We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
209 Queen Street Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$219
Hotels.com$219
Tripadvisor$219
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Trip.com$226
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (226)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (173)

About

#13 of 16 hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French
510Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 327
  • 92
  • 44
  • 22
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
canuck wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a 2 night stay at The Charles Hotel. We were on the upper floor and enjoyed having our morning coffee out on the front upper porch. Great location you can walk to stores, restaurant and even visit an Irish pub and enjoy some live music. The room was comfortable and although there was a wedding on the back balcony we didn't hear a thing. We rented eSkoot scooters for a day which is a few blocks from the hotel. A must for this area not to busy, we spent 6 hours riding the waterfront trails up and down to all wineries, then the side streets just beautiful properties. Great experience we will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
There really is nothing better than enjoying a cup of coffee, relaxing on the upper verandah overlooking the gardens and the golf course before venturing out to explore Niagara-on-the-Lake. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brennan C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Loved everything! The location was great for walking and biking to wineries. The beautiful 200 year old building was a treat to call home for a weekend. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast on the veranda was perfect! Anne was great help and nice to chat with. We just wanted to stay longer! We will be back to the Charles.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Home away from home is what we strive for!! Thank you so much for joining us and for the appreciation of staying in a 200+ year old home. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean O wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
We had a very enjoyable two night stay with breakfast in July 2022. We got a great welcome and were made very comfortable. We got excellent advice on places to visit and the best restaurants. The breakfast was excellent and the service was first class. I can highly recommend this hotel if visiting this area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura and Luke travel wrote a review Jun 2022
Milton, Canada14 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights in May and were very warmly welcomed by a wonderful woman at the front desk. Our room was set up for us nicely with the ac on. The balcony outside our room (rm.6) was not set up yet and they allowed us to move the patio chairs for ourselves to use. We utilized that balcony very much and sat out for drinks and charcuterie (of our own making). The bird watching was so fun.. Blue Jays, cardinals, hummingbirds, orioles, to name a few. Fun view of the golfers stuck in the sand pit was a bonus. We will definitely make this our go to stay whenever in NOTL
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Free charging on site (one spot)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for joining us and highlighting the beautiful scenery outside! I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AKaze wrote a review Jun 2022
London Ontario4 contributions
We had room 12 which is one of a couple of 'Tiny' rooms because we booked last minute and that is all they had. In fact, they didn't even appear on their website. 1) The hall ways leading to our room (previous servants quarter part of the hotel) smelled musty but we could overlook that. 2) The room itself is indeed very small but we had minimal luggage so it was ok. The bathroom was roomy enough. 3) The bed was awful!! For a high priced hotel like the Charles, one would expect a top of the line mattress regardless of the type of room. It was bouncy and uncomfortable so we had a bad sleep both nights we were there. 4) There was no "Please make up this room' sign so we just left to go exploring assuming they would come and change the towels etc. But they didn't and if they have a different system of cleaning up the room they didn't tell us that when we checked in. We could have asked at the desk as we left for the day but it just didn't occur to us to have to do this. 5) There are California shutters on the window but the room was not very dark in the morning even with them closed if you are looking for that kind of thing for sleeping in. Plus there was a gap in the frame of the door that let in a stream of light as well 6) There was some wicker furniture on the porch with lovely views but it was very uncomfortable to sit on for more than a few minutes. Cushions would probably have helped but none were available. What could have been a nice hour of book reading on the porch was not to be. 7) We got the dinner/breakfast deal and the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was good as well. Hopefully the other rooms on their website were lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for joining us and I am so sorry to hear that you found your room to be on the small side. Room 12 (The Sunflower Room) is featured on our website and is titled as "Petit Queen" which I feel is an accurate representative of the room, and the rate is reflective of that as it is our introductory rate. One of the wonderful things about our collection of hotels is that we have such a diverse offering, so there is definitely something for everyone. Please feel free to contact myself directly if you would like to try another one of our properties and I will personally help to find you one that suits your taste. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marta B wrote a review Jun 2022
17 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in beautiful vintage hotels in Niagara on the Lake but this one is disappointed. We book few months in advance and got a little room with smelly bathroom. I try to change it but receptionist told me they have no rooms available even if the inn looks empty. No coffee maker in the room or bottled water so it’s very new to me. The food in the restaurant was ok but nothing fancy. Very disappointed and for sure never going back here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
I am so sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations! With being a 200+ year old home and only having 12 unique and individual guest rooms, every room is different. As we try to minimize our footprint, we offer glass water pitchers and filtered water systems through out the property to eliminate single use plastic water bottles and I am proud to say that most of guests appreciate our initiative. Because we are a more intimate property, we enjoy the more personal touch which is why we offer complimentary coffee & tea 24 hours through the front desk. Perhaps with a future visit, you could try one of our sister properties that may be a bit more modern and appeal to your taste. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigate97649 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We have been coming here for our honeymoon and Anniversary for the past 7 years. It’s been a couple years but glad to be back! The customer service and hotel makes you truly feel you are on vacation. We can’t wait to come back every year!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
A gold star, that is amazing, thank you!! And thank you for choosing to celebrate your Honeymoon and now Anniversaries with us! I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim B wrote a review May 2022
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania74 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I were just married here on May 14th. We stayed in what may be called the honeymoon suite. The building was constructed in the 19th century, so it's not going to be an ultra modern resort. The floors are crooked, the doors squeak, etc. But this is all part of what we loved about our stay. While I could go on about the building and the absolutely beautiful grounds, what really made our stay special was the people. Jodi, from Niagara's finest, was so friendly and willing to work with us. Our wedding was small, just the two of us along with the officiant, his wife, and the photographer. She worked with us to make everything perfect before we even left Pennsylvania. We were able to line up everyone and everything we needed with the help she provided. Upon arrival, we were stunned at how beautiful this town really is. (We had never been here before). Everyone who works at the Charles Hot went out of their way to help us in every way possible. Everything from pointing out where the best place to get currency exchanged, to bringing my new wife tea in the morning, and storing our cake in the restaurant kitchen refrigerator. And with this I have to thank them because we had them bring it in and out of that kitchen so many times that I thought they'd get tired of us. But again, everyone was so friendly. We had dinner here and it was excellent. Again, the staff was super friendly. Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short as I wasn't feeling well... but we will definitely be back to finish our honeymoon. And the Charles Hotel is where we want to be.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Thank you so much for choosing The Charles Hotel to be a part of such a special occasion!! And thank you for your appreciation to the historic charm of our property. I am incredibly grateful to work with such a wonderful team that truly love the property as much as I do and I will happily pass along your kind comments. I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cliff A wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We sprang for the "Suite" for a romantic getaway, two of which are described on their website. Well we went through the booking process for the "veranda room" which boasts of a screened veranda seating, soaker tub, and fireplace. My booking showed "king suite, tub, fireplace" and did not indicate which room. Well we ended up in the "Safari Suite". Heaven help you if you end up in the Safari "Suite". This is the attic, alternatively known as "Cinderella's Cage". Up a steep set of stairs and you are in your room. This is the attic - if you are over 5'10, you are unable to access about 50% of your room without hitting your head or bending to accommodate the unusually low (7' in the centre) and sloped ceilings. Unfortunately, that 50% includes the bathroom and the daybed. The "rainfall shower" is about casket size, and also features a 20 degree pitch on the ceiling, with the highest point about 6' high. I had to stand hunched over to just get my neck wet. The tub was large, but the drain plug did not fit - aka your bath will not hold water. The toilet was easily accessible if your name is Frodo. The bed did not have a fitted sheet, there were simply blankets tossed over the king mattress, which had a pleasant sag in the middle. The daybed received the same treatment and smelled faintly of vomit. You're in the attic - so it's actually quite hot: there is a single indoor wall mounted Air Conditioner to address this. This poor AC worked at full blast the entire time we were there and had already failed to keep up with the sun and convection-like nature of the rest of the building before we arrived. The second wall-mounted unit never seemed to light up or function. I presume it was for "peace of mind". On the topic of heat - there were no controls for our fireplace available which (if the trend holds) is only decorative in nature. You're in the attic - and there is no view from the ancient 1x2' windows. There were four windows, however. One was frosted and in the washroom. We didn't try open this one. The other three - one was tied and painted closed, two were able to open and relieve some of the blast furnace-like atmosphere. We had to prop these windows open as they are top-hinged. One provided a view of a roof-top air-conditioning unit and the other looked out at a cupola. If you strained around the obstacles, you could glimpse the golf-course. Of course I cracked my head a few times getting to the window as we figured out how to open and prop them. In case of fire, bring a hardhat and pray you're also resourceful. So heaven help you if you end up in the Safari "Suite". How this room is considered a suite worth several hundred/ night I will never know. I have no idea how it compares to the "Veranda Suite" but I do know there is no such thing as screened or private veranda seating on the entirety of hotel veranda, so I suspect that room also has a marketer with a very active imagination. Food was ok. Not sure I would classify it as a diamond-level restaurant. It seems more style than substance. It was difficult to enjoy with a headache. Charles Hotel is lucky (1) that Niagara on the Lake is gorgeous and (2) that my wife and I were trying oh so hard to enjoy ourselves and (3) that all the other places we looked were booked up.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. And if you must stay in the "Safari Suite", negotiate a max fee of ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Thank you for joining us and for your candid review. Our collection of properties are quite different from one another, which provides the option to satisfy everyone's personal taste for style & decor. With The Charles, it is a wonderfully restored historic home that dates back to the early 1900's and throughout the restoration, the integrity of the historic features has been maintained. Each of our 12 guest rooms are individually decorated, and no two rooms are alike, and we showcase each of them on our website. Unfortunately, we do not secure reservations for a specific room, however, we do our absolute best to accommodate everyone's requests and I am sorry if we were unable to accommodate your request for the verandah. I would love an opportunity to welcome back and perhaps one of other properties would be more to your taste. I invite you to contact myself directly so I can personally handle the details. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula C wrote a review May 2022
Ontario, Canada62 contributions32 helpful votes
The Charles Hotel is a new favorite!!! The grounds, the hotel & the rooms are all beautiful. Our room was clean, nicely appointed and spacious. Our room had access to the deck which was an added bonus. The staff were friendly & helpful. We enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the cozy den and were impressed by the food at Hob Nob. We look forward to returning to this elegant boutique hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Dickson, Guest Services / Front Office at The Charles Hotel
Responded May 22, 2022
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the property, our grounds and restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the charles hotel niagara-on-the-lake
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNiagara-on-the-Lake
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Charles Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Charles Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal George Theatre (0.2 miles), Greaves Jams (0.3 miles), and Edward Spera Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Charles Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Charles Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Charles Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Charles Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Gelato di Carlotta, Treadwell, and Budapest Bakeshop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Charles Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Does The Charles Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Charles Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Charles Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Niagara-on-the-Lake.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Charles Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Charles Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Old Fort Niagara (1.0 miles), Fort George National Historic Site of Canada (0.9 miles), and McFarland House (2.0 miles).