We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Cleveland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Highly recommend staying at this Best Western. All other Inns too pricey; although they were a little closer to downtown. Easy walk to downtown. Great continental breakfast. Very clean room and bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms were clean & quiet. Staff was outstanding, Patricia at the front desk was very helpful & knowledgeable about the area. Did not get the lady's name who tends to the breakfast,but she kept things humming along smoothly there. Thanks for a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank garyef
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When it says 3 stars that's what it means. The people there were very helpful and friendly. We were biking and they had a shed we could store our bikes when we were not riding them. The room was just a room. The first night we noticed the lamp between the beds didn't work, the stopper for the tub didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarthaColumbusOh
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved our stay at this hotel. We were upgraded due to our "diamond member" status and we had a lovely room. Our room was quiet and clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were tentative at check in/out and went out of their way to make our stay special. Thank you for a lovely experience all around.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Terrie S
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terrie, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your upgrade for being a Diamond Rewards member, we appreciate your loyalty to Best Western. I'm thrilled to hear that my team made your stay in Niagara a special one and we look forward to your next visit! Derrick Medcalf, General Manager More 

Ottawa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon entry, we had a very warm welcome at the front desk! Our room wasn't quite ready and they were so apologetic, but that was fine....we were early after all, so no worries. We simply went across the street to Tim Horton and then to the building next to that to rent a bicycle for the afternoon. Note: There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShoppingBound
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel, although an older building, was perfectly accommodating for our trip to Niagara-on-the-lake in June. Much thanks to Penny and the rest of the knowledgable staff for helping us with our extra curricular activities aside from going to the theaters. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return next summer.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
hartsdale, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were up here for a wedding nearby and stayed two nights. I had never visited this area before and I loved it. The room was clean , the shower perfect, and the free breakfast yummy. The breakfast lady was wonderful and brought in fresh peaches from her garden. Definitly returning next year !!!

Helpful?
Thank sundancemagic
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel while attending a wedding in town. We are very fortunate to have our breakfast attendant Lida here who loves taking care of guests in the morning and her bringing fruit from her farm is a nice treat we are able to do. We look forward to seeing... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We don't often stay at best western hotels because the quality varies so much. This one was a big disappointment. Our room was not ready upon arrival so we chose to upgrade to a suite, which was ready. What a mistake. The room was small, very dark and stuffy-- which meant the noisy ac had to be on constantly-- greatly... More 

Helpful?
Thank RecentlyRetired2012
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay. Most guests enjoy our junior suites for the extra room, larger bed, and gas fireplace that they provide over our starting room type. I will look into the room's lighting and we have been steam cleaning any necessary carpets. I hope you will give us another... More 

Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent friendly staff. room was good with good amenities. The only concern was no elevator. We were fortunate in that we only had one small suitcase and were on the second floor . Too far to walk to the main street I Niagara o the Lake

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a great stay! Although we don't have an elevator, if stairs pose an inconvenience or challenge to anyone booking at our hotel we do reserve rooms on our first floor when requested. We hope to see you again for your next visit to Niagara.... More 

Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Best Western Colonel Butler Inn for a weekend bonding get-away. Since it was the Peach Festival and it was a last minute decision to visit NOTL, the town was completely booked, leaving the Best Western as our only option. We had never stayed there before, but we were hopeful that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
derrickbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pamela S, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that the carpet in your room was dirty. We have been steam cleaning any necessary carpets. I hope you will give us another chance so that you can see what a stay here is normally like. If you can please reach out to me at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Colonel Butler Inn offers an atmosphere of comfort and friendly service with affordable rates for visiting Niagara on the Lake. Accommodations are tastefully appointed, spacious and are well suited for couples, families, and groups. Rates always included our enhanced continental breakfast, parking, and wireless internet access. Plus, the hotel offers a convenient location for visting the town's numerous wineries, outstanding restaurants, wonderful shopping, and the renowned Shaw Festival theatre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn

Address: 278 Mary Street | PO Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $93 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Colonel Butler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colonel Butler Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Best Western Niagara-On-The-Lake
Niagara-On-The-Lake Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay