We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Charles Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 345: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had dinner here during our stay in the area. The food was well prepared, presented and cooked to our exact requirements. The service was very discrete. We sat on the veranda overlooking the golf course which added to the experience. Would certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank NeilstonTravellers32
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a shame this hotel actually allocate this room to anyone!!! We had booked a Queen Petite but we really hadn't expected such a disgracefully small and badly equipped accommodation. Other hotel reviews sound fine but we had Room 11 or otherwise called Apple Room. Beware don't book this room it was dreadful!! In fact it is probably the worst... More 

Helpful?
Thank 64holidaygirl
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As long-suffering Canadians with our long winters and short summers we love to eat outside whenever we are given the chance. Truth to tell we all know, deep in our psyche, that we will eating inside all too soon and for far too long as we hunker down for yet another winter. Thus, when asked whether we would prefer to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lakesider75
Pittsford, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

At the edge of Queen St. and right on the old golf course, this is a great location. Quiet but within a few minutes walk of downtown and the theaters. A bit pricey, and we stayed in the only available room which was the Safari Room. I wouldn't recommend that particular room. Not full height and my wife bumped her... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Brian M, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. With its gas fireplace, king-sized bed, day bed, and soaker tub with separate shower the Safari Loft has always been a popular room with guests; however being a loft I can appreciate it might not be for everyone. I'm glad that we were able... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Charles Hotel at the end of a 2 week tour through Ontario. It is just lovely, and the staff make it even more special. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are all totally professional. The rooms are luxurious and we also had a balcony with seating. A great place to sit and read overlooking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill H
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Gill H, I'm very happy to hear you were able to end your trip on such a high note! It's great that you were able to take advantage of the guest verandah which is part of the Richardson Room, you're spot-on that it is a great place to sit and relax with a good book and nice glass of... More 

Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three high school friends (graduating in 1969!!) got together to see 3 plays in Niagara-On-The-Lake. We chose The Charles Hotel for our overnight adventure. Our room was great and had a little balcony off of it. The hotel was within walking distance to everything and this was convenient because we left our vehicles in The Charles Hotel parking lot and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JudithGray123
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review JudithGray123! It makes us all very happy to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay, it sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful reunion together and I'm thrilled that you spent here. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef.... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we spent only one night at the Charles Inn last week. There was an issue with our air conditioning the night we arrived, we were told breakfast the next day would be on the house. Sure enough, no mention had to be made to the staff after breakfast as the night staff had obviously communicated this to the following day... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbaraayoub
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello barbaraayoub, thank you so much for the lovely review of your stay at the Charles Hotel! Our entire team takes great pride in this historic property and the professional yet warm service we strive to provide to each guest. I'm glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you had such a wonderful experience with us. I hope that... More 

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here with our friends for our first taste of Canada. What a lovely location and establishment. The staff were kind and the food was very well presented. We would call again if ever we were that way. Worth looking at especially as it's out of the general way of the masses

Helpful?
Thank Stlo01
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Stlo01 & thank you for the review! The location of the Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant is perfect as you noted. While it is on the main street it is just far enough down to avoid the noise and the crowds . I'm happy to know that we had the privilege of starting your trip to Canada off on... More 

Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our first stay here that we won't stay anywhere else. A wonderful traditional inn, which is hard to find, with excellent customer service. All the staff ;make you feel right at home. The food is excellent, both in the bar and the restaurant. We were treated to chocolate covered strawberries as the staff remembered that we had visited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann B, Thank you for the lovely review. It is our goal to make all our guests feel at home when they walk through the doors of the Charles; I'm glad that your second stay with us this year was no different. We hope you have a wonderful fall and look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Charles Inn for our 12th Wedding Anniversary. We were greeted promptly by Kim Lin and shown our room. Room 4. Absolutely beautiful. Romantic. Private veranda. We had a wonderful bottle of Ontario sparkling wine compliments of the hotel along with a hand written note. We felt very special. We freshened up and went downstairs for dinner.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mezzopiano62
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm thrilled that you had such a memorable anniversary with us! With its private verandah the Richardson room is definitely a guest favourite in the summer months. It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy your special dinner with us as well; I will be sure to pass along your kind comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

351 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Petite Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Premier Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $150 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay