high demand. We always make every effort possible to grant any special requests from our guests, but unfortunately because of various constraints that can happen when we are at... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to get away for the weekend and decided to take a trip to the Nation's Capitol. We had a great time! The Novotel Ottawa is in the perfect location, walking distance from Parliament, Byward Market, shopping at Rideau centre. Check-in went very smoothly, the front desk staff was very efficient, helpful and pleasant. Room was recently renovated and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LARB759
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much lillianmelnyk for your kind words. We were truly happy to have you as one of our guests. Our central location makes it easy for people on a getaway to explore Ottawa without having to use the car. Our team members work very hard to provide each and every guest the best experience. We look forward to... More 

Genay, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel. Very central, walking distance to all the sites and very kid friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one wanting to visit this beautiful city. Breakfast is free for kids and what a breakfast!!!

Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kendal74
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much kendal74 for your review following your stay with Novotel Ottawa. It was a pleasure to receive you and your family as our guest. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our family breakfast offer. We hope to see you again soon! Danny Ponte More 

Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from an 8 night stay at this lovely Hotel in downtown Ottawa. I stayed in the Junior Suite on the 5th floor. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. Lots of closet space but I find the lack of "dressers" is difficult for a long stay. You can't hang everything up! The walk in closet in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne C
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much Jayne C for your wonderful review. We are glad that the Junior Suite you stayed in suited your needs and you enjoyed our central location. We look forward to your next stay with us. Danny Ponte More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is perfect! right in front of the Rideau shopping center, walking distance of the Parlament Hill and right next to the Byward Market but I am giving it 3 stars because the hotel didn't have my room available, the Ice machine was empty, there was not bottled water in the room as complementary neither for purchase. Overall the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz V
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Liz V, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the comments and will work on improving on the items we fell short on from your stay. Regards, Danny Ponte More 

Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed at the Novotel Ottawa several times and consistently found the hotel to be in good order, clean, quiet and pleasant. Breakfast buffet is always well stocked and looked after, with very friendly service. The addition of the Restaurant is adding to the convenience of the hotel and serves interesting, unique and good food. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Beat S
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments Beat S. We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Our cnetral location can't be beat for visiting this wonderful city. We look forward to your next stay. Regards, Danny Ponte More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

401 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (84)
Viewed
King Executive Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#12 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Byward Market Area
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Albion Rooms
The Albion Rooms
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Price Range: $124 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay