We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ottawa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel Ottawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 877: English reviews
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband & I came to this hotel 5 yrs ago & thought it was a fantastic hotel! One of the best & so we decided to come back. Bad mistake!!!!! First when we came to register I had to deal with a difficult front desk male & we had prepaid for 3 nights only to discover the clerk who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent two nights (August 25 and 26th) at the Novotel on Nicholas Street in Ottawa. Right off the bat, here is something to know if you are booking this Novotel and planning on going there by car. Nicholas Street sounds so easy to get to and it is. But there is lots of construction going in around Ottawa and... More 

Helpful?
Thank George C
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

They didn't honour my reservation made 2 months in advance they were overbooked! Couldn't believe it. They walked out 7 customers that night. Was so mad! I will never book there anymore as they told me it happens all the time!

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne D
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Jocelyne D., Please accept our sincerest apologies if a room was not available upon your arrival. We understand that we had put you in a difficult situation, especially after a long day of travel. We organized alternate accommodations for you in one of our partner hotels of the same category in the close vicinity of us. I would like... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, clean and perfect location. A step away from all the attractions. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet with quality products. Nice pool. The place to stay when you come to Ottawa.

Helpful?
Thank Pascal C
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much Pascal C for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. It was a pleasure to have you as our Guest. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best Regards, Danny Ponte More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a shopping trip, the overall impression is that it's just an average hotel. The lobby was nice, had a lovely bar. We stayed on the third floor looking at the Rideau centre. As soon as we stepped off the elevator it had a terrible smell, once we were in the room it was fine. It turns out... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenna f
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear jenna f, I am so sorry if dirty diapers were left in the trash bin at the elevator landing on your guestroom floor. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I have asked our Executive Housekeeper investigate this further, in order for us to avoid this type of situation in the future. Regards, Danny Ponte More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Too much noise from people talking and running in the hallway. I may as well of had my room door open. I would hear the people using the toilet in the next room. I would have a do not disturb sign on the door but still get phone calls wanting to make my room. Location great but will chose a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Andy C, Please accept our sincerest apologies if you had difficulties with with noise from other guests during your stay. As much as we did our best to keep the noise levels low or expect common courtesy from all our guests when it comes to noise, it is sometimes difficult to control. We hope you will consider this as... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, close to the sites, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent with great service. Room was average, no bathtub just a shower. Small television and average furnishings. Rate was reasonable, but it was a conference deal. We were on the second floor facing the street and found the traffic noice disrupting.

Helpful?
Thank GB S
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear GB S, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Please note that we are undergoing a renovation project of the guest rooms. On your next visit please book the Next Generation room type as these have been renovated recently. Because of the construction in the area, more traffic has... More 

Lloret de Mar, Spain
Level Contributor
276 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Novotel Ottawa is a great option where visiting Ottawa, so it is close to several places of interest, including Parliament, restaurants or malls. Everything in this hotel is according to the standards of any hotel Novotel, you can expect modern facilities, nice rooms (a little bit small for me maybe) but correct, good free wifi signal, public computers in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PezFish
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear PezFish, I am terribly sorry that your experience with us was not excellent. We only have a limited number of cribs and during your stay they were in fact in high demand. We always make every effort possible to grant any special requests from our guests, but unfortunately because of various constraints that can happen when we are at... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted to get away for the weekend and decided to take a trip to the Nation's Capitol. We had a great time! The Novotel Ottawa is in the perfect location, walking distance from Parliament, Byward Market, shopping at Rideau centre. Check-in went very smoothly, the front desk staff was very efficient, helpful and pleasant. Room was recently renovated and was... More 

Helpful?
Thank LARB759
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much lillianmelnyk for your kind words. We were truly happy to have you as one of our guests. Our central location makes it easy for people on a getaway to explore Ottawa without having to use the car. Our team members work very hard to provide each and every guest the best experience. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

401 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (84)
Viewed
King Executive Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#4 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#16 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Byward Market Area
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Albion Rooms
The Albion Rooms
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Price Range: $125 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay